We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aaah, Siesta Key...”
Review of Flip Flop Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Flip Flop Cottages
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Coronado, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Aaah, Siesta Key...”
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We have stayed at the Banana Bay Club on several occasions and we always love it. We always stay at the Sunset Cottage so we can enjoy the porch overlooking the water. The location is great. The manager is always very friendly and helpful. The place is perfect for our needs -- very quiet and serene. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
We try as hard as we can to make sure every guest wants to come back again and again, and apparently it's working! Try Banana Bay Club Beachside & Waterside Resorts on Siesta Key to experience that unique charm and peace of mind you can't get at the larger over-run resorts!

Thank you!

The Owners at Banana Bay Club Resorts- Siesta Key, FL (#1 Beach in the U.S.!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    23
    6
    8
    8
See reviews for
37
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Banana Bay Club is a great place to relax and enjoy the layed back ambiance. This place is homey and very comfortable. The king size bed allowed for a great night's sleep. The lazy mornings turned in to kayaking on the lagoon and taking a long walk to the south end of the of Siesta Key. Timing was great as we got to see the first Sand Castle Tournament on the town beach.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RayGarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
It doesn't get any better than here at Banana Bay Club Resorts on Siesta Key!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Excellent get-away on Siesta Key, everything was great for such a good price, staff was awesome, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank designgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
We can't thank our guests enough for giving us the chance to make their vacations great ones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

My Girlfriend and I stayed in the Sunset cottage this past weekend. We chose the room because of the pictures and description online. The two of us had such a great weekend. We were able to bring our small dog with us which makes this an even better vacation. The room looks even better than in the photos. Our first night the temperature was in the mid 60's so we started a fire in the pit and just relaxed and listened to the sounds of the waves. The next morning we grabbed a canoe and traveled up and down the lake. We used the grills provided and again sat by the fire pit to finish out night. on out last day we just walked around and enjoyed each others company on the deck. Even though we only stayed two nights it was a great break from a typical weekend. We are planning to make this stay a yearly (maybe more) event. We hope the review helps.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knoll72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
The "Sunset Suite Cottage" is our BEST and everyone LOVES IT! Come see for yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We stayed in the Bay Breeze House for Thanksgiving 2010. There were 4 adults and 2 teenagers. It slept all of us comfortably with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms to share. We put the kitchen to good use which looked pretty new, and was full size. We had our Thanksgiving Turkey on the deck overlooking the fishing dock and Heron Lagoon. We rented bikes from the village, and when we werent just relaxing in our "Bay Breeze House" we rode down to both Turtle Beach and Crescent Beach to watch themost amazing sunsets. Something to cherish forever. The pool onsite wasn't huge, but it was heated and my teens thoroughly enjoyed that! They did have a laundry facility as well, and some kayaks for on the lagoon too.
All in all, it was a great vacation, and a cute lil place. I will certainly tell all my friends about it -great value for money. No hassels, just relaxation and fun!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bjb24yg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
The "Bay Breeze House" is our largest cottage at 3BR's/2BA's sleeping up to 6 adults and 2 kids. GREAT VIEWS, large, FULLY STOCKED kitchen, HUGE DECK out back overlooking the lagoon and just steps from the pool. FREE USE of canoes and kayaks as well!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed for a week in the Beach House at the beach side location. We were looking for something affordable and close to the beach. The Beach House accommodated all of our needs, it slept six comfy. It had a new kitchen which was a bonus too. There is a awesome pool with a large private deck outside. The pictures of the website accurately depicted the rooms. Overall, it was a great vacation, mainly because of the location only two minutes away from the beach. We will definitely be staying at banana bay club again, and thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James_Madden29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
With 20 different units to choose from at 2 separate locations: BEACH or LAGGON, you can't beat our accomodations or rates! Try Banana Bay Club Resorts on Siesta Key!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Always clean rooms and friendly staff, my family and I frequent the Sarasota / siesta key area for the holidays. And this place was a great find, to find affordable accommodation on the key is a must for us.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCSiestaKey, Owner at Flip Flop Cottages, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
"Always clean rooms and friendly staff..."

This says it all!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
1.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,471 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
696 reviews
4.0 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
387 reviews
1.3 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
22 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flip Flop Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flip Flop Cottages

Property: Flip Flop Cottages
Address: 8254 Midnight Pass Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2731 (Formerly Banana Bay Club Cottages at Heron Lagoon)
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Flip Flop Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flip Flop Cottages(formerly Banana Club Waterside) offers a great location on Siesta Key. A lagoon setting with private fishing dock and free use of paddleboards, canoes , kayaks and a paddle boat! All units have full kitchens, non smoking. Studios, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages available. We are also pet-friendly and offer free Wi-Fi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Flip Flop Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Club Cottages At Heron Lagoon Hotel Siesta Key
Banana Bay Hotel
Banana Bay Resort
Flip Flop Cottages Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing