We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best-Kept Secrets in Lodging!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of BG Sun Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BG Sun Plaza
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Silver Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Caledonia, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the Best-Kept Secrets in Lodging!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We cover motorcycle races, and spend a LOT of time, travelling. One of our first trips of the year takes us to Georgia, followed by a week in Florida.
Two years ago, we had set up our tent at the racetrack, and a terrible storm blew in. It passed quickly, but our tent and gear were DRENCHED. All of the motels in the area were booked, for Bike Week. We did find a room in a "boarding house" type of inn, 40+ miles North, but it cost us over $200 for the first night.
That's when the promoter told us about Sun Plaza. We showed up VERY late in the evening, but they had left our key in an envelope (marked with our name) in a box by the office.
EVERYTHING about this motel... from the neon sign out front to the retro furnishings... reminded my fiancé and I of the vacation motels we remember from our childhood. The rates were UNBELIEVABLE... it cost less to stay here, for a week, than other motels in the area charge for a NIGHT! The internet service worked great, and allowed me to post my race reports and pictures without any of the lagging or disconnects that we have experienced in other motels. Was it as fancy as the Ritz-Carleton? No, of course not. However, what this motel lacks in luster and glitz, it made up for in quality: friendly staff, convenient location, and lovely landscaping. Although the outdoor pool was out of commission, my youngest loved the playground. While there isn't a big breakfast buffet in the mornings, the coffee in the lobby is a welcome wake up, and there are plenty of places to heat or buy breakfast in the morning.
This year, we returned to the Sun Plaza. The staff remembered us, and welcomed us, warmly. I asked about a few nearby tourist attractions I remembered from 20 years earlier, and they had all of the information I could hope for (prices, location, etc.). While this is not the fanciest-looking motel we have ever stayed in, the nostalgic feel and friendly service make it one of our favorites. We are already planning to return, NEXT year!

Room Tip: There are laundry facilities, on hand. We have noticed that rooms further from the laundry area tend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    18
    16
    2
    6
See reviews for
23
23
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

I would not send my worst enemy to this motel: no closet or hangers, stains on chairs, pillow reeked of nicotine, fridge racks rusted and/or missing, no Internet in rooms--only in lobby which also reeks of cigarettes, and the service was **terrible**--extremely unprofessional. Looks like it hasn't been painted since 1970, w/ science experiments living in swimming pool. Ironically, a decent Holiday Inn Express is right across the street. Makes one wonder: how does this motel stay in business?

Room Tip: Don't come here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Traveller34496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando,fl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I have stayed her in the past because it thad the best rate in the area.The staff was very friendly and helpful also . The rooms were clean and there are places to eat right near by also. It is also not to far from Ocala Speedway! So if you are passing through Silver Springs Florida stay here this Motel Is Great!!

Room Tip: Get a room with two beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

this hotel is older, very clean. Very friendly office staff

Room Tip: newer rooms at back side of motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vanta3775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2008

omg! this motel was horrible!
It had bugs, dirt, and mice!!!!
The floors were so covered in
dirt you couldnt even see the carpet. ( barely! )
The motel manager or reseponist was very snobby and not very nice at all.
The rooms smelled like poo and wet dog!
My family were forced to stay there because it was the year of the 4 hurricanes came through and all of the other motels and hotels were booked up. but luckily my mom kept calling a nice hotel and they had a cancelation and we grabbed that room as fast as we could. that was abot midnight. we were just sitting on the bed bcuz the pillow an sheets we disgustion! they had some kind of unidentifyieble stains on them.
Word of advice: DO NOT UNDER AN CIRCUMSTANCES DO NOT STAY HERE! WORST MOTEL ON EARTH!!!!

  • Liked — Absouletly nothing!!!!! terrible motel!
  • Disliked — everything!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed June 2004, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Hotelwatchdog36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Springs
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Ocala - Silver Springs
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Silver Springs/Ocala East
5.4 mi away
Shamrock Inn
Shamrock Inn
#18 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
8.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BG Sun Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BG Sun Plaza

Property: BG Sun Plaza
Address: 5461 E Silver Springs Blvd, Silver Springs, FL 34488-1736
Region: United States > Florida > Silver Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Silver Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BG Sun Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your BG Sun Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Plaza Hotel Silver Springs
BG Sun Plaza Silver Springs, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing