We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless Hosts and Wonderful Place!”
Review of Big Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Big Bear Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Melverley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

As with the previous reviewer, we arrived in the vicinity of Big Bear Lodge during flooding and could not reach it in our car. Mark offered to meet us either by boat or land rover to transport us to our accommodation. We were travelling with our 12 year old Daughter who found this very exciting!

On arriving at the Lodge we were blown away by not only it's location, the quality and cleanliness of the accommodation but the lovely little touches that Rachael and Mark provide. The fire was lit, milk was provided in the fridge for us to make tea, coffee etc and an honesty bar containing goodies was also available. The wet room was spotlessly clean and a decent size. Unlike many rooms we have stayed in with our ever growing Daughter, the additional bed provided in the Jasper room was very comfortable for her!

Mark took us back to our car when we wished, due to the flooding and true to his word he was there to pick us up immediately on our return, even saving us a space for the car.

Rachael and Mark greeted us warmly the following morning and produced a wonderful breakfast which we could not fault.

We cannot praise our hosts enough for the way they looked after us during our stay, especially considering the adverse weather conditions. They went far above what we would have expected and we are already booking again, this time trying a camping pod and sampling some of the activities that Mark provides with 'beyond extreme'.

Thanks again Rachael and Mark.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Big Bear Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was our forth time at Big Bear lodge and we have had a brilliant trip every time. The flooding was really bad with lots of roads that had turned into streams so Mark & Rachel kindly picked us up in their land rover. Lucky for us we found out we had the lodge to ourselves. We had a great night, chilling in front of a log fire with Buble on in the background. The lodge is beautiful, really peaceful and it was great to catch up with Mark & Rachel again, they are great hosts who care about the small things that make a difference. Thank you once again, we'll be back soon :)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My partner & I have now been to this place twice and we Love the camping pods there. We have only briefly seen the B&B side and the rooms do look excellent. This is a new place, or at least it looks new, so all the features and facilities are absolutely Top Notch!!

The pods are heated and both times we've stayed there (Feb13 with the really heavy snow and Feb14 with the excessive rain) we have been warm and cozy.

We ARE planning to return with my daughters as this is also, I think, a very family friendly place.

The area has lots to do and see; Pystil waterfall & the Follies being the two best. But there is also Oswestry & Shrewsbury which are great places to visit.

Mark & his wife are also great people to chat to too.

Room Tip: Big Bear pod is the best :-]
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were attending a wedding in the area so didnt actually get much time to spend at the lodge, however from what we saw we will be definatly returning in the summer as it is right near the river so ideal for fishing. When we arrived we didnt even need to knock on somebody came out to great us who was very friendly and informative. The pods are spacious, clean and considering it was January a heater was provided to keep us warm. The toilet and shower block is convienently close and better and cleaner than some 3/4* hotels I have stayed in. We are looking forward to returning and maybe spending some time with the trips they provide and enjoying a big bear breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bammyStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We arrived at Big Bear Lodge and were warmly greeted by the owners. We were shown to our room (Jasper) and everything about the B&B was explained to us. Excellent facilities, the room was immaculate, the bed was so comfortable & the breakfast was perfect and set us up for the day.
The hosts were approachable, friendly & made every effort to make us feel welcome and it was lovely to be able to have a real conversation with them, unlike many B&B's.
The views were picturesque. Everything about this B&B is everything you could wish for and more besides. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone! We will be visiting again, this time for longer.

Thank you for a lovely stay and happy new year!

Heather & Sam, Southport.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

A VERY SPECIAL PLACE TO STAY.
Location, Accommodation AND Atmosphere MAKE THIS WEEKEND BREAK ONE TO REMEMBER.
Mark and Rachel were the perfect hosts.
Nothing more could have been done to make us feel at home.
Thank you.
We will be back and will be recommending to Friends and Family

MARK & LOU

Room Tip: Any room in the lodge
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed at the lodge 16th and 17th July this year after watching Four in a Bed. We are married couple with a young baby.
This is the best short break I have ever had mainly due to the warm and genuine couple, Mark and Rachel, who cannot do enough for you! The place is very well designed and the location is second to none.
We were that bowled over we have booked the whole lodge for a long weekend next summer and taking friends and family to enjoy the experience.
Would recommend this to young, old, family, couples and singles wanting an idyllic setting and to be spoiled by the hosts!
It's a must stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melverley
10.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
8.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
689 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
17.7 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
787 reviews
7.7 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Lodge

Address: Hendre Villa, Melverley SY10 8PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Melverley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Melverley
Price Range: £73 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Bear Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Big Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing