We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Big Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Big Bear Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Melverley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We originally booked two nights here,but within half an hour we booked another night.The Bed and Breakfast was spotlessly clean.The breakfast was cooked to perfection on all occasions and nothing was to much trouble for them.The views were fantastic and lovely to see the lambs frollocking around in the fields,such a peaceful location.Already planing our return trip in the summer,i really cant wait to go back.Thank you Mark,Rachel and and it was lovely to meet your parents as well

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulatandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Got to say absoultley fabless host Rachel and mark can't do enough for the guest place very clean .. Breakfast 10out of 10 . Tea pot bit on the large side for one person but . If one person can drink it go for it . Place very quiet . Peacefull next time we go. I will be having ago at paragliding .
Place also plenty to do on outside activities for anybody . And fantastic views . Look forward to going again thanks again to mark and Rachel fo making us very welcome . Regards Tony + Claire
From southport

Room Tip: Very good for active people and the non active people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyborrony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I chose this beautifully appointed Bed and Breakfast based on other reviews and an excellent web site. I was not disappointed!
It is in a beautiful rural location with stunning views.
The rooms are very well appointed with a very comfortable bed, pillows and luxurious en-suite wet room. A lovely breakfast in the morning is individually cooked to order with a good choice of items available. None stop drinks were very welcome after a heavy night of partying at nearby Rowton Castle!
The owners are really friendly and went out of their way to help by looking after my dog in their own house all day whilst I was at a wedding. The best B&B I have ever stayed at.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank BrianandMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

A wonderfully warm welcome from the owners on our arrival. The room was lovely, warm and cosy with a wet room ensuite. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room with a kitchen in the public area which was available for us to use if the mood took us. A short drive to a local pub for food and then back to stargaze on the balcony area. The sky was incredible making us realise how few stars you can see in the city even when it is clear. A brilliant sleep was followed by a terrific breakfast freshly cooked to order and as much fresh coffee as we could drink. We will definitely be back. Thank-you Mark and Rachel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerrypw2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

As with the previous reviewer, we arrived in the vicinity of Big Bear Lodge during flooding and could not reach it in our car. Mark offered to meet us either by boat or land rover to transport us to our accommodation. We were travelling with our 12 year old Daughter who found this very exciting!

On arriving at the Lodge we were blown away by not only it's location, the quality and cleanliness of the accommodation but the lovely little touches that Rachael and Mark provide. The fire was lit, milk was provided in the fridge for us to make tea, coffee etc and an honesty bar containing goodies was also available. The wet room was spotlessly clean and a decent size. Unlike many rooms we have stayed in with our ever growing Daughter, the additional bed provided in the Jasper room was very comfortable for her!

Mark took us back to our car when we wished, due to the flooding and true to his word he was there to pick us up immediately on our return, even saving us a space for the car.

Rachael and Mark greeted us warmly the following morning and produced a wonderful breakfast which we could not fault.

We cannot praise our hosts enough for the way they looked after us during our stay, especially considering the adverse weather conditions. They went far above what we would have expected and we are already booking again, this time trying a camping pod and sampling some of the activities that Mark provides with 'beyond extreme'.

Thanks again Rachael and Mark.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was our forth time at Big Bear lodge and we have had a brilliant trip every time. The flooding was really bad with lots of roads that had turned into streams so Mark & Rachel kindly picked us up in their land rover. Lucky for us we found out we had the lodge to ourselves. We had a great night, chilling in front of a log fire with Buble on in the background. The lodge is beautiful, really peaceful and it was great to catch up with Mark & Rachel again, they are great hosts who care about the small things that make a difference. Thank you once again, we'll be back soon :)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My partner & I have now been to this place twice and we Love the camping pods there. We have only briefly seen the B&B side and the rooms do look excellent. This is a new place, or at least it looks new, so all the features and facilities are absolutely Top Notch!!

The pods are heated and both times we've stayed there (Feb13 with the really heavy snow and Feb14 with the excessive rain) we have been warm and cozy.

We ARE planning to return with my daughters as this is also, I think, a very family friendly place.

The area has lots to do and see; Pystil waterfall & the Follies being the two best. But there is also Oswestry & Shrewsbury which are great places to visit.

Mark & his wife are also great people to chat to too.

Room Tip: Big Bear pod is the best :-]
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melverley
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
186 reviews
7.7 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
435 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Lodge

Address: Hendre Villa, Melverley SY10 8PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Melverley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Melverley
Price Range: £76 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Bear Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Big Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing