We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Big Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Big Bear Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Melverley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My partner and I were looking for somewhere very special for our first camping trip away, and we can safely say that 'Big Bear Lodge' was EXACTLY what we wanted. From the minute to us turning up and being welcomed by Rachel, to the minute we were packing away with Mark coming over and checking all was ok with our stay, we loved every single minute. We only stayed for the one evening in our nice, shiny new tent however it was a brilliant experience in such a wonderful surrounding.

Big Bear Lodge is very clean and extremely well-maintained, and would certainly be somewhere we would recommend to our friends and family for visits in future.

We will be seeing you very soon hopefully! :)

Jonathan & Heather

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HeatherTurbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Fantastic stay at Big Bear Lodge during a Land's End to John O'Groats cycling trip. Hosting was fantastic, room was immaculate. We both had a wonderful nights sleep. Breakfast was cooked perfectly to order and just what we needed before a long days cycling. Look forward to returning again hopefully for a longer stay with a chance to participate in the activities offered by Mark! Thanks again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ewan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We wanted to go away to somewhere that was both beautiful and had a wide range of activities on the doorstep. This was the perfect place, in fact I don't think there was an activity that you couldn't do.

The facilities were first class and immaculately clean. Canoeing was a real highlight and both Mark & Rachel were so welcoming. Mark is a font all of local knowledge; worth chatting to when you arrive and we crammed as much in to our week away as possible.

A fantastic place that we will return to and bring friends with us. Wonderful holiday :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amybear72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was our second visit to Big Bear Lodge and was just as great as the first. We stayed in Whistler which has great views across the hills. Mark and Rach are the best hosts and really make your stay special. Breakfast is cooked to order and you can have exactly what you like. We went canoeing with Mark on the nearby river and really enjoyed it. We saw kingfishers but sadly the otter remained elusive. Owls did hoot in the trees at night. Its a slice of heaven in the Shropshire countryside. We will be returning at Christmas and we can't wait. Really fantastic!

Room Tip: Whistler and Banff have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mossy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I stayed in one of the four pods and had a wonderful weekend. The River Severn is a field or two away, Wales most beautiful (1500ft) waterfall is a 30 minute drive away and Shrewsbury is a 15 minute drive away.

From the pod you have a lovely view of the rolling Shropshire countryside and holls.

The value for money is phenomenol and the experience is one we wish to do again soon. Only next time more than two nights.

One small comment here for the owners. Would you please consider removing the goal post and footballs. Our POD and more importaly our car was hit on numberous occasions by footballs. With a little more peace and quiet this weekend would have been absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: No tips required as the site is perfect in every way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peanutandhooverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just got back from a night away at the Big Bear Lodge. Everything from the warm welcome, to the rooms and breakfast was faultless! Nothing was too much trouble. This is an outstanding lodge/b&b and I will be returning :)

Thanks again

Sam

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s6mbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have just enjoyed a relaxing two night break at The Big Bear Lodge in Melverley run by Rachel & Mark. We booked originally due to the airing on the Channel 4 show Four in a Bed but nothing prepares you for the beautiful setting that this place sits in. Views to die for from every window and there is a lovely sun veranda to sit on and just chill. Full use of the facilities in the kitchen really makes life easy as you can chill your drinks in the fridge and make your way out onto the verandah to relax.
We were treated to breakfast cooked by Mark one morning and Catherine on the second morning both equals in the kitchen (Mum & Son) & all the while you are entertained by Rachel who is one of the most genuine hosts we have ever come across.
The bedrooms have lovely comfortable beds, fabulous bedding and there is a wet room to die for. Would highly recommend this place to anybody.

Room Tip: We were in Whistler which is decorated in lovely light colours and is at the back of the Lodge with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieH476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melverley
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
186 reviews
7.7 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
435 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Lodge

Address: Hendre Villa, Melverley SY10 8PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Melverley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Melverley
Price Range: £75 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Bear Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Big Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing