We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is good but accommodation is lacking!”
Review of Hotel Aktaion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aktaion
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We got an apartment of 2 rooms at Aktaion, and though the location is very nice, however the accommodation is seriously lacking. We booked an apartment of 2 rooms for 2 people, and though we booked a week in advance, only 2 of the beds were prepared with sheets and towels. The one room had no furnishings other than a single bed. Not even basics like a chair, a place to put luggage, nor a bedside table, and was dark and gloomy. The rooms were clean. But the rest of the building was seriously lacking in cleanliness. We had to pass by open garbage bags on our way to the beach, and though the restaurant food was tasty, the utensils and kitchen were not so clean. We decided not to stay on!

Room Tip: I understand that Aktaion II, a newer building with maizonettes, belonging to the same people, may h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is a clean, professionally-run hotel, with efficient and friendly staff, large clean rooms, with lovely eating area and providing good value for money. It is located right on the seafront, where there is a managed beach (shades, beds, etc.) and good swimming on your doorstep (literally). It is also in Scala itself, so there is a range of eateries and shops within a few metres, and the hotel's own taverna isn't at all bad, and worth considering, but you'll need to find another island probably in another country altogether if you want 5***** Michelin cuisine. A good hotel and definitely at the top end of Agistri hotels for location/facilities/price/value. Well worth considering and won't disappoint.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My husband & I enjoyed a fabulous week of utter escape at the Aktaion in Scala Agistri. The service was excellent from beginning to end with a friendly & natural approach from everyone. Zina made us feel like old friends and was always keen to ensure we were happy and she always endeavoured to meet any requests we made. We were particulalry touched by her offer to drive us to the harbour on our day of departure which she duly did at 8.15 am which was much appreciated. Our room while simple was clean & comfortable with much welcomed air conditioning, they were cleaned daily with regular linen & towel change & had fabulous views of Scala beach...absolutley no complaints!!!
We enjoyed good food & wine all of which was locally sourced.
The beach had free sunbeds & umbrellas &,as were all others we visited on the island, was clean with crystal clear water so we enjoyed snorkelling and swimming daily.
All in all a perfect week one we can't wait to repeat...we will definately be staying at the Aktaion again :)

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the beach offer fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We had wonderful vacations in Hotel Aktaion in Agistri.The island is small,green and with crystal clean sea.The hotel is located on the best place infront of the beach,and he sun beds and umbrellas was free to use.We stayed in beautiful family room.The kids was very happy with the swimming pool and the beach.It's the best beach for the kids because there is no road and we could leave the kids on the beach when we was in the restaurant infront,enjoying the tasty greek food and the nice panoramic sea view.The service was very good,the room very clean.We'll come back there for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHRISTINA261622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Someone must be able to understand a true critic and a fake critic.
This is a true critic and its the first time i am writing a critic.
The room was dirty and filthy the bed mattress is very very noisy and probably 50 years old like the towels that were very very filthy.
To the shower there were no waste trap just a hole and there were also flies!!!!!!!!!!.
The closet was filthy i don't know what you can put inside tools??
Next to this filthy hotel there is another that that uses a pool bar and has the music volume to 100 until morning that means that in order to sleep you must close the shutters and you must also use earplugs.
The pool, air codition and the restaurant were also very very filthy.
The internet signal was very very bad.
We stayed one day.
We are heroes.
I have one advice to give stay away!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank 19SOFIAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The hotel is beautifully located at Skala, Agistri right where the ferry docks so just off the boat and into the hotel!! Beach right outside cross the path you are there! Sun loungers and umbrellas are free for the customers and as a bonus there is a small pool for the restless children. Service is great very hospitable and accomodating. The rooms do have a sink a little fridge and a small stove however utensils are sparce and you have to wash up without washing up liquid so for shorter stays eat out. The balcony of our room did have a view of the sea however it was to our right as we overlooked the pool, which means that similar apartments overlooking the pool have to look through the other balconies for a sea view. Not that much privacy then. Also the larger bedrooms that accomodate more than two have sofa beds that are not for the fainthearted. Overall a good experience and my booking was good value for money on an afternoon whim to travel the following morning!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Proskopina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at Aktaion II hotel between 16th and 20th of August, in the maissonete No 2. The Hotel is situated right in front of the beach and sunloungers are offered for free. The room was spacious, nice decorated and very clean. Everyone who worked there from the cleaning lady to Dionisis and Zina who run the place are kind, friendly and ready to serve you. The pool is ok, probably needs some improovement concerning cleanliness. Very tasty dishes are served at the restaurant and you can also have a drink, coffee or breakfast at the bar. Overall it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katerina51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.0 mi away
Oasis Scala Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dionysos Hotel
Dionysos Hotel
#12 of 12 in Angistri
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vasilaras Hotel
Vasilaras Hotel
#8 of 12 in Angistri
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel
Andreas Hotel
#4 of 4 in Skala
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agistri Club Hotel
Agistri Club Hotel
#3 of 12 in Angistri
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yianna Hotel
Yianna Hotel
#11 of 12 in Angistri
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aktaion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aktaion

Address: Scala Beach | Skala Beach, Skala 180 10, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Saronic Gulf Islands > Angistri > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skala
Price Range: £29 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aktaion 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aktaion, ideal for families with children, is perfectly located on the main sandy beach of the village of Skala on Agistri. It comprises a swimming pool with sun-lounger terrace, the Aktaion restaurant serving excellent Greek traditional food and a coffee bar. The hotel is centrally located, just a minute's walk from Skala's port. Hotel Aktaion was one of the first operating hotels on Agistri island in the early sixties. Each of Hotel Aktaions 19 units features air conditioning, television, a kitchenette to make a coffee, bathroom with shower. The furnished balconies overlook the pool, the sea and beach. The rooms at the front have panoramic sea views and views of Aegina island. Free Wi-Fi is available. Hotel Aktaion serves breakfast at the cobble-paved courtyard by the poolside. The meals are served from 12:00 - 23:00 at the hotel's restaurant and also during the day on the beach. The all-day bar serves coffee, beer, wine, cocktails and refreshing beverages. Happy hour daily from 20:00-22:00! This accommodation can also be booked with full board (lunch or dinner). Guests can decide if they would like their meal at lunch or dinner time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aktaion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing