We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Call before you book(if you can find the phone number)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Call before you book(if you can find the phone number)”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

One of my problems with this hotel is that you are forced to pay $2 for a safety deposit box in the room and they then tax that $2. After that we find out that the shuttle to the airport was only available from 8 am till 9pm. If this does not work for your flight then you pay $25-$27 for a taxi. There is no way to print boarding passes, even though there is a huge printer at the desk. To cap it all off, the management has an "oh well" attitude. Next time just choose a hotel that has airport at the end. That way you have a hotel shuttle to the airport regardless of flight time and the cost of the room is about the same. Never again will I book here.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
6 Thank Luther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    64
    96
    111
    239
See reviews for
152
132
61
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dandridge, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I understand "you get what you pay for" but no wonder this hotel has a no refund policy. If not they would have to let you stay for free, and charge you to leave, to stay in business. Shower ceiling was falling in, wall paper coming of the wall, tv was awful,and front desk staff are very unfriendly. Took 45 minutes to an hour to be picked up at the airport. When I called to make sure I was in the right place was told "they on their way you just wait". Don't use the safe. Put your things in and the battery dies, then it is stuck in there. They should take that 2.00 they charge and buy several new battery. Bad mistake. ....

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikehanson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Miami hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We needed an inexpensive place to stay for a night while in Miami south. They do offer a FREE shuttle to and from the hotel, which is good, however we waited at the airport after flying in for almost an hour. In addition on the way back to the air port it was again almost an hour late making us rush for a flight. You get what you pay for I suppose. We also asked the front desk to call us a cab to get to the Miami heat game. After waiting 45mins and still no cab we ended up walking up to a near by busy street and hailing one ourselves. The men at the front desk are rude and not helpful at all. However the room was comfortable so it depends what your looking for.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
key west
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

NQR = not quite right. We needed an inexpensive place for the night and were thrilled to find "Best" Mia Hotel online for $50! We were assured that this price included parking & breakfast and also that there was a restaurant in the hotel. When we arrived they charged us $8 for parking and extra for a safe in the room. We told the FD clerk that we didn't need a safe, he said you have to pay anyway. The room had thick mold around the A/C unit, the bedspread had holes, the bathtub didn't have a stopper ...Since I had looked forward to a bath, I asked the housekeeper (very little english) to find me a plug or something I could use. She was sweet and tried to contact management who said didn't have any. No apologies, no effort to solve any of the problems we reported. "We just work here and have no fault..."Breakfast is not worth to be mentioned and the restaurant was closed do to renovation. And now the good news. The location is great and the lobby and courtyard had still a little charm from way before corporate interests took away any positive guest service experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erijoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I never write reviews, but after reading all of the reviews, I figured I would. Everyone is saying that it is terrible, not worth it, blah blah blah. My husband and I read the reviews after purchasing our reservation, and the reviews scared me so much that I brought 2 sleeping bags for us to sleep on the bed in, and we treated it like we were camping. It made it worth the price, especially since we were coming in late and leaving in the morning. We didn't smell mildew like the other reviews were saying, and we were kind to the people that worked there, and they were nice back to us! After reading the reviews, I payed cash only at the hotel, which made us feel more secure as well. It did help me realize how blessed I am to live where I live. I was pleased for the most part. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 725Love2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is the first time a write a review for a hotel. I expected to be bad because the price is cheap. But it was extremely expensive for what it was.
1- The place is not easy to find. I had to call for directions because I could not find the place, although I was less than two blocks from it. I had to wait close to fifty rings before the guy answered. He told me very fast to take a right, then a right, then a right and then a left. When I asked him to be more specific, he told he was too busy and hang up the phone. Since I had pre paid the room I had no choice, but to keep looking.
The check in was extremely slow. Then I was told I had to pay $2.00 for the safety box regardless if I used it or not. That was not specify in the reservation.
When you go to park the car you have to call the front desk from the entrance to the parking lot so they can open the gate. Again I had to wait about three minutes before the guy from the front desk would answer the phone.
I had to unplug the refrigerator because it was extremely noise. The alarm clock did not work.

Room Tip: I will never stay in this hotel again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairguy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

But for this hotel you should. The guy at the front desk said he wouldn't stay here and said we should have read the reviews. We booked a room for four but only had enough towels for two, when we asked for more we were old that the hotel was out of towels and there wouldn't be anymore for 5 days. The shuttle was the best part of the hotel, the driver was nice and even stopped us at the liquor store on the way back from the mall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mstwinmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Miami
Aloft Miami Dadeland
#5 of 7 in Kendall
41 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regency Hotel Miami
#37 of 122 in Miami
1,725 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables

Property: Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables
Address: 5959 SW 71st St, South Miami, FL 33143-3599 (Formerly Best Miami Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > South Miami
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn South Miami - Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Miami Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing