We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kid Friendly beach”

Alfred McKethan / Pine Island Park
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Spring Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Inverness, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kid Friendly beach”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great little spot in Hernando County. Yesterday was our first time there, but it won't be our last. The water is clear, and shallow, so it is ideal for younger kids. Watch out for sharp rocks over near the observation post, they are clearly marked, so that should not be a problem.

Parking is $5 per car.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank teaster333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    87
    41
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good for small children only”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This park is just okay. Parking is $5. They have two machines to pay for parking, but bring your five dollars in cash since often the credit card feature is not working. The only food available on-site is a small food shack with your typical varieties of pizza, hot dogs, etc. There are, of course, bathrooms on site as well. This is a pretty small beach area that has pavilions on site along with grills nearby. They have a small jungle gym for kids to play on as well. There's a small deck area where you can walk out over the water slightly. For teenagers and older, this park/beach is pretty lackluster. For families with small children, it is ideal since the water height is only a few feet during low tide. Even during high tide, the water levels are still incredibly low. Keep in mind that there are no other businesses within an easy walking distance. This park has some residential stilt houses prior to getting to the park but otherwise, you have a good little drive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TRRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Richey, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome little beach close to home”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

While it doesn't compare to Clearwater, it is an awesome little beach close to home. The beach is clean and the water is calm and clear, perfect for floating aroundon tubes and such. The water is waist deep far out and tons of dolphins swimming close to shore. Great little concession stand with very reasonable prices and good food, as well as coke machines, picnic areas, a park, and clean restrooms. Even when park is at capacity it's not very crowded. Reasonable $5 parking, $2 after five o'clock. Would definitely recommend!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a "True Nature Coast Beach"”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I saw someone post this is a "True Nature Coast Beach". That must be coming from a recent transplant to the area,. I beg everyone on this site to NOT judge Florida beaches by Pine Island. Don't get me wrong if you just want a place to hang out and get some sun for the day and not have to travel to a real beach like St Pete,Clearwater or the magnificent world renowned beaches of Sarasota then this might work for you. Pine Island is appropriately named as a Park more than a beach. Its a place that's out of the way and kept clean however if your looking for white sand and blue water trust me just forget it.The water is murky and the sand past the seawall is muddy if you go at low tide the water recedes about a quarter mile out, you'll have to walk that far for just a foot of water. After trying to find the new entrance fee for the park which used to be free and should be to local residents I was unable to get a clear answer thinking the reviews would clue me in and just had to have my say. The reviews are misleading, at first glance on Pine Island's web site they paint a rosie picture that's mainly because Hernando county is desperate for your tourist dollars.I last heard it was 5$ per car which at first was a dollar years a go then two dollars now 5 last I heard and that to me is to much for such a small COUNTY park. When you look at the web site picture and read all the wonderful amenities you are basically looking at the whole part it is extremely small and if you don't get there early before say 9:30am the parking lot is packed and you either have to wait or forget your day at this park. Travel to real Florida Beaches this will disappoint you. Again if white sand and blue water is your thing then this is not your Park/beach.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small Nature Coast Beach”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Pine Island is small and fills up very fast on weekends, but keep trying. Our grandchildren thoroughly enjoyed several hours there last week when they spent their springbreak with us. Water is clear and shallow on one side and very safe for kids to explore. Beach is clean with picnic areas and grills, are also available on a first come first serve basis. Beautiful place for veiwing the sunset. We know several people that have gotten engaged and also married there at sunset. Young kids enjoy the shallow, calm water, or playground and older kids enjoy throwing the football in water up to their waist (great exercise). Adults can relax on the beach or walk around the small beach island and cool off on in the water too. Great Day!!!! Parking Fee only.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Findthem4All
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alfred McKethan / Pine Island Park also viewed

 

Been to Alfred McKethan / Pine Island Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing