We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, Problems with rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Stuart
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, Problems with rooms”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Checked into first room to find it had small ants everywhere. Called and was changed into different room. Came back from wedding to find AC was not working and stuck on 79. Called and waited an hour to get fixed. Was given $20 off $200 room. Not great enough to be called a resort. Will not stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch_Marriott75, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Tara M,

We apologize for the issues that you had during your stay with us. Clearly we did not live up to Marriott's high standards of hospitality during your visit and for this we are truly sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    257
    126
    64
    38
See reviews for
267
243
17
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

overall we enjoyed the stay at the Marriott beach and marina Hutchinson island. the room was pleasantly decorated and the bed very comfy. we had an issue with our microwave and got it replaced quickly. the staff are amazing and go out of their way to make sure your enjoying your vacation. a few things that would of enhanced our stay would of been a coffee urn in the lobby and coffee available at the beachside pool/bar area. I have to admit a resort fee and paying for beach chairs was something I have not encountered before. WE booked this hotel to spend time at the beach and to have a balcony looking over the beach but that was not the case. The beach was full of dangerous Portuguese man of war which there was no warning of and we saw children playing with them! We were a little surprised also that there was no shuttle to take you to town or at the very least over the bridge, without a rental car it was a little like being stranded on an island with not much options for dinner ect. paying for cabs would get pretty costly to go for dinner. Big plus was a non smoking environment!! All that being said we did enjoy the hotel very much, UNTIL CHECKOUT! I ordered a car to take us to the airport, checked with the gentleman at the desk and had it confirmed and he even called the room and confirmed with us. WELL, we sat and waited and eventually inquired about our ride to the airport, only to find out it was never written in the book and they scrambled for a half hour trying to get us a ride. I started crying, my husband was all worked up, and it was extremely stressful! Finally the manager had the concierge drive us to the airport with barely time to spare!!!! It was a HORRIBLE way to end our vacation and left us feeling exhausted and stressed all the way home, not what you want after a week of vacation.

Room Tip: make sure if you want beachview you ask for it ahead of time! also the elevator is slow so lower lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch_Marriott75, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Purplehouse,

It is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way and we are very sorry about the confusion involved with your transfer to the airport. Clearly there was a breakdown in communication along the way and we are indeed very sorry for causing so much stress after your relaxed time here. We are having a meeting to review our transfer policies and procedures to ensure that there are re-checks so this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were very happy with our stay here last week and in fact, I am returning next weekend again to stay with my family! The front desk staff were so nice and accommodating! We arrived early in the day and they gave us a room right away! That rarely happens for us but the customer service was great. We found the price to be very reasonable! The room was awesome! We LOVED that we could open the window and listen to the waves of the ocean all day long! That was definitely our favorite part! We were also very happy with the pool/hot tub area! I could have sat at the pool all day and read my book, as the hot tub waterfall drowned out all other noises, which I loved! We will definitely return here again!

Room Tip: The higher up the better view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krsmi611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch_Marriott75, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Krsmi611,

Everyone finds their own little thing to love about our resort and we are so happy that you found yours. It is a great hideaway and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbin City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Could not have asked for a more perfect spot. The location of the hotel is just over the bridge onto Hutchinson Island. It used to be The Indian River Plantation which I visited years ago. It has a wonderful charm to it, offering very nice rooms, great pools, nice cocktail lounge and beautiful beach access. There is a marina as well. Evening walks around the property are a must. It is an old fashion resort with a modern touch. Will certainly return.

Room Tip: I got a great room rate through Orbits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomtcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch_Marriott75, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Tomtcam,

We are so glad that you found our resort a perfect fit for your vacation style. It makes all of us very happy to learn that you had such a wonderful experience here with us. We hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I (in our late 50's) were in Florida looking for some sun and somewhere to kick back and relax - it has been a long and cold winter up here in Toronto. We generally book Marriott hotels as there are (for the most part) no surprises. This was no exception. The resort is a bit dated but is the best resort in the area - by far! The service is second to none. Both my wife and I were extremely impressed with the service. Everyone at the resort, from the person at the front desk to the pool servers and maids, were so pleasant and helpful - you could not ask for more. An example - my wife forgot a beach bag so she asked the front desk where she could buy one. The girl asked her to wait a minute as she thought she saw one in the back and returned with a bag compliments of the Marriott - fantastic! They always went out of their way.
Our room was in the main hotel overlooking the pool. No complaints - it was clean and a good size - the wifi worked fine. The fitness center is clean and has good equipment. The pool is well maintained and clean. Yes, it is a long walk to the beach but the shuttle is available at a moments notice if you want it. The beach is what you expect of Florida - long and soft sand. It is hard to walk on the beach as the sand is so soft. Also, all along this part of Florida there are a lot of waves which makes it tough for swimming in the ocean - very few people were actually in the water.
Suggestions - it is a 10 minute drive to the town of Stuart but well worth it - lots of trendy shops and cafes. My wife enjoys shopping and Stuart has lots of shops. We ate at a seafood restaurant on the waterfront (there is only one on the waterfront at the north end by the welcome center) and the food was great as was the view.
It is well worth taking a drive to the end of the road past the Marriott (10 minutes) and taking a walk along this part of the beach. There are a number of coral rock shelves that have been cut away by the surf over the years and the sand is hard so walking along the beach here is easy. There are a number of mansions along the way which makes it a really nice beach walk - any time of day.
The golf course is nothing spectacular and not worth the money. If you are there for "love golf" then its fine but if you want to play a challenging course ask the front desk for some recommendations as there are lots in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family-Guy-Toronto-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch_Marriott75, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Family-Guy-Toronto-8,

Thanks so much for your great review of our property. We are thrilled that you and your wife had such a great time and were able to make the great escape from winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We just returned from our second vacation at this hotel and we are ready to book again! The staff is incredible. In fact, we were greeted at at check in (by a wonderful and accomodating woman who has worked at the hotel for 9 years) and at the restaurant (our server was a wonderfully nice woman from Lithuania) by staff members who remembered us from last year! There was not a single member of the staff who did not greet us with a smile and attempt to accomodate any request. This is really a perfect place for families with young children. The pool, beach and location make this an easy destination. The poolside music and activitiies are just enough to add entertainment to the day. The junior suites are great, primariliy because they open to the pool and you can just walk out your sliding door and arrive at the pool in seconds. This is an ideal choice for a low key, almost old fashioned type of family vacation. I understand why some would say the property is "tired" and the furniture is "dated" (even though the carpet has been replaced and some of the furniture switched out since last year). You come here because you want a relaxed and easy pool/beach vacation in a family oriented environment with staff which is second to none. The rooms are clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJSOLOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch_Marriott75, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear SJSOLOM,

Thank you so much for recognizing our associates for the hard work they do in making guests feel welcome. We are so happy that your family came back and had an awesome time. We hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Granted the place was booked solid, and I should be grateful the room was at least quiet for the most part but we were still booked into the worst room in the whole resort. I didn't mind paying the extra freight for an Oceanside room and got a pretty good one which is why I'm back. But I'm convinced I'm in the back of the building suite because I took advantage of a Marriott promotion and so got stuck by the worst of the litter. What was disturbing was having some one try to enter my room in the middle of the night with a working room key they just got from the front desk. And then having some one from the "front desk" call and quiz me on how I got in the room. A room I'd been in for two days. No explanation just a battery of questions. Oh, did I forget to mention the power failure. Whole island, early morning, no big deal. Nice place in a unique location just a tad on the public housing side a few respects, like the police cruiser that tailed a guest around for hours. Amazing what you see when you don't have N "ocean view."

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch_Marriott75, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Jim M,
We apologize for the mixup with your room accommodations and that someone else was keyed for your guestroom. We have already addressed this situation to ensure that it does not happen again as we do realize that this can be quite unsettling for any guest to have someone walk into their room with a working key. Please trust us when we say that the appropriate measures have been taken to ensure this does not happen again. The security presence at the hotel is standard policy during busy periods to ensure that everyone has a comfortable stay when our hotel is booked to capacity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuart
4.0 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
4.4 mi away
Vistana Beach Club
Vistana Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Hutchinson Island
451 reviews
4.5 mi away
Old Colorado Inn
Old Colorado Inn
#1 of 11 in Stuart
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stuart-North
8.4 mi away
Courtyard Stuart
Courtyard Stuart
#4 of 11 in Stuart
260 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Downtown Stuart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina

Property: Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina
Address: 555 NE Ocean Blvd, Stuart, FL 34996-1620
Region: United States > Florida > Stuart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stuart
#6 Business Hotel in Stuart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beach Resort And Marina Hutchinson Island Hotel Stuart
Marriott Stuart
Stuart Marriott
Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina Stuart, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing