We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Super Nice Place To Stay”
Review of Old Colorado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Colorado Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Stuart
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A Super Nice Place To Stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This was my first time staying in Stuart. I visited once before, and of course the historic downtown area is the place to see and enjoy. The Old Colorado Inn is located on the northeast section of town which turned out to be a really great area to be at. I stayed in the cottage which is separate from the main buildings. My accommodations were excellent for sure. Two TV's, Wi-Fi, nice kitchen with all the amenities, large shower, washer/dryer, and a private sitting area out back surrounded by thick foliage and tall palms that seemed to attract a fantastic breeze all the time. The owner Stephen was super nicer and helpful, and went out of his way to make sure everything was perfect. He also delivered bagels, fresh fruit, orange juice, and newspaper right to our front door every morning. Nice. Also keep in mind you are right on the edge of the downtown area, so an easy walk to all the restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing. I was reminded of Key West here, so parking can be a challenge, especially in the afternoons. I travel with bikes so my car was usually always in front of the cottage. No doubt this was an excellent place to stay and relax. I hope to be back again soon.

Room Tip: Everything here is close together so some noise may be heard occasionally from people and traffic fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    29
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
69
162
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We were driving back to Central Florida from Miami and taking the long, leisurely trip up AIA, when we decided to stop in Stuart, Florida for the night. We checked Tripadvisor and saw the great reviews for this hotel and decided to give it a try.

It is simply perfect. The location is right downtown Stuart, which was another welcome surprise, lots of restaurants and quaint shops, half a block from the water. We stayed in the Palmer Suite, a tribute to Arnold Palmer, and it is simply beauiful. Great bed, clean as can be, beautiful wood ceiling and floors, comfortable furniture, chairs on the front porch, perfect.

The owner is very welcoming, making his famous limeaid drink for us and in the morning bagels and fresh orange juice, and a local newspaper was left on our doorstep. Nice touch!

We liked it so much that we are planning a return trip when we can stay longer. Both the hotel and Stuart have captured our hearts.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanfordtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My Husband & I with our beagle Cassidy wanted a weekend away at a place that Cassidy could enjoy herself also. We stayed in the Cottage and could not have been happier we didn't want to leave. We did enjoy the town during the day which was very pet friendly. The cottage was just beautiful. We met up with Steve and he was very welcoming, the homemade limeade he made was the best. We enjoyed the evening at the Key Lime Cafe and met a lot a nice people and they just loved our Cassidy. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoLynn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Wish we could have stayed longer....great escape from our busy lives! Location in downtown Stuart was perfect.We enjoyed walking around the downtown area.Great shops and restaurants. Loved being greeted at the Inn with fresh squeezed lemonade from the Key Lime Cafe.Bed was super comfy and suite was decorated beautifully!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridamamaof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

I travelled to Stuart for business this week and stayed at the Inn for 2 nights. I actually think I had the best sleep of my life in the comfy bed. The Inn has charming character with very nicely decorated rooms. The owners were very nice and made sure my stay was enjoyable. Very nice restaurants and shops within seconds and I enjoyed am evening walk on the boardwalk. The attached Key Lime Cafe was excellent spot for a snack and beer - made you feel like you were in the Keys or Caribbean.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmyytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This hotel is awesome in every way. The location is perfect, with many nice restaurants and shops within walking distance. The rooms are tastefully docorated and are very clean and comfortable. The owner Stephen goes out of his way to accomodate. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaE238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My husband, daughter and I had a great 3 night stay recently. From the moment we arrived until we left everything was practically perfect. In this quaint inn you have the charm of an old hotel combined with the comfort and cleanliness of new hotel. Our room was completely updated in a tasteful "Pottery Barn " style and was very clean. The only negative thing I can say (and it really wasn't that big of a deal) is that there is only one iron and ironing board available and it is in the hall, so retrieving it can be a little awkward. They more than made up for it though, by offering up their washer and dryer to guests free of charge. This inn is the perfect place to stay....great shops and restaurants (loved The Gafford and The Black Marlin) just steps away too. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookDunedin_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuart
0.8 mi away
Best Western Downtown Stuart
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stuart-North
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Stuart
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Stuart
Quality Inn Stuart
#8 of 11 in Stuart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
6.1 mi away
Courtyard Stuart
Courtyard Stuart
#4 of 11 in Stuart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Colorado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Colorado Inn

Property: Old Colorado Inn
Address: 211 Colorado Ave, Stuart, FL 34994-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Stuart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stuart
#1 Business Hotel in Stuart
#1 Family Hotel in Stuart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Colorado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated boutique hotel is located in the heart of Historic Downtown Stuart, FL, one block from the beautiful St. Lucie River. We offer deluxe studios, luxury suites and a charming coastal cottage that all have fully equipped kitchenettes/kitchens, refinished antique hardwood floors, marble tiled bathrooms, free wi-fi, new flat screen televisions, and luxurious mattresses and linens. We provide free parking and complimentary breakfast, newspaper, and stocked Kuerig coffee and tea stations. A wide variety of restaurants, shopping, and entertainment are at your doorstep in Downtown Stuart and the beautiful beaches and golf courses of the Treasure Coast are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Old Colorado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Colorado Inn Stuart, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing