We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norman Rockwell Would Have Loved This Little Slice of a Hometown Inn”
Review of Old Colorado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Colorado Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Stuart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

When you have traveled for over 40 years for business and pleasure you've probably stayed at some of he best and worst hotels along the way. Last weekend I was in Stuart FL for both, business and pleasure. A good friend who spends as many nights a year as I do away from home told me about The Old Colorado Inn. I was in town to be in a play at the historic Lyric Theater. The theater is just one of the jewels that this tree lined walkable downtown can brag about. There's wonderful restaurants and cafés, boutiques, art shoppes and galleries and a waterfront boardwalk. The Old Colorado Inn is a unique varity of old Florida themed rooms that are spotless, well appointed comfortable suites and cottages that is on the edge of downtown. The beds, pillows and linens were some of the most comfortable I've experienced in any boutique hotel. The innkeeper, Steven, a recovering attorney, I believe, was someone who knows the value of paying attention to details. Even after we cheeked out and returned home he made a courtesy call to us to ask how my wife was, (she has a bout of vertigo), the day we were checking out. Thank you Steve and the staff at The Old Colorado Inn for one of the best stays we've had in a long time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I took a long weekend for his birthday and decided to go to Stuart since we had never been. The Old Colorado Inn is in the heart of downtown Stuart. The owner was there when we arrived and told us a little about the history of the hotel. He also had some lemonade waiting for us when we arrived. We received a bottle of Merlot to celebrate my hubby's birthday as well. We stayed in Room 7 which was very clean and comfortable. There were also a plate of brownies waiting for us in our room, they were delicious I realy need the recipe! They also brought bagels and juice to your room for breakfast every morning! I cannot say enough good things about the inn. Our stay was wonderful and we will definetely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solgoodness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

So glad we found Old Colorado Inn. We needed a hotel for one night and thankfully the original option had no vacancies. After reading the positive reviews we knew we couldn't go wrong. My only regret is not being able to stay more than one night! It was our first visit to the Stuart area and this is the perfect location. Charming area with lots of dining and shopping options. Our room exceeded our expectations and was very comfortable. The morning bagels and OJ hit the spot as we unfortunately had an early departure. I am already looking forward to our next visit to Stuart and stay at Old Colorado Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed here for one night and it was perfect for my dog and me on our way to Key West.
Steven was a welcoming host and the Cottage was a perfect peaceful getaway from a chain hotel. Go local, spend local.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A true gem of a place to stay with old world Florida charm from the friendly reception and brownies to the comfortable rooms and quaint area of Stuart Florida. Don't miss this one if your staying in the area! Words to describe would be Clean, comfortable and charming....

Room Tip: rooms away from street are a bit quieter, however no bad rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

If you are visiting the Stuart area and don't care if you are right at the beach, this hotel is a great choice. It is located right next to the main shopping street, with plenty of cafes and restaurants within a 5 minute walk. I liked being in the center of things and not having to get in the car to drive to a restaurant. The hotel has a lot of charm, and has been beautifully restored. I especially liked the second floor deck area, which was above a small bar/restaurant where music played during the day and until about 10pm at night. It was a nice place to enjoy your morning coffee, read a book, or have a cocktail in the evening. There is some street noise, to be expected due to its central location. There is free wifi in the rooms, I wished that it extended out to the deck on the second floor.

The owner/manager is not onsite but gave us his cellphone and was very responsive if we needed anything. I loved the fresh bagels and OJ that were delivered to the door each morning. That said, there were several small cafes in walking distance where you could get a full breakfast if you get bored of bagels, or fresh gourmet coffee if the Keurig doesn't cut it for you! We were in room 9, which had a mini kitchen, that would be fine for frying up a few eggs or cooking up some oatmeal, but if you plan on doing more involved cooking I would try to get one of the units with a full kitchen.

Places we tried and would recommend in the local area: The Blue Door cafe/wine bar which has a cute outdoor patio area, the Gafford an upscale casual bar/restaurant with excellent food and service. Not so much for the food, but for the ambiance, I liked the Sailor's Return which is located in a picturesque spot at the marina and has live music nightly.

For activities, you can walk to the Stuart history museum, housed in an old feed store, which gives a good overview of how the town was developed and contains a varied assortment of objects from the old store as well as items donated by local residents. A short drive away, I'd recommend visiting Hutchinson Island, and especially the Gilberts Bar House of Refuge, a historic site which was used for the rescue and care of shipwreck victims, and nearby the Bathtub Beach offers calm waters for swimming protected by an offshore reef.

Overall we we were extremely happy with our stay at the Old Colorado Inn and it met our needs as a couple. I would probably not recommend it so much for a family with children, due to the lack of a pool or other amenities for small children.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocknroll52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Spent three days in THE COTTAGE and loved every miniature of it. Really enjoyed the private patio and breakfast on the door knob.happy Hour at the Tiki Bar was fun. Staff was kind courteous and helpful. All in all, a great weekend. Making plans to return.

Room Tip: Choose The Cottage, you will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuart
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stuart-North
0.8 mi away
Best Western Downtown Stuart
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Vistana Beach Club
Vistana Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Hutchinson Island
489 reviews
6.1 mi away
Courtyard Stuart
Courtyard Stuart
#4 of 11 in Stuart
273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Stuart
Quality Inn Stuart
#8 of 11 in Stuart
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Colorado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Colorado Inn

Address: 211 Colorado Ave, Stuart, FL 34994-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Stuart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stuart
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stuart
#1 Business Hotel in Stuart
Price Range: £115 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Colorado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated boutique hotel is located in the heart of Historic Downtown Stuart, FL, one block from the beautiful St. Lucie River. We offer deluxe studios, luxury suites and a charming coastal cottage that all have fully equipped kitchenettes/kitchens, refinished antique hardwood floors, marble tiled bathrooms, free wi-fi, new flat screen televisions, and luxurious mattresses and linens. We provide free parking and complimentary breakfast, newspaper, and stocked Kuerig coffee and tea stations. A wide variety of restaurants, shopping, and entertainment are at your doorstep in Downtown Stuart and the beautiful beaches and golf courses of the Treasure Coast are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Old Colorado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Colorado Inn Stuart, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing