We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware!!”
Review of Royal Palms Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Palms Motel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Stuart
Reviewed 7 March 2010

This place was very very disgusting!!!!! It looked like a shack or some hole in the wall type of place..and they charged $70.00 a night ...Also the pillows were paper thin!!!! I highly would never recommend this motel to anyone!!! We were so ready to leave!!! The worst hotel we've ever been to by far!!!!! We would call this place Royal Rip Off!!!!!! Yuck!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank unknown026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalpalmsmotel, Manager at Royal Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2010

I would appreciate if this customer can provide their name and the date of their stay so we can check on our side. So far as we know, we do not have any rooms that looks like a "hole in a wall" kind of appearence.

Please make a note that this a economy motel that provides clean, friendly service at reasonable rates. Due to this reason, we have numerous repeating customers locally as well as from out of states and Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2008

I made a reservation to stay at this Motel a month before arriving. I had very specific needs (I have 3 small children). We really needed a room that has 2 sleeping areas seperated by at least 1 door.

I contacted the Owner/Manager directly by phone and was told he had a "Suite" and that it had 2 seperate bedrooms with doors on either side of a living room area.

I made the reservation i early April 2008 for May 7, 2008. I gave the Owner my Debit card number to reserve the room.

We arrived at 4 pm on May 7th and were quite suprised at the location and condition of the property. It looked very run down and nothing like the pictures I had seen on the internet. It was also quite close to a noisy street.

Suspicious I asked to see the room before paying or filling out any registration paper work or giving any payment. The Owner gave me a key and we went to the room to see it before paying.

It was a single room with 2 queen sized beds. The only door in the room was to the bathroom. Not even a couch. We are a family of 5 and to stay in this room would require 3 kids (2 teens and a elementary age child) to sleep in 1 bed ....or someone on the floor.

The room smelled of smoke. The carpet was filthy and it generally looked like the last renovation was in the early 70's.

I then returned to the desk and advised the Owner that the room was not the room we had been promised and was also very dirty and unacceptable.

The owner stated he would not change us to another room. Period. I told him we would have to leave then and just search the area for another hotel.

Here is the part you really need to know. The owner then told me that he would charge me 280.00 (two hundred and eighty US dollars) if we stayed OR if we left. Keep in mind we had not even checked in........but he had my debit card number from the phone reservation.

I would like to stress that I was in no way nasty or rude to the gentleman....even after he told me he would be charging me. I felt confident my bank would remove the fraudulent charge and was not worried. We left after being there for less than 15 min and quickly found a close big name hotel chain.

True to his word the manager/owner charged my card the full amount plus tax that very evening. True to my word I called my bank and the fraud department removed and refunded my money.

One month later I saw a suspicious 300.00 charge on my account. It was the Royal Palms Motel again attempting to make me pay for the night I never stayed there.

Unfortunately for me this time my banks fraud department said the owner had "challenged" my dispute of the charge. Chase bank further told me that in such a situation the buisness wins and the charge would be final. I had no further recourse with my bank.

I have to date made complaints with the following:
-Local Chamber of Commerse
-Better Business Bureau
-Florida Attorney Dept of Consumer Affairs
-Stuart Police Department (with a report written)

All complaints are open and active at this time. The Better Business Bureau advised me very directly that the owner was "very difficult....and would not be cooperating"

Regardless I am still out the 300.00. I have stayed in Hotels and Motels all over the world and have never had this happen. Even the worst Motel I ever stayed in happily refunded my money (and that after actually sleeping there.

I live in the area now. Please feel free to contact me for pictures of the Motel or copies of the above complaints/reports (with my personal info redacted of course)

Happy Travels
Benjamin Bender

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank camperben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalpalmsmotel, Manager at Royal Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

This customer had tried to provide untruthful information through their credit card company as well. Their misrepresentation conflicts at two different levels on their side.

Due to their untruthful information and after knowing the facts, their credit card company also refused to issue any refund to this customer. We have written documents to prove their misrepresentation. Most important thing is, we are in the business to provide clean, friendly service. We are not here to put fradulent charges on customer's credit cards. Due to our friendly service only, we have so many repeated customers from all over U.S. and Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2007

We arrived at the Royal Palms back on Dec. 9, 2006 around 8:30 PM, just as there was a space shuttle launch a little over 150 miles to the North. The clerk was SO friendly and he had it on TV and we didn't even know about it so he quickly took us into the parking lot and pointed out where we could see the shuttle, which we did. This was just a hint of the week to come. The staff there was like a bunch of old friends. They couldn't do enough for you. The motel itself is a throwback to the old motorcourts that used to dot the American landscape. Very rustic with mostly free standing bungalows. Room was not the Hilton or the like, but we enjoyed it very much. The rooms were clean and a great value. I would definately stay there again. In fact, I'm going back down there in a couple of weeks and we plan on staying there again. If I had to point out any negatives, it would be the bath towels were really oversized hand towels, very thin and small. If you're idea of roughing it is not having room service 24/7 then this is not for you. However, if you are looking for a nice, clean and FRIENDLY place to stay with a great value for your dollar, then I would highly recommend The Royal Palms Motel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomad4dixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalpalmsmotel, Manager at Royal Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2010

We appreciate your compliments.

Please note that due to the size of Towel racks in the rooms, we are restricted to use thinner towels. We do provide larger towels upon request. Please feel free to ask us during your next visit.

Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michelle2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalpalmsmotel, Manager at Royal Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Sich zuerst das Zimmer zeigen lassen, evtl. gibt es ja bessere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank swizzli36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalpalmsmotel, General Manager at Royal Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stuart hotels
0.8 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#9 of 11 in Stuart
411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Downtown Stuart
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Stuart
Quality Inn Stuart
#7 of 11 in Stuart
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Old Colorado Inn
Old Colorado Inn
#1 of 11 in Stuart
327 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stuart-North
1.3 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Stuart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Motel

Address: 627 SW Federal Hwy, Stuart, FL 34994-2992
Region: United States > Florida > Stuart
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Stuart
Price Range: £59 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Palms Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Stuart
Royal Palms Motel Stuart, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing