We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Camp Ground and area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sugarloaf
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA
Wedowee, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Camp Ground and area”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a wonderful KOA. Staff was great and allowed us to move sites. We stayed during Hurricane Sandy, and were there during Fantasy Fest. Interesting dynamics! Staff was helpful and friendly, and they have a great tiki bar. Very pretty grounds in great location, just a beautiful beach and water for purfect sunsets. You can catch the bus nearby to downtown Key West for excellent food and shopping.

Room Tip: This is for RV or campers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    88
    39
    27
    24
See reviews for
104
73
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here for fantasy fest in key west so everything was very busy on the islands and this was the closest campground we could get to key west. The tent space was pretty big and we had no trouble arriving late at night. The beach isn't much of a beach, it is very rocky and we didn't even go in the water. They suggested going to the Winn Dixie 10 miles up the road but we found a place called Murrays food market that was closer and had basics like lunch meat and bread. It was windy the first two nights so that kept the mosquitoes down, but there were some the third night. I highly recommend bringing plenty of bug repellant when camping in south Florida.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jett248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Pine Key, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Do the pictures at the entrance to this campground say: Welcome Friend - Have a Nice Stay ...
or do they say: Welcome To the Pirates Den ?

Maybe the first picture is a representation of the attitude of the staff who ride around all day on their carts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank herenowjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

this is a beautiful campground which has a beautiful beach..we reached around 20:00 PM and get the location..No one is camping when we were there...we have bitten with mosquitoes or other insects while setting up the tent so badly...Normally, mosquitoes do not bite me but I have bitten at least 10-15 within 20 minutes...We did not count the bites for my wife :)) 30-40 :))
Mans restroom is clean but my wife told me that woman's restroom is not in the good shape/condition..on the top of that this is the expensive camp spot for us...we wanted to stay couple nights but changed the plan stay one night and left

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oznar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

What an experience. staff was very helpful and friendly. Was treated with great,hospitality. Can't wait to go back in 2014.
With Dave Lambie, Dave Pierce, Brian Allen, Alexandra, JJ Bowers an Jamie Davis...Great n true friends!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harlee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtland, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here for a Family get together. Staff was awesome, super friendly! Trailer was unexpected after reading other reviews. Trailer was brand new with 2 bedrooms, decent beds and a pull out couch(couch wasn't the best sleeping) would be great for 2 couples or a small family that did not need to use the couch. plenty of room though! Campground was nice, a pretty little beach, and plenty of fishing spots. Also boat access and slips. The campground could use some more activities for kids, maybe a game room that's separate, and regular size bike rentals would have been nice. I had a great time lots of space for families or groups to get together

Room Tip: If traveling with an extended family and renting 2 trailers ask for the ones where the decks ajoin e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katsrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Have been here many times over many years, and always have had a good experience.. They used to have the little log cabins back in the day, but due to storms they were eliminated back in the late 80's, and since we have graduated to a 17ft motor home, it is just fine.. :-))
It is clean, well maintained and friendly..

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugarloaf
17.3 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sugarloaf Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
8.2 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
17.1 mi away
Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina
14.9 mi away
Oceans Edge Key West Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

Property: Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA
Address: 251 State Road 939, MM 20, Sugarloaf, FL 33042-3806
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Sugarloaf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Sugarloaf
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year. Set between the crystal clear Gulf of Mexico and the Atlantic Ocean, Sugarloaf Key/Key West KOA is a true beachfront resort. You'll find amenities and activities designed to please everyone in the family, local fishing and beachside fun at the campground's own water haven. Dine under swaying palm trees and sip frozen margaritas on the waterfront veranda of the campground's pub. Even your family pet will have fun at the pet playground specifically designed for them. Ever-appealing Key West lies just 14 miles south. Hop on the campground's shuttle to this funky and historic end of the road, dubbed "the Conch Republic." Walk the narrow streets showcasing Conch architecture-breezy wood houses with lush tropical gardens-once home to pirates, treasure hunters, sailors, novelists like Hemingway and songwriters like Buffett. End the day with a sunset at Mallory Pier. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sugarloaf Key / Key West Koa Hotel Sugarloaf
Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing