We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location Location Location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sugarloaf Key, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Walt106
Sun City Center, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Needs Repairs”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We booked our stay for 4 days. We had to pre-pay months ago. This place needs many repairs to be done for the safety of our possessions and our property along with keeping pests out of the room. First - the window sashes are rotted out which makes entry for insects etc. and anyone trying to break in easy. The front door does not close properly and also has a large window which makes some body trying to break in while we are gone easy. They can just break the glass and reach in to unlock the door. Front doors should be solid and secure. The safe in the closet does not work(needs a battery) but should be bolted down to the floor or wall to keep from being taken. It only weighs about 35 pounds which would make a thief happy. The exhaust fan in the bathroom does not work. The family with 3 kids upstairs sounds like a playground being this house is so old the ceiling sounds like they are coming through. It was not a good place to stay for 4 days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Parking in the rear of the house
Liked least: Everything else
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beckytdoe
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Loved this condo for our Keys getaway!! This place was perfect for our 5 day getaway and it's just 2 blocks from Duval. Very easy check in process took maybe 5 min at the most. Easiest and fastest check in ever. I travel for work and go to the same hotels every other week and still this checkin was the fastest. Check out was a breeze, basically just dropped off the keys and go.
Loved the balcony and the lush tropical trees. Nice private fenced in yard with chairs, BBQ, and plenty of room. We didn't bring the dog but if we did she would have had plenty of room. The bed was very comfortable and we had no trouble sleeping. We had a large walk-in closet and I was able to hang up all of my dresses and most of my clothes. The closet also had a safe and ironing board but we didn't use them. We were able to also fit our luggage in the closet so everything was out of the way. The bathroom was quaint and had a large shelf to fit all of my makeup and hair products and still have room for my husbands stuff. Nice large enough shower so my husband and I could shower together. They also stocked all of the soap and shampoo we would need and more. The TV was centrally located and able to swivel any direction we needed. Loved the large kitchen and refrigerator that we used often. The maid service was great and if we put the do not disturb sign up they would still leave some fresh towels on the back porch. If we didn't need towels we left them on the front porch so they knew not to bring more. We had enough free private parking for our car and scooter during our whole stay. We used the pool everyday and loved it. We always had the pool to ourselves. They were maybe 4-5 blocks away and we always found easy free parking spots right out front. We also saw it had washers and dryers to use after 6pm. However we didn't need to use them. I cannot say enough great things about this place. We will definitely be back and will rent from KWVR in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budagirl6...
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Really nice place; great location”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have stayed at Courtney's Place and another place farther down on Duval in the past. Hibiscus is closer to the "action" on Duval. Hibiscus is a unit for 2 people. The place we stayed at Courtney's was a 2 bedroom cottage but other than that, the units and pricing are similar. We enjoyed Hibiscus a bit more simply for the location. The place we stayed on Duval was tied to a restaurant/bar. The light poured in the room and the bar was roundly until about 2 AM every night. I have never considered lodging in KW to be quiet and peaceful but this was not bad at all. There was only one other room occupied out of 4 while we were there. I heard them for a bit in the AM but it was not too loud. The bed was comfortable and the whole unit was clean. There was plenty of room in the bathroom and a ton of storage in bathroom and large closet (with safe). There was plenty of room for parking which is HUGE in KW.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachBums...
Oxford, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Would book again”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a great time in Key West and this place made it all possible! First of all, it is within a block or two of Duval St. Staying that close was important to us because we wanted to be able to walk to all of the attractions in that area. We were able to park our car right outside of our room - and we didn't get back in it until we checked out - it was perfect!

The room was clean, bright white - and had everything that we needed and more. There was a front porch where we could sit out at night and the inside was cozy and welcoming to enjoy during the day.

The only complaints I would have are:
1 - the bed. I had read another review where they shared that the bed was just too soft. I thought - who says something like that? Well...the bed is way too soft. You sink down into it and it makes for a very uncomfortable sleep.
2 - the AC unit. This sucker was so loud that it woke us up throughout the night when it kicked on. Now - it kept the room cool, and we actually turned it up a couple degrees to help it not run as often just to save our sanity of hearing it run so loudly.
3 - Spring Breakers upstairs. Now, I know this is a Spring Break hot spot and we went in with knowing that it would be pretty rowdy. What I didn't expect was renting from a company that has strict 25 yr and older guidelines, and to end up with a room upstairs from us being rented by 8 very belligerent spring breakers. I am talking - getting woken up at 430 am by the guys upstairs singing from the top of their lungs out on their balcony. This happened both of the nights that this particular group was there. It was insane.

Overall - we can't wait to go back and would rent the same room again. I hope they change the bed and the AC unit out - but even with those 2 issues, we would stay there again because that is how much we enjoyed it. The company was great to work with and the cleaning staff did a great job of tidying up. I have already recommended this location and the rental company to friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/Parking/Cleanliness
Liked least: Bed/AC Unit/Loud Neighbors
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jonimce
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
Reviewed 24 October 2012 for a stay in July 2012
5
people found this review helpful

We loved this place. We travel with out camper but thought staying in old town would be a good choice. We were right. We stored the camper and parked the van (one of the few places that have onsite parking) and walked everywhere. Can't wait to go back. Place was very clean and comfy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private entrance and building.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaYellow
Central NY
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic, romantic, quiet getaway.”
Reviewed 20 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
5
people found this review helpful

This little efficiency apartment was just perfect for the two of us. The parking spot on-site let us leave our rental car there, and get around easily. We had coffee every morning on the porch and cocktails there in the evening. The kitchenette was just right and had everything we needed. There was even a reusable coffee filter in the coffee maker! The grill was a great addition -- allowing us to make some shrimp and corn on the cob at "home" for dinner.

There is wi-fi available so you can easily access the internet as needed.

The housekeeping staff kept the place very clean.

It is literally a little over a block from Duval -- making it easy to access things but far enough away to be perfectly quiet at night.

The only downsides were that the mattress was much too soft for us (there was a pillow top and we are used to a firm mattress) and there were small ants around the place. The rental company pays for an exterminator to come weekly, but it doesn't seem to help all that much. I don't really mind bugs, so it wasn't a huge deal -- they're pretty small little things. Also, there is a dump truck that picks up trash a few mornings a week that's pretty loud.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the porch
Liked least: the mattress
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing