We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the Double Beds”
Review of Sugarloaf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sugarloaf Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugarloaf Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We booked two rooms and were told it would be two double beds in each room , well when we arrived at 8pm we found one room to have what they called a 1 3/4 bed room !! A glorified couch is not a bed in my opinion !!! When asked about the room I was told you have to make sure you ask for two double beds hmmmm my confirmation for both rooms said two double beds and I was also informed that the price was the same regardless !!
Rooms are very dated and not super clean and at $200 a night you would expect a little more , I guess being close to Key West $200 seems reasonable .
I asked for an explanation of the room deficiencies and was told that someone would email the reason for the lack of 2 double beds in the one room 3 days later no response so I guess we didnt matter had our dollars
Definitely will not be on my list to stay at next trip to the Keys !!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

I am very sorry you were dissatisfied with your experience at our hotel. I wish you had brought the matter to our attention upon your arrival perhaps we could have remedied the situation. I suspect that you may have been assigned that room because it adjoins with the other room in your party. Our adjoining rooms are paired into doubles and studios. Our hotel was built in 1966 and we have strived to maintain many of the original features and decor . The studio rooms are faithful to the original design. Our 3/4 beds roll out from under the cabinet headboard and are larger than a standard twin but smaller than a standard double. Perhaps we failed to inform you that it rolled out which is why it appeared to be a couch. I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations we strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with a beautiful waterfront view at a price well below our nearest competetors in Key West. I apologize that we did not respond to you by email. I am investigating why you were told that and why you were not contacted, but I assure you that we value your business and your comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Horribly overpriced. Interior not changed since 1972. No beach access. No restaurant. No aaa discount. Mold in shower. How does this place stay in business? It preports to be ecologically sensitive but has all horribly inefficient appliances. One plus- free coffee!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markkernohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I was here back in 1973, always wanted to come back The murals on the walls were like I remembered !! The owner and her daughter were very friendly and helpful It was quiet and peaceful , not all that hussle and bustle noise and traffic like Key West ! It's an older motel , Go back in time for a little while !! Rooms were very comfortable ,and good views !!! Will come back !!

Room Tip: Very peaceful easy feeling !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

After reading the other reviews, we booked this motel for one night as we were leaving Key West. The other reviews are correct on the view. You have your own private balcony or porch to sit and watch the sun set. But, our patio furniture was so dirty we had to use our bath towels to wash them down before we could sit outside. We did not use the pool, so cannot comment. We stayed on a Saturday evening and the Tiki Bar on the premises was a little loud. The tile in the bathroom was old and the grout was dirty. The rest of the room was clean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Sugarloaf Lodge is beautifully located on Sugarloaf key about 14 miles east of Key West on US-1 (expect 20 minutes drive).

The lodge has two floors and totals around 30 guest rooms, all with amazing view of the Mexican Gulf in the NW.

Stepping into your room, it's like traveling back some 30 years in time. However, the rooms are well maintained, clean and tidy, and all equipped with A/C and refrigerator.

Guest rooms are served with free WiFi (password given at check-in). The connection does not allow you to watch any HD movies but with the shore no more than 20 feet away from your floor to ceiling windows, expect a beautiful sunset in a romantic setting. Flat screen TV with entertainment all channels. Balcony or patio depending on floor.

The two double beds served a party of four (preferably 2 adults + 2 children).

Breakfast (not included?) was served at the Tiki bar. We did not try the breakfast.

Staff was very friendly and helpful upon check-in and check-out.

Free WiFi
Free parking
Free swimming pool

Traveled with my girlfriend (mid-30s), stayed one night in a double room with two double beds.
Rate $212 inc. tax (booked same day).

This was my third visit to the Keys. I have previously stayed downtown Key West. In a normal setting, I would find rate at $212 inc. tax overpriced. Expect rate at about $150 inc. tax per night if booked in advance.

THIS HOTEL IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. It will be my first choice next time I visit the Keys.

Room Tip: Ask for room on ground floor and step out to the Mexican Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

En route to Key West, friends in Islamorada recommended this gem of a place to us. We weren't disappointed. The rooms were clean, the view was nice and the price was reasonable. We stayed on the first floor and had reclining lawn chairs in front of our room along with a small patio with a couple of chairs and a table where we enjoyed our drinks in the evening overlooking the water. There were also barbecues available if that tickles your fancy, There is a tiki bar there as well if you want some company. After a couple of hours at the pool, we were just in the mood to sit outside of our room enjoying our drinks and a cigar (that we only have 1 of a year and didn't finish). The staff we encountered were very friendly and we felt at home. All of the Key residents are mindful of the environment and there are signs here and there reminding tourists of the fragility of the ecosystem. It is important that we protect the beauty of the Keys! There seemed to be lots of fish along the wall bordering the waters that we enjoyed as we took a quick walk around the property and we also came across a very large iguana. Unfortunately the restaurant that used to be on the property is now closed but, I think the tiki bar may have food? If not, there is a super little market just up the street where we picked up some amazing subs! If you want a place to stay in the Keys, this is a great little spot.

Room Tip: Stay on the main level so you can bbq or sit out by the edge of the water in the lawn chairs provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luvinitalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I think Sugarloaf Inn/Lodge is an awesome little place to stay. Really cool vibe. I especially loved the beautiful woman at the front desk. Hi Jessie :) All the staff was very friendly.The location is perfect. I got such a good sleep.
The room was very clean. The pool was clean and very well maintained.
If you are into fishing its a no brainer, excellent place to stay, with a full service dock and bait shop only a minutes walk to the right of the hotel. You can park your boat right behind your room! There are (2) really nice BBQ type smokers in the back.
Beautiful view of the gulf side, from every patio. I did'nt do the tiki bar, but it looked really cool!!
I will definatley stay there the next time I am in the lower keys!!!

Room Tip: There all Goood!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugarloaf Key
13.8 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#43 of 51 in Key West
1,225 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
988 reviews
12.9 mi away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#29 of 51 in Key West
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
267 reviews
11.4 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
929 reviews
10.1 mi away
Looe Key Reef Resort
Looe Key Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Ramrod Key
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarloaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarloaf Lodge

Address: 17001 Overseas Hwy, Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-3681
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Sugarloaf Key
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugarloaf Key
Price Range: £144 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugarloaf Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugarloaf Logde is a family run, 31 unit waterfront resort in the Florida Keys 13 miles from Key West. All of our rooms face the water with sunset views and if you have a boat you can park it behind your room. The lodge has a Tiki Bar, marina, pool, tennis courts, and airstrip. Unfortunately, we do not allow pets but we are perfect for families, kayakers and flats fisherman. A fifteen minute drive from all that Key West has to offer without the crowds and high prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sugarloaf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarloaf Hotel Summerland Key
Sugarloaf Lodge Sugarloaf Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing