We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugarloaf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugarloaf Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugarloaf Key
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Great waterfront room with great views out the patio door. Go outside on your private patio for even better views, including amazing sunset. Tiki bar had an old Florida atmosphere, friendly bartender and very reasonable prices versus the gouging you take in Key West. Room was clean, furniture was art deco 50ish style. TV had every channel you can think of, but who watches TV in the Keys? This is definitely a keeper when I visit the lower Keys.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    106
    37
    11
    22
See reviews for
70
105
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This place as a great location, the setting over the water is amazing, we loved sitting out in the morning with free coffee from the bar looking out to the sea. There is a bus that stops right out front that goes to Key West/Marathon for $4 and a little marina next door where you can book fishing trips from. The rooms are very spacious with a fridge, clean but are dated and may benefit from an upgrade but don't let this put you off from staying.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank icisengland187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atkinson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were looking to stay on Key West but the prices this time of year are pretty pricey. We saw the Sugarloaf Lodge online and decided to stay for a night. Since it was rated 2 and a half stars out of 5 on Hotels.com we did not have high expectations but just wanted a clean place to sleep for a night.
Though it seems by the owners comments to those who have reviewed their stay that they are trying to preserve the ambiance it seems of days gone by, we were taken aback by the decor of the room. You can have that retro decor while putting in a few dollars to rehab the rooms.
Our room was clean for a room rated in the two and a half star category. It was nice to be right on the water and the close proximity to Key West was good considering that is why we chose the Sugarloaf Lodge. We did chose this place on the spur of the moment and would have chosen another more updated place if had the time to research further.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhtigercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Wonderful experience. Peaceful and natural. Beautiful view of the waterfront. Great location for day trips to Key West, Bahia Honda Park, and Key Deer Refuge, as well as many outstanding restaurants within 7 miles. All rooms affordable with great view of waterfront. Very nice Tiki Bar with very affordable beverage prices. Forget about staying in Key West, Stay at Sugarloaf Lodge. First time here, but will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEHFranklin_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Booked a room for one night for a overnight trip via the internet. Looked nice on there website. We looked foward to seeing the sunset as described on there site and a visit to the tiki bar. Checked in and went to room. Room was clean. Bathroom was not. Someone forgot to clean the toilet! The tile grout was filthy. No peep hole in entrance door. The deck for balcony has not been power washed in years. There septic system was right next to our room and all holding tanks uncovered. Gross and creepy. Later as place was filling up it appears that they rent out rooms for construction people. I'll bet they don't pay 200$ a night. Went to have a drink at the tiki bar but decided not to. Did not feel comfortable. There was just a bunch of locals hanging out. Was not a vacation type of crowd. Pool was nice and fairly new. The place has potential but needs to have money put into it. This is a 75$ a night place at best. By the way did not see the sunset as advertised . :-(((

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50captaineric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and other hotels in the area. I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with your experience. Our rooms are inspected daily by a manager after housekeeping service, so your bathroom not being cleaned properly was an unfortunate and unacceptable oversight. Our hotel is an older property which we strive to maintain and keep clean. You were staying in our one room adjacent to our wastewater treatment facility. There is a wall intended to block the sight lines to that facility but I will see if there is a way to extend that wall so there is no possible way for a guest to see around it. The lower keys is installing a central sewer system so our waste water will soon be sent off premises. February and March are our high season so I assure you no guest was offered a discounted rate. Our rate is far below our nearest competitors in Key West which is probably why working people stay here from time to time. In high season we offer no group or extended stay rates. We do have a local following at our Tiki Bar as we price our drinks affordably and our Tiki bar is not exclusive to our hotel guests. I am sorry that you felt uncomfortable. Many of our hotel guest appreciate the laid back waterfront ambience of the Tiki Bar. Again I apologize you were not happy with your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosebush, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our trip to the Keys was a spur-of-the-moment thing, and after web-searching many hotels and B&B's we found them all booked except for Sugarloaf with one vacancy, which we reserved.

In any other setting, I'd refer to the lodge as a Mom & Pop motel, but with a spectacular view of the Gulf from every room and a Tiki Bar for the thirsty traveler it's a lot more.

The staff was excellent, and the room was "as described". I disagree with the reviewer who was confused by the single/double rooms. The Lodges website accurately describes the room you're booking.

Other reviewers have used "quaint" and "charming", etc. Sugarloaf Lodge offers plain, simple, no-frills lodging at a fraction of the cost of staying on Key West. Our room was clean, the linen fresh, and everything worked. If and when we return to the Keys, Sugarloaf will be where we stay. 'Nuff said.

Room Tip: Go to the Lodge's website and take some time to select your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugarloaf Key
14.2 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
13.3 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,310 reviews
13.8 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#40 of 51 in Key West
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
11.4 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
888 reviews
11.4 mi away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarloaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarloaf Lodge

Property: Sugarloaf Lodge
Address: 17001 Overseas Hwy, Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-3681
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Sugarloaf Key
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugarloaf Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugarloaf Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugarloaf Logde is a family run, 31 unit waterfront resort in the Florida Keys 13 miles from Key West. All of our rooms face the water with sunset views and if you have a boat you can park it behind your room. The lodge has a Tiki Bar, marina, pool, tennis courts, and airstrip. Unfortunately, we do not allow pets but we are perfect for families, kayakers and flats fisherman. A fifteen minute drive from all that Key West has to offer without the crowds and high prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sugarloaf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarloaf Hotel Summerland Key
Sugarloaf Lodge Sugarloaf Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing