We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put off these locals”
Review of The Wharf Bar & Grill - CLOSED

The Wharf Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Big Pine Key, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Put off these locals”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We just ate dinner there tonight, one of many meals we have had there since the new owners. We are sad to feel this way about a former dining standby (of which there are few in the Lower Keys). We feel ripped off. Tne food was tasty and the canal-front looking toward the Gulfside view was enjoyable as always. We enjoyed one fried plantain app, two seafood baskets with sweet potato fries, a no-name wine and a beer, and split a dessert. The bill came to over $80! Sitting at a (really!) rough wood picnic table on a hard tippy bench, with slow service just as others have described. We were quickly seated by a server, then ignored by everyone for almost 20 minutes, no menus no nothin, with two other occupied tables and six empty ones in the outdoor seating area. The bartender walked by us three times. We finally asked her if we could have service. Our server was attentive once she arrived. Food was slow to arrive as well. We feel exploited. The owner claims to be a longtime local. We would like to support her honorable efforts to bring in organics and gluten-free desserts, but not at these prices. Our bill comes to that same amount at neighboring indoor restaurants for more upscale food and beverages. Please please don't kill your good restaurant by jacking up your prices and not caring about your people; we've seen it just before the For Sale sign too many times before.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank m0ssless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    137
    55
    37
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“JUST OK”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The only 2 things really worth ordering here are the mussels on the appetizer menu, and the bacon/gouda wrapped shrimp. Service is less than impressive and food takes a long time to get to the table. Since the outside area is on a canal, it also tends to be a little buggy after sunset...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank renia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Steer Clear”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Ordered their fish special and it was okay except the mashed potatoes were cold. The salad was old and brown and even after sending it back it wasn't any better. One of us ordered the prime rib and it tasted spoiled/sour and couldn't eat it. They didn't even offer to take it off the bill. They keep all of the tarter sauce/dipping sauce in an old Starbucks refrigerator with a clear door and it has what appears to be mold growing on inside back wall of it. I noticed the mold after we ordered and before we got our food. I wouldn't eat here again period.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Pine Key, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nibbles”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Some friends and I stopped by to satisfy a craving for their Blood Orange Margaritas and just had to sample some of their Tijuana Tuesday specials: clams, scallops and Mexican pizza. All were flavorful and presented nicely. We often sit outdoors with our dog, where can enjoy the water and fresh air. It's a great spot!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skm2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not good anymore”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We go down to Cudjoe Key every year, and one of the places that we used to love to eat at is the Wharf Bar and Grill on Summerland Key. The staff was always really good as well as the food. The owners had written a bio when it opened 3 or 4 years ago about how they have been in the restaurant business for years, and that they really knew customer service and wanted to open a place that people would really love to eat at, and so on. The Wharf Bar and Grill changed this year, so much that we asked if they had new owners, they don't. We went for dinner got sat right away and waited 20 minutes for our server to come by just to take our drink order. It was about 8PM and they where not busy, only two other tables on the deck and a few people at the outside Bar. She took our orders for drinks and took another 20 minutes to bring them to us. When we ordered food, over 40 minutes later we got 4 out of the 5 meals, they forget my wife's dinner all together. She ordered that again, and that took 40 minutes to bring out. When I asked what happened and why it took so long she blamed it on the kitchen and basically said that the kitchen staff sucked and she does not even like to talk to them, (OK not a good thing) She did not apologize nor offer to take my wife's meal off the bill or any kind of compensation for the delay in, well, everything. Crappy services. We paid our bill and left not to return again.
Two days later my brother and his family went to have lunch there. The same thing pretty much happened to them with a different waitress. My sister in law asked to speak with the manager or the owner and a woman came over said she was the owner. My sister in Law explained that they had been waiting for an hour and they forgot to bring out a meal, the owner said "what do you want me to do about it?" At which point my brother and his family just got up and left.
So we are sad to say, do not bother stopping here, they just don't care anymore.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jk Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wharf Bar & Grill also viewed

Summerland Key, Lower Keys
Little Torch Key, Florida Keys
 
Sugarloaf Key, Florida Keys
 
Summerland Key, Lower Keys
Cudjoe Key, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing