We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Italian food”
Review of Mario The Baker

Mario The Baker
Ranked #96 of 235 Restaurants in Sunrise
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mediocre Italian food”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

There is not much to say except it's an over priced Italian restaurant. Spaghetti has been served with as much undrained water as the canned sauce that they seem to use. I have tried it several times and have never been satisfied.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank badfood3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    13
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“We always eat at Mario's once a visit”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Good traditional Italian food at a good price. My husband has been eating at Mario's since he used to come to FL to visit his Grandma. We're carrying on the tradition. Pros. It's a casual, family friendly place and the food is great. Garlic rolls are delish. Love their tomato sauce. Negatives: The service is OK. It can be slow if they're busy. The bathroom is dirty. It can be noisy if you're seated next to a big table.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbiewanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow. Great Italian food”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Best white clam sause after my wife,s and vin cents in new York. Pizza is great also. Love the place and would recommend it to all for great italian food and good service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best garlic knots and pretty decent food in this neck of the woods...”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

First of all, this place is Zagat-rated. It was recently reviewed because their award listed 2012.

Was recommended by our grandmother who told us that back in the day, there was a line outside and around the restaurant.

Best garlic knots, huge portions of pasta that 2 adults could share or 2 adults and 1 child could share. The soup, pasta fagioli, was delicious but a bit salty. I would not recommend the Caprese at all because the tomatoes were under ripe. The eggplant parmesan was pretty tasty. The marinara sauce was pretty good too.

Beers and wine were $3.50. Pasta dishes were $11.00. Service was great. They held a ice cream cake for us, put a candle and brought it out for our grandmother for a surprise. Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank newyorkannie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Still fabulous after 37 years!”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I have been visiting this quaint Italian restaurant my entire life, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that after all these years (and different owners) the food is still great, and the service superb. The garlic rolls are a must, the pizza is really good too, and my personal favorites are the pasta fagioli and the baked ziti (but in over three decades I have never had a bad meal there). I am happy to say that my son is the fourth generation of my family that has been able to enjoy Mario's!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CantStandSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mario The Baker also viewed

Sunrise, Broward County
Sunrise, Broward County
 
Sunrise, Broward County
Sunrise, Broward County
 
Sunrise, Broward County
 

Been to Mario The Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing