We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful & thoughtful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Reviewed 8 March 2014

On our way to a cruise holiday this past month we stayed at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills. This was the first time I had booked in FLL so was not checking location. The one thing I wish was noted on their site was that they had noted they do not provide shuttle to & from airport & cruiseport. We were quoted a taxi bus price by the airport shuttle and was actually provided a car shuttle at the same price. Upon arrival the hotel staff were fabulous. They welcomed us, the concierge, which is new, was extremely helpful ensuring we had all bases covered down to a shuttle booked for the cruiseport the next afternoon. She ensured we had extended stay the next morning and informed us how to get to and from the hotel during the morning. The free shuttle service is to the Sawgrass Mills Mall, the driver was very informative ensuring we knew where to return to for pick up. We purposely listened and could not hear anyone in the hallway or next room. Our room was huge & clean. The door to the bathroom was small, the bathroom itself was like a dance floor. We enjoyed our stay and appreciated the helpfulness of all staff at this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1950Renie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. We have recently added a lobby concierge staff member to assist our guests, and are happy to hear that she was helpful to you! We take our guests' feedback and comments very seriously, and it is nice to hear that some of the new things we've been working on are appreciated! We hope your cruise was as enjoyable as your stay at our Holiday Inn, and please remember us should you return to Fort Lauderdale and the Sawgrass Mills Mall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

the hotel has definite age to it, needs renovations, foul odor in rooms, toilet was cracked inside, overall cleanliness of hotel was not up to part, scary parking lot area, stained bed sheet on my bed, elevator sounds like its going to break any day now. My only positive for this hotel was that the lobby area was nice and so were front desk people. Would not recommend this hotel or stay another visit, especially for the price. The room I had was a king suite but it did not look like a $200 dollar a night room whatsoever.

Room Tip: Hotel carries a strange odor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We value and appreciate our guest opinions as we strive to provide all of our guests with the stay they expect at a Holiday Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The room was nice, but the walls are paper thin. You can easily hear normal conversation from adjoining rooms and the room below. I called the front desk about a loud boom box on the floor below us. They said they had already sent someone up but no one was in the room. I went down by myself and their were 2 young fellows and they said they would gladly turn down their boom box which they did. The hotel obviously did not do their job. Even after the boom box was turned down (quiet) you could still hear people on both sides of our room. While the room itself is nice, the noise is not. I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NFLJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience with us. We value your opinions and appreciate the time you took to share them on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable and clean! Could use a little updating but overall a very good experience! The staff is quite friendly and helpful. The location is ideal next to the Sawgrass Mills Mall and other shopping experiences. I would recommend for a fiscally responsible option.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Many of our guests travel to Sunrise and stay with us to experience Sawgrass Mills Mall, and we're glad to hear you enjoyed your shopping experience and your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your opinions with Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Four of us arrived after 10 p.m. tired from traveling all day. Check in was delightful, thanks to the helpful friendliness of the young man behind the front desk. Both our rooms were upgraded to spacious suites on the top floor because of my IHG Rewards membership, and we received little welcome bags with bottled water, chips and a chocolate - really nice touches. Preferred parking was most appreciated, since the lot was full at that hour.

The restaurant closed at ten, so first stop was the pub, open till eleven. The server was very pleasant and accommodating, and four drinks totaled just under $30. We stayed well after closing and weren't rushed at all.

Bottled drinks and munchies are available in vending machines, if you need a midnight snack.

Our room was large and comfortable, with a sofa, chair, coffee table, computer desk, flat screen, and enormous windows with a pretty view. Holiday Inn's beds are always divine, no matter which hotel we choose, and pillows are plentiful, with several firmness options for maximum comfort. This room did not disappoint. We slept like rocks. Room darkening blinds allowed for late sleeping.

Other amenities included a safe, iron and board, hair dryer, coffee maker, toiletries, and plenty of cushy towels. Wi-Fi was free, but we didn't have time to use it so can't comment.

The bathroom was very large, tub very comfortable, counter space plentiful for easy use of personal items.

We perused the breakfast menu, for dining possibilities the next morning. A good selection was available at surprisingly reasonable prices, but we ended up sleeping too late - no time for a sit-down meal.

The downside: no microwave, mini-refridge, or body wash (soap only), and no cream for the coffee (powdered stuff only). The room didn't have a recycle bin, which should be standard equipment in this era.

The hotel is five miles west of the interstate, so it's a bit off the beaten path for corridor travelers. But we got a fantastic price via a travel website, so we certainly can't complain about location.

We would definitely stay here again, should the opportunity arise.

Room Tip: High floors at the back have nice views and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FancyFree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear ML T,

We can't thank you enough for your detailed review of your recent stay with us! Hearing from our IHG Reward Club Members, our brand's most loyal guests, means a lot to us, and we value your feedback!

We are so glad to hear that you appreciated the recent additions we've made to our Rewards Club Member program. You are the first to tell us that the Preferred Parking made your stay better, and we love hearing that! We also offer a once weekly reception should you find yourself in Sunrise again and are able to arrive at an earlier hour!

Thank you so much again for sharing your thoughts about our property on Trip Advisor. We will be sure to pass along your comments to the appropriate departments for their review as well. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in early January. The rooms were spacious, the beds comfortable. They were missing some items we have come to expect as standard in most hotels at this price range, notably a small fridge and microwave. We did ask for one for our room and it was delivered to the room quickly after our request. There was a surcharge for it.
The bathroom in particular needed some maintenance. Veneer on the vanity is peeling, off, and the bathroom could have been cleaner. The heating/AC was very noisy, as was the bathroom fan, which needed repair too after we discovered it didn't work.
The hallways had a very funky smell. I never was able to identify it.
We had breakfast at the hotel once. It was not good. Except for the coffee, that was wonderful. The staff we had contact with were helpful and nice.
I don't know that I can recommend this hotel right now. Certainly it wasn't awful. We did stay 2 nights, but we have stayed at other Holiday Inns that were nicer at the same price or more.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjsTwinCities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear MjsTwinCities,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experiences with us. Guest feedback is vital to us as we strive to provide each and every guest with the stay they expect from a Holiday Inn. We are happy to hear about the things you enjoyed in our property, especially our spacious rooms and friendly helpful staff members.

We have been undergoing some changes in our food and beverage department, as you saw, and we will be sure to share your comments about the condition of your bathroom with our housekeeping and engineering departments. We frequently hear from our guests about the noise from the HVAC units... they were designed to be energy efficient, and unfortunately, this design came at the expense of silence.

We hope that should you return to the Sunrise area, you'll return to see for yourself the ongoing changes we're continually implimenting as we strive to be the best Holiday Inn we can be!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed with my wife and my 2 year old son here in the first week of Jan 2014, the hotel is in very good conditions, the staff was more than friendly and really willing to help. The manager on duty personally found a very nice room for us the day we arrived. Some things in the hotel will need renovation in a short timer but nothing too transcendental to complain. Definitively I would return to this place without hesitation. And the best part is that is in a very good location from all the attractions, restaurants, malls, etc in the area.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade if the have available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MACF250767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeZ21, General Manager at Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear MACF250767,

We are glad to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for sharing with Trip Advisor! Please know that renovations and updates are a continuallly ongoing process at our property. Things our guests can see, like new lobby furniture and new state of the art equipment in our fitness center, to things guests can't see behind the scenes mechanical stuff, we are always finding ways to improve our hotel and our guest experiences. If you've noticed something, it's probably on our list of future projects!

We look forward to seeing you when your travels bring you back to the Sunrise area of South Florida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunrise
4.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Sawgrass
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale/West-Sawgrass/Tamarac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex

Address: 3003 N University Dr, Sunrise, FL 33322-1610 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Sunrise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise
Price Range: £70 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex 3.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in South Florida's bustling Broward County just minutes from Fort Lauderdale, The SAWGRASS GRAND Hotel and Suites ushers in a new era of modern style in one of the state's premier business and leisure destinations. An anchor in South Florida's mix of high-tech companies and powerhouse retail centers, the service-driven 289-room hotel is a sought-after destination for sports enthusiasts, shoppers and sightseers alike, offering easy access to Sawgrass Mills Outlet Mall, Hard Rock Stadium, BB&T Center, as well as the Everglades, beaches and popular South Florida attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sawgrass Grand Hotel and Suites Sports Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Sawgrass Mills
Holiday Inn Sunrise
Sunrise Holiday Inn
Sawgrass Grand Hotel And Suites Sports Complex Sunrise, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing