We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the Strip in Surfside.”
Review of Specchio Cafe

Specchio Cafe
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Surfside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Chicago suburb
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best on the Strip in Surfside.”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I had a few hours to kill and walked this whole little shopping strip.....about 3-4 blocks both sides of the street. Walked in everywhere that was open and checked the place out before deciding. I made the right call. They do nice authentic italian food. Great atmosphere....great design....cool space. Lunch or dinner.....you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gariupamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    48
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service and great food”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This is a nice, small restaurant just off the main beach road. We had a nice table outside. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful in selecting menu items.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank D_Anne4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
98 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Reliably good italian food”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I have dined at Specchio recently and have for many years. The quality has held up nicely, but the town of Surside is frequently congested and loaded with street construction it would seem. Some of the pasta and seafood specials are memorable but the wine selection is prosaic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shallowwaterangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Quality, reasonable price.”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is a nice italian restaurant, just a few blocks walk from the St Regis. It's small, and appears to have a nice local clientele. The staff is friendly, but not particularly memorable. The seafood skewer appetizer was very tasty. Made with one small piece of snapper and one medium sized shrimp, it seemed over priced. The Gnocci were nicely done, not the best I've ever had, but good. The spinach and ricotta ravioli were fresh and of good quality. The ricotta cheesecake was nice, but would have been better served with some fruit. I was surprised it was served warm, as I've almost always had it served chilled Overall it was a nice experience.

Helpful?
Thank cecpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice Italian”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Very nice Italian place excellent ingredient and the food is good , we enjoy the appetizers and the pasta , you. An also seat outside and enjoy better our time .

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alonmoradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Specchio Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing