We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Surfside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mount Vernon, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This resort is gorgeous. The facilty, amenities and beach were perfect. I am shocked that anyone has anything bad to say about this place. What in the world are we expecting if this isn't good enough??? There were NO problems at all. The staff were professional, friendly, accommodating and knowledgable about the area (in particular, Alex, Kelvin, Julian, Gaston, and Alison). Somehow, after our amazing experience we were given a discount because the spa wasn't open yet? We hadn't noticed. Incredible. Like another reviewer, after reading some other reviews was worried so talked with the manager about my concerns. He assured me that everything would be fine and he was right. If it hadn't been, I'm confident any concerns we had would have been handled promptly and professionally.

The only down side of our trip was the unfortunate experience of seeing another guest be very rude to one of the young men assisting with lounge chairs and umbrellas on the beach. Apparently, this guy was steamed because our chairs had been put too close to his. He was rude and inconsiderate -- exactly the kind of person you don't want to deal with in any capacity. We were amazed by the response of the hotel employee. After working for hours in the HOT sun, dragging umbrellas and lounge chairs around the beach for people, he was gracious and apologized to this guest even though he'd done nothing wrong. We went inside to the management to let them know about the situation and to let them know how impressed we were with how the employee handled things.

Can we just please all be decent and respectful to others? Really. Please.

Room Tip: Our room on the 11th floor was a double suite. Very comfortable and quiet with a very nice ocean vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christineshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Christineshea, we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for the absolutely lovely review and rating you have shared of the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside. We were delighted to learn of the excellent experience you had on property with us. We could not be happier to know that our staff’s efforts to accommodate you and assist you in the best way possible have contributed in making your experience at the hotel as pleasant as it was. We appreciate the kind words you have shared of Alex, Kelvin, Julian, Gaston, and Alison.
It has been our pleasure to serve you and we are looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back onsite of the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside for yet another unforgettable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    369
    111
    52
    76
See reviews for
610
464
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We just got back from a two night stay at this hotel. There are so many wonderful things about this hotel - If you can overlook a few flaws, you can have a great stay,and at a great price (considering you're right on the beach in Surfside).

There are some great things about this hotel: pools, grounds, and lobby are beautiful and spotless. The pools were warm in February - there's plenty of shade for everyone - the pool area is peaceful, with no loud music. The hotel appeared to be full, but the pool was not crowded (no need to head down to the pool before breakfast to save a seat.) The service was always excellent. There seemed to be an overabundance of hotel staff - all were friendly and helpful. There's an additional adult pool, hot tubs, and bar on the roof of the hotel. We were given a complementary bottle of champagne and fresh fruit when we checked in! Also - lets see - the room was spotless - very large - we had two bathrooms - all appeared to be brand new - the beds were extremely comfortable - the balconies are large - the free wifi worked very well. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant and it was very good.

The location: you are on the beach, two blocks from the Bal Harbour shops (with fabulous - if pricey - restaurants) and right around the corner from some great restaurants on Harding Avenue.

Our only complaint was the stains on the carpets in the hallway outside of our room. It looks like some construction is going on right after beautiful new carpets have been put down? There was also a stain on one of the white couch cushions, and the balcony chair also had a stain. If the hotel could get a good cleaning system to remove the stains, they should do it, because no one wants to sit on furniture with a stain on it.

Also - in the bar upstairs - the wine is being served in plastic cups. We liked that he filled them to the top - extra wine for us - but wine glasses would be nice. The bartender was great though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunilKumta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear SunilKumta, thank you for joining us at the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside. We could not be happier to learn of the five-star experience you have had onsite with us. Thank you for the positive feedback you have shared of the overall hotel grounds, such as the pool areas and lobby. We are especially pleased with your comments referring to the service attitude of our staff members. At the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, we do believe that customer service is the key to success of our operation. In this sense, we invest time and efforts to train our team and build an above and beyond service attitude. Thus, we feel very encouraged to read of the excellent encounters with staff members you have experienced throughout the hotel. We also appreciate the positive reinforcement you have shared of our spacious and spotless room accommodations equipped with a large balcony and free Wi-Fi. We are delighted that the complementary fruit and champagne amenity, as well as the tasteful breakfast added a nice touch to your visit. We could not agree more when it comes to your comments regarding our location. The Grand Beach Hotel Surfside is indeed located beachfront and there is a lot of dining and shopping activities available just walking distance away from the hotel. We appreciate your comments and suggestions regarding the carpet in the hallway. We have notified management of your recommendation in this aspect. Since the hotel opened recently, there are still some finishing works being done throughout the building, which are the cause for what you have come to notice. We can assure you however that this will be eliminated as a shortcoming once all the work onsite is complete. We would also like to address your last comment; drinks at the Skybar are being served in plastic cups as a mean of guest safety. With this action we are striving to prevent accidents, which may be caused as a result of broken glass around the pool area, where a lot of the guests are expected to walk barefooted. We sincerely hope you understand our concern in this aspect and support our efforts to protect our guests.
We would like to thank you once again for the detailed feedback you have shared. We are looking forward to welcome you back upon your return visit to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I feel obliged to write since I had such a positive experience. This is one of the most beautiful hotels in Miami Beach. Yes, there were some kinks to be ironed out as the place is brand new, but the staff was helpful and professional. Please ignore the negatives comments you see and do stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Sara L, we could not be happier when reading your review. We are grateful for the time you have set aside to share your positive experience of Grand Beach Hotel Surfside with the TripAdvisor community. It is encouraging for us to learn that the professional and helpful customer service provided to you by our staff members contributed to your great experience onsite and managed to offset any negatives caused by the finishing touches being done at our brand new hotel. It has been our pleasure to serve you and we are looking forward to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked our hotel for the first 3 days of Feb 2014, and then a few of friends saw the reviews on this place. After reading the reviews, we were worried. But as we got to the hotel and checking in, the front desk upgraded our room, due to the fact that they knew there were still some construction going on and weren't fully ready yet. The rooms were great, beds extra comfy. Although, the hotel room phones weren't working. Light is on, but there is no dial tone or anything. We had to call from our personal cell phones. The signal network in the area isn't that great either. As for the TV, the Tv was big and smart, but it wasn't working. We went downstairs to tell them it wasnt working. Finally they fixed it. The AC vent was leaking, but not a lot. Not much to complain about.
The skybar and rooftop pool was amazinggg. They did an amazing job with landscape, both on the roof of the hotel and downstairs outside. Interior designing and everything was perfect. The valet was nice too. We would call them to take our car out, and by the time we got downstairs, the car was ready for us. We hadn't bothered for room service, since it was all girls, and the room was really messy and everything was all over the place. The area was amazing, really close to a lot of main attractions. We would definitely come back to this place again though. When it's fully functioning, although it's on its way soon! :)

-Sadaf F, from Raleigh, NC

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadaf F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Sadaf F, thank you for deciding to join us at the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside soon after our opening date. It is with pleasure that we learn of your satisfaction with our service, amenities, and overall facilities. We are happy the room upgrade to a nice suite, as well as the comfort of the bedding, both set the right conditions for a joyful vacation onsite. We appreciate the excellent feedback you have shared of our skybar and the rooftop pool area. It is great the property’s landscaping and interior design were to your taste. Thank you for mentioning the kind service of our valet staff. We must agree with you that the area surrounding the hotel has a lot to offer when it comes to shopping, dining, and activities. And while we are happy to know that your vacation onsite went smoothly in the majority of aspects, we would like to take the time and apologize for the small inconveniences you experienced after check-in with the working condition of the telephone, TV, and internet signal. We are glad to hear those were fixed in a timely manner and did not cause great inconvenience to you during your visit. We are thrilled to learn you are planning to visit us again in the future. We cannot wait to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you require assistance when planning for your next trip to the area, as we would be happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

we had read on trip advisor all the problems the hotel was having and we were very concerned to keep our reservation. I called the manager and he assured me everything was now corrected. when I checked in I was really impressed by the service and how the hotel looked. I was advised about the Spa and Roomservice not working and one pool was being repaired, for the inconvenience we were given a 50% discount. I have to say that our vacation was great and other then the dirty carpets the hotel was perfect, I would definatly stay again

Room Tip: this hotel has great potential. The staff was really good. we read terrible reviews from other cus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warren g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Warren G, we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside. We are thrilled to know your concerns evaporated the moment you stepped into our lobby. It is with pleasure that we learn of the wonderful interactions you have had with staff members onsite. We would like to once again apologize for any inconvenience you may have been caused by the fact that our Spa was not yet opened and that our Room service does not function 24-hours a day. We truly hope you have found the 50% discount we extended to you as a sufficient compensation for the troubles. We are happy you enjoyed a great vacation onsite and will be visiting us again. We cannot wait to greet you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

My family and I booked a vacation at the surfside resort last November for 6 nights (Dec 26th through Jan 1st). We had 4 adjoining suites on the seventh floor with spectacular ocean front views. Our group included family members from all ages basically, except young children. Upon arrival it was clear that there were going to be some "bugs" to work out. It was evident that this new hotel had just been turned over from construction to management. Having the privilege of leading a construction firm myself (with several facilities turned over successfully such as this one before) I had a unique angle and point of view. Yes, there were problems with the A/C fan coil units, a leaking valve and in general, punchlist items throughout. And yes, we ended up moving to another hotel eventually for the last four nights. BUT, this review is intended to compliment as highly as possible the absolutely magnificent staff running this hotel. From the general manager, Mr. Kling, who is truly a gentleman, through the head of facilities Mr. Gonzalez, maintenance staff and most certainly the housekeeping crew - Ms. Karen Hernandez and her team all worked above and beyond to make an impossible task thrown at them (construction was not complete) work out as well as possible for us. Our family felt respected, and treated with care. Their accommodating solutions for our remaining vacation more than made up for the lost days, missing amenities and inconveniences. The facility is gorgeous, the finishes are exceptional, but the turn over process was incomplete and unfair to management. I was happy to meet with the general contractor, walk through a few unoccupied rooms and assist pointing out some simple items that needed attention. Congratulations Messier Kling, we can't wait to come back and thank you very much for your kindness.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodrigo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Rodrigo P, we would like to express our gratitude for the objective and honest feedback you have extended as a result of your visit to the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside. We are glad to see that despite the shortcomings we experienced in the early days after our opening, you were able to spot the potential our hotel has and the extraordinary service our staff members are capable of. Thank you for the kind words you have shared of Mr. Kling, Mr. Gonzalez, Ms. Karen Hernandez, and that of our entire team as a whole on their efforts to go above and beyond in their helpfulness and above and beyond attitude and in the their strive to deliver the best possible experience to guests given the circumstances under which we operated at the time. We are very much happy knowing that you will return to property in the future. We cannot wait to welcome you back once again, when all the finishing work will be done and you will be able to enjoy a complete and fulfilling experience on your vacation onsite of the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside. Thank you once again for your wonderful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

The hotel has a beautiful beach and interior design and some very nice staff, thanks Kal!

Unfortunately there are so many more negatives then positives. First of all they are completely understaffed. Good luck trying to get through to the front desk or concierge. My average wait time has been over 15 minutes.

When my husband called prior to our stay the hotel assured us that everything was open and running. When we got here they told us the spa was still under construction and offered us a 25% discount upon check in.

When we got to our room which is very nice but has a tiny closet space we realized we had a shared balcony which had not been advertised, so no privacy at all. We also had a coffee machine in the room but no water. After 10 there is no way to get water unless you go out and buy it. For a four star hotel this is unacceptable.

The gym has a beautiful view but there are some machines that aren't working and no water bottles, only water fountains that are covered with dust from construction. The one tv also turns on and off constantly. The bathrooms on that floor are under construction.

I had to call 3 times and wait over 40 minutes to receive extra hangers and towels. They only clean your room during the day and during turn down service don't replace your towels. They also didn't vacuum our room.

The bar on the rooftop is very nice unfortunately most bartenders at this hotel don't know how to make many drinks.

The restaurant has a beautiful location and the food is ok but they don't have brown sugar or iced tea and served us day old croissants.

Lastly the hotel mistakenly charged everyone in our group over 1,000 yesterday. That was fun to deal with on vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 86NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear 86NS, we appreciate you expressing your concern with your recent visit to property. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for failing to meet your expectations in the duration of your stay with us. We do understand your frustration with the issues you experienced in aspects of the hotel, which should be a given based on the star rating of our property. We assure you that we are continuously working on the improvement of our overall operation. The Spa center onsite is schedule to open in March. Balcony dividers will also be placed in the near future. Our construction team is working hard to finalize all details as promptly as possible and with the least possible inconvenience for current guests of the hotel. You may rest assured that if you decide to give our hotel another try in the future, you would not be experiencing any of the technical issues you did on your recent visit. We are committed to the continuous improvement of the service quality at the hotel as well; in this sense, we find your feedback very helpful. As a result, we will address your comments regarding the efficiency of housekeeping. We will also inspect the working condition of the machines in the fitness center. We would like to once again offer our apology for the disappointing experiences you had onsite with us. We sincerely hope you would be willing to give our property another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside
4.1 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel
Grand Beach Hotel
#58 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,944 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside West
4.9 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
0.2 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Hotel Surfside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel Surfside

Property: Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
Address: 9449 Collins Avenue, Surfside, FL 33154-2610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Surfside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Surfside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Beach Hotel Surfside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel Surfside where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel Surfside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing