We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get their act together”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Surfside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a beautiful building in a great location, but when we visited, the management and staff acted like they had been open 4 days, not 4 months. Housekeeping would promise you anything, but rarely delivered. Management would not honor the confirmed reservation and rate (through Travelocity) of companions who selected the hotel as the base for their wedding. Balcony partitions were not in place (4 months after opening). One of the televisions in my room had never been hooked up and we needed to call for a coffee pot. We asked for our room to be made up at 10:00 and were assured it would be, only to have them show up to do it at 3:30 when we were entertaining. It seems clear that both the management and staff were not properly trained for the high end hotel industry. Just about everyone should be replaced and perhaps it would be a good venue. Things may have improved since March 1, but I doubt it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JimP32778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear JimP32778, thank you for taking the time to express your concerns and share your honest feedback from your stay with us at the beginning of March this year. We would like to start off by apologizing for all inconveniences you were caused in the duration of your stay. At the Grand Beach Hotel Susrfside, we are committed to the provision of excellent customer service and high standard amenities. In this sense, we would like to extend our apology if the services and amenities delivered to you were anything less than that. We can advise you with certainty that the hotel has seen quite the progress since your visit at the beginning of March. It is our pleasure to inform you that all balcony dividers have been successfully installed. Furthermore, as we are getting closer to the completion of all construction work at the hotel, more and more of our time and efforts are focused on the continuous training of staff and the elimination of guest concerns, which have been expressed at one point or another in the form of reviews. It is our genuine hope that you will be willing to give our property another chance in the future. We are sure in our capability of providing you with a pleasant, satisfactory, and memorable experience and would appreciate the opportunity to gain back your trust. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

694 - 700 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was very concerned by the other online reviews. You should not be. The property and service were wonderful. The location is perfect if you want to relax. If you want the action of South Beach, it is not a great location. We recently stayed for 5 nights. The rooms were large and perfectly accommodated our family of 5. The food and service were wonderful. You are directly on the beach with access to a wonderful exercise trail which we used for both running and biking. (You can rent bikes at the Publix which is one block away!) This was very convenient to get beverages, snacks,etc that we wanted for in the room. You are just blocks away from wonderful shopping and restaurants. The pool area and beach were exactly what we hoped for. We did not hear one bit of construction noise during our stay. The only negative I would have is that the property is still not finished. Their online profile is misleading. It says there is shopping and a spa on site. This is not true. Other reviewers said they were offered wine/fruit and discounts because of this. I was not even offered an apology. For over $600 a night, I expected the property to be in tact. I think there should be some accommodation for the lack of completeness. There were door handles missing from public restrooms, etc. However, overall it was fabulous. I would definitely recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: Double room suites are perfect for families with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrackMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear TrackMomof3, we are glad you took the time to review our property as a result of your recent stay with us. We would like to thank you for the kind and detailed outline of your experience with us, as it will be helpful for other travelers considering staying with us. We are really pleased that we could make your time with us as relaxing as possible and we could offer the comfort you and your family deserve. Thank you for pointing out the variety of activities and shopping guests of the hotel may enjoy in the area immediately surrounding the hotel. As we have mentioned before and you have affirmed to in your review, the main construction of the Annex building across the street is in its final phase, thus construction noise should be less and less of a bother in the future. We apologize, if you felt mislead in any way after reviewing our website. In order to avoid this, besides listing the full list of amenities guests may enjoy at the hotel, we have included the date or month, when the unfinished amenities are scheduled to open. It is our hope that you would accept our apologies and that you will visit us again in the future, when you will be able to enjoy all facilities the hotel has planned to offer guests. We sincerely appreciate the recommendation you are willing to extend to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is the best holiday in years !, thanks to the hotel !.
Incredible accommodation, friendly and helpful staff.
The hotel is in a very nice and quiet neighborhood: Surfside.
Beautiful, spacious rooms. We had an oceanfront room with a breathtaking view .
Breakfast, restaurant and snacks were super tasty.
This was our first trip to the U.S., we will be back!
This is definitely one of the nicest and best hotels we've seen in years !

Room Tip: De OceanFront kamers zijn een aanrader, adembenemd zicht !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Didier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Didier S, we are glad you took the time to review our property as a result of your recent stay with us. We are happy your visit has been satisfying and you have enjoyed our facilities. We look forward to your next visit to our property and appreciate your business and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Reading the mixed reviews about the hotel we were cautious about our stay.

Thankfully we enjoyed our time, but there are a few things to be aware of.

Firstly we found the rooms a good size, the location worked for us as we had two children. It backs right onto the beach and you have the path towards heading downtown or to Bal Harbour. We found all the staff there extremely polite and helpful. We had breakfast and lunch and really enjoyed both. Pools and hot tubs are great and make sure you have a drink on the roof deck, the views are incredible.

Now the thing sot be aware of....

For some reason the aircon units are stored inside one of the cupboards in the room, they are noisy and one of ours was not locked meaning there was exposure to electrical cabling. There is a building site across the road so noise is pretty constant from 8am until 4pm and can be heard at the pool. The last point is the carpet in each of the halls, the reception area is so lovely that you get a real Wow feeling as you enter, coming out of the lifts to dirty carpets totally undermines it, part of our floor had been re-carpeted which looked great. I can't understand why the rest hasn't been done, the impact would be huge. As mentioned the SPA is also not ready.

I would without doubt recommend the hotel as I have no doubt it will end up being fantastic, just a shame it isn't quiet there yet.

Room Tip: If you can, go for an Ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turkeymil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Turkeymil, thank you for taking the time to share both your good and not so good impressions of the hotel. While we are glad to see you have spent an overall joyful and satisfactory visit to property, we would like to take the time and address the concerns you have expressed in your review. We are happy to advise you that the hallway carpeting will be entirely replaced once all of the onsite construction is finalized. The main construction at the Annex building located across the street is soon to be finished, which will also eliminate the noise issue you experienced while at the pool. The onsite Wellness Center is also in its final phase of being done and is expected to open in the coming months, so guests of the hotel will soon be able to enjoy its services. We appreciate your feedback regarding the air-conditioning units and going forward we will ensure that all units are locked, so they cannot be accessed by guests. It is our hope that you will consider staying with us again and will be willing to give us a second chance, as many of the issues you experienced are temporary and will be eliminated in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I were lucky to stay here for 4 nights over Passover. My in-laws live in a condo 2 doors down but did not have enough bedrooms for the entire family so they booked us a room at the Grand Beach. We felt spoiled! Every staff member we passed greeted us with warm smiles. The staff truly goes out of its way for their guests. The rooms were so spacious and having 2 bathrooms felt over the top, but in a good way. Since it was Passover, we needed to bring our own food. My mother-in-law called in advance to have the fridge cleaned out, which it was when we arrived. The fridges are also huge compared to other hotels so we were able to fit everything we needed in it. Even though we faced the city, we had a corner room with a wrap-around balcony that had a dining table and also a circular lounge to relax on. The city at night is really beautiful! There were a lot of clouds and rain during our trip but the one sunny day we had we spent by the rooftop pool. The rooftop area is stunning! The ambiance is nice as well since the rooftop is open to adults only. My husband had some work to do that day so the fact that he had wifi capabilities up there was huge plus as well. Even though we had some clouds, my husband and I didn't just want to stay in our room all day. We ventured up to the rooftop area just as the sun was setting. Even though it was a little windy, the glass panes keep out the wind - GENIUS! No one was up there so we had the whole roof to ourselves! The only thing we noticed, which did not affect our stay at all, is that the carpet in the hallways need some sprucing up. Other than that, we hope we're lucky enough to stay at the Grand Beach again soon. We couldn't have asked for a better experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMB516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear AMB516, thank you for your delightful review of your stay with us. We could not be happier to read of your satisfaction with the amenities and comforts offered at the hotel. What we are even more excited about, however, is the wonderful staff service attitude you have encountered with all staff members at the hotel in the duration of your stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed the city view from your balcony, especially at night, and that the two full bathrooms added comfort and a luxurious feel during your time with us. Thank you for joining us at the Rooftop Pool area and the Sky Bar; we are absolutely thrilled by the excellent feedback you have shared regarding this area of the hotel. It would be our pleasure to welcome you onsite again. We hope to have this opportunity soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Spent three nights here at the end of March and was a bit unsure after reading some damning reports but had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. All members of staff we spoke to were extremely courteous and friendly. There were a couple of issues with our room which were rectified within 30 minutes of being reported. The room itself was extremely spacious and well equipped with one exception which was although there were two wardrobes and plenty of hangers there were no cupboards or bedside tables in which to put socks, undies, swimwear, T-shirts etc. We had to put all these items on the sofa which was OK to a certain extent as we only used the room for sleeping and we were only there three nights but it was a massive oversight by whoever designed the room! The hotel itself is quite impressive and the rooftop pool and bar are stunning, especially at night as you can see the whole of Miami lit up which is spectacular. I would definitely stay at his hotel again should we come back to the area. Breakfast is reasonable and although the hotel dinner menu is quite restricted and a little expensive there are numerous bars and restaurants on Harding Avenue which runs parallel to Collins Avenue and on which are located a Publix, CVS and Big Daddy's liquor store where you can pick up everything you might need as there is a fridge in the room.

Room Tip: Ask about cupboards if you are staying for any length of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Robert G, thank you for taking time out of your day to give us your opinion on your most recent stay here at the Grand Beach Hotel. We could not be happier to learn that our hotel amenities, services, and staff service attitude managed to disprove some of the negative reviews you had seen on TripAdvisor prior to your travel. We are delighted that you feel that the amenities and comforts offered are exceptional, that the beds are comfortable and room well-appointed and that you felt that we supplied everything that is expected from a hotel of our class. We would like to take the time and apologize for the inconvenience you were caused by the lack of cupboards. We have forwarded your feedback to management for review and consideration. Thank you for commenting so positively on the views, which open up from the room and public spaces at the hotel. We are also very happy to learn of your satisfaction with our location, which is not only beachfront, but in very close, walking proximity to variety of dining and shopping options. Thank you once more for the delightful review. We are thrilled by your intent to visit us again next time you travel to the area. We are looking forward to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were married on a Saturday night and arrived The Grand Beach Hotel on a Monday morning. The property itself is beautiful and glamorous. When we arrived at the front desk, all the staff was so kind and friendly, especially Sylvia who took great care of us.

The bellman, Mario, assisted us with our bags to the room. He was full of fun, helpful information and energy. The room was very nice, clean and surprisingly large and the bathrooms (yes, there were two) were very luxurious. Upon Mario's recommendation, we went to have lunch in the restaurant, which has wonderful food and amazing outdoor seating with a view of the pool and beach area.

During our lunch, we saw a very elegant lady interacting with all of the guests, who then came to talk with us. Her attention to the guests and details was amazing. While we were talking with her, we learned that she is the restaurant's manager, Fahima, who is from France. So professional and nice. Throughout our stay, we observed her wonderful touch. When she found out that we just checked into the hotel arrived and it was our honeymoon, she offered us a complimentary drink and dessert.

At the end of our lunch, Mario the bellman stopped by to tell us that Ianis, the front desk manager, wanted to help us celebrate our honeymoon and offered us an upgrade ocean view suite that was just spectacular. Ianis made such a huge positive impact on our unforgettable time in Miami.

We used sought the recommendations from the concierge, Miguel, who was lovely and very knowledgeable of the area.

Of course every guest will have their own experience at any hotel, but thanks to the management and staff at The Grand Beach Hotel in Surfside, we had an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Jessica P, thank you very much for deciding to take the time and share your delightful review of your recent stay with us with the TripAdvisor community. It is always a pleasure when travelers trust us as their accommodation, but we are straight forward flattered to learn you have chosen us for the celebration of a special occasion, such as your honeymoon. It means so much to us that you enjoyed your stay onsite and that we exceeded your expectations. We are absolutely delighted that our great team looked after all your needs and that they contributed positively to your experience onsite with their can-do service attitude. We have passed your kind words to everyone. It has been our pleasure to serve you during your time in Miami. Once again thank you so much for your review of Grand Beach Hotel Surfside. The Team looks forward to welcoming you back onsite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside
0 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside West
4.1 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel
Grand Beach Hotel
#65 of 212 in Miami Beach
5,469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
2.8 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Hotel Surfside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel Surfside

Address: 9449 Collins Avenue, Surfside, FL 33154-2610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Surfside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Surfside
Price Range: £177 - £669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Beach Hotel Surfside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel Surfside where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel Surfside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing