We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Surfside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Surfside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Gem in Surfside”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wow! What a fantastic hotel! We stayed for 3 nights (not long enough) and from the moment we were greeted to the moment we checked out - the experience was nothing less than positive.
The hotel lobby is just beautiful and the décor of the rooms are also magnificent.
Breakfast was enjoyed in the restaurant and we were taken care of by all very friendly and helpful staff. It was also great to find good coffee in the restaurant .
Our children enjoyed the views of the beach from the room and the proximity to shopping was fantastic as we have small children , being close was even better.
A huge congratulations to the Management and Staff of the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, I will be recommending this to all my clients and any family or friends who are planning to come to Miami.

Room Tip: If you can arrange to confirm at One Bedroom Apartment on the front of the hotel, the views are magi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvhotelss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear luvhotelss, it means so much to us that you trusted the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside for your family trip to Miami Beach and that we managed to exceed your expectations. We are absolutely delighted with the kind words you have had to share in your review. It is pleasing to read that you felt the amenities and comforts we offer are exceptional, that the beds are comfortable and room well-appointed and that you felt that we supplied everything that is expected from a hotel of our class. We are glad that our beachfront location and the hotel proximity to shopping and dining have suited your family’s needs and have proved convenient during your time with us. We would like to express our sincere gratitude for the recommendation you have and are willing to extend to other travelers of our property. We cannot wait to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    385
    111
    52
    80
See reviews for
627
490
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Not only is the hotel beautiful but the service is more than excellent ! Every single employee that we encountered ( from the front desk to the maids ) aimed to please and went the extra mile to help and accommodate us ,

As native "Miamians" my husband and I would like to give some constructive criticism, Miami's weather patterns are unpredictable and for most part of the Summer it rains on and off in 20 minutes, We suggest that a covered terrace should be added so the guests can continue enjoying their stay while the rain stops.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Susy M, let us start off by thanking you for giving Grand Beach Hotel Surfside the top traveler rating possible. It is an absolute pleasure to learn of the excellent experience you spent on property with us. We are very excited to learn of the wonderful treatment and service you received from our hotel staff. It is rewarding to learn everyone has been helpful and efficient when assist you during your time with us. We sincerely appreciate the input and suggestion for improvement you have extended. We have notified management of your recommendation for consideration. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back if you decide staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at this beautiful place and will definately come back. Nothing bad at all. Kids loved it and service at top.
Outstanding service by Kirenia at roof top pool :) always with big smile. First class.
We cant wait to get back and big thanks to everyone in staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Niclas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Niclas A, thank you for your kind words and for giving the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside the top traveler rating. We are pleased that we could make your time with us as relaxing as possible and we could offer the comfort you deserve. We appreciate the lovely remarks you have made about Kirenia; she is indeed a great asset to our team and we are glad to hear her service attitude made your stay onsite more pleasant. We would like to thank you for extending such great recommendation of our hotel to other travelers. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel overall was good but the noise of the air conditioning in the balcony kills the enjoyment of the ocean view... Not only that, you can here everything from the other rooms, no privacy. Good for families rather than couples. Very clean and modern. Nothing included, you will have to pay extra for beach chairs.. Towels on the pool controlled, only two per room!?

Room Tip: Get the cheapest room and then they would send you an offer to upgrade, for less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear J R, thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside with the Tripadvisor community. We are glad to see you have found our property as modern and that the level of cleanliness met your expectations. While we do offer many free amenities onsite, there are some services we offer at an additional charge that is paid separately from the room rate. However, we do like to focus on the fact that our hotel, in contrast to many others in the area, does not charge a mandatory resort fee. In this sense, we allow our guests the freedom to choose the services they would like to use daily rather than enforcing fixed, daily fees. We hope that you will consider us as your accommodation on Miami Beach for your next family vacation as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadsund, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We loved the hotel and we would definitely come back. The staff was friendly and very talkative. Especially the bartender at the Sky Bar was amazing. Everything was neat and clean. The rooms were nice and modern. Overall the hotel was AMAZING !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Line M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Line M, it means so much to us that you enjoyed your stay onsite and that we managed to meet your expectations. We are delighted that our great team looked after all your needs and made you feel welcomed onsite. It is nice to read of your satisfaction with our spacious room accommodations, their in-room features, and overall ambience. Now that you have experienced and enjoyed what Grand Beach Hotel has to offer, we would like to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Let me first start by saying the good. The hotel was nice and the rooms were clean! I had never seen a room with two full bathrooms.

Now ... For the bad ... We came for the July 4th weekend 2015... When we got here the valet wouldn't take our car because they didn't have room. They were hosting a World Cup watching party in the lobby and instead of catering to the cars who actually booked at the hotel ... They wanted us to park outside on the street and worry about not getting towed. Later that night we decide to eat at the restaurant downstairs. First they didn't have enough menus and my family had to share. I don't understand how a restaurant doesn't have enough menus for the number of people they can fit in the hotel. It was over an hour later and we still did not have our food. We asked for the food to be sent up so we can watch the fireworks. An hour and a half later the food came and it was cold, orders were wrong and missing.

When we wanted to leave, it took over 20 minutes to get my car. The person "helping" us kept giving some dumb story about where the car was parked but he had no problem getting other cars in front of us.

Service needs to get better if this hotel is going to prosper. It's a really nice hotel but the service is going to ruin it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Jessica M, thank you for your review and we apologize for the experience you had while our guest. While we are glad you found the general ambience of the hotel and room accommodations to your liking, we are sorry to read of your experience with valet parking on your day of arrival. We did experience high levels of incoming traffic on 4th of July due to both the holiday and the World Cup. This issue was however only momentary and was resolved the very next day. We would like to apologize for all the inconvenience this situation must have caused you. We greatly appreciate you sharing your experience at the restaurant with us. We have notified our food and beverage department of your comments, so they may follow up and take actions towards improvement. We do strive to provide the best service possible; in this sense, we take our guests’ feedback seriously as it helps grow and reach new levels of quality service. We would like to encourage you to give our hotel another chance in the future, so we may prove our capability of delivering a memorable and joyful guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hialeah Gardens, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Well over a month ago I booked a trip for my family and I to stay at Grand Beach Surfside for July 4th weekend. Let's begin with, the hotel was under construction which is extremely unappealing. The hotel entrance was covered by plywood and the door person was too busy inside having a conversation with other employees to help assist opening the door but the construction is something we can all oversee. What disgusted with me the hotel was how UNPROFESSIONAL the staff was. The weekend I booked the hotel was the same weekend one of the World Cup soccer games were taking place so the hotel opened its door for the public to watch the game so valet decided to take everyone's car instead of prioritizing staying guest with just by standers. I was personally informed by a manager (who I sadly didn't catch her name) that I had to park my car down the block in a public parking area because valet was full (2 things we terribly wrong with this situation 1- I paid above $500.00 for this hotel, I was not going to ruin my vacation to be constantly checking if my car was still in the public area because that's not what I paid for & 2- the hotel was not responsible for my car if it towed). With the lack of prioritizing that Grand Beach Surfside I was forced to cancel my reservation and return home. It's ridiculous how 1 huge flaw ruined my vacation with my family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslava_Petrov, Social Media Representative at Grand Beach Hotel Surfside, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Marianela R, we appreciate you taking the time to express your concerns with your recent stay on property. It is to our regret to learn of your disappointment and the shortcomings you experienced in the duration of your visit. We would like to offer our apologies for the construction you witnessed at the hotel entrance; however, we are glad to be able to advise you that it is scheduled to be finalized in the very near future; thus it should not be causing an inconvenience for you on an eventual future stay. We would like to thank you for sharing with us the issue you came across at our valet parking, as this allows us to identify problematic areas of the hotel and thus be able to focus efforts and resources to improve upon those going forward. It is true that on the 4th of July Friday we received high levels of incoming traffic to the hotel, as a result of which we were not able to accommodate all the incoming vehicles. We understand your frustration, which resulted from the inconvenience you were caused. We would like to offer our sincere apologies and would also like to advise you that this issue was temporary and was resolved the very next day. It is distressing for us to know this has become a reason for negative emotions in the duration of your vacation. It is our hope that you would be willing to give us another chance to make your opinion of our property more favorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside
4.1 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel
Grand Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
5,099 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside West
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Hotel Surfside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel Surfside

Property: Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
Address: 9449 Collins Avenue, Surfside, FL 33154-2610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Surfside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Surfside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Beach Hotel Surfside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel Surfside where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel Surfside features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel Surfside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing