We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Chicken”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #96 of 820 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Sonnys on Timberlane is the Worst ! Their chicken was at least a day old, dry, threw it away! Either they need the money so bad that they serve bad food or they don't care!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Thbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Sonny's BBQ
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We ordered their 4 meat combo + 2 sides for only $13.49, an excellent value! The brisket is among the best we ever have. The pull pork was very good too but the rib was not quite falls off the bone as advertised although it still tasted good. The chicken seemed a bit dry on the surface, but after the (dry) skin was picked out, the meat underneath was juicy, tender and tasty. Their BBQ beans side is also very good. The interior of this restaurant is no frill but spacious with amply of parking at the front. It offers a fulfilling meal with good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MojaveMaxNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

MojaveMaxNewYork, thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed our BBQ! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband & I both had $6.99 barbecue plates. His included a drink, sandwich & fries. Mine was bread, meat & 2 sides. Then came the shocker: a 25% discount for seniors. Our bill was $11.43. The choice of barbecue sauces is excellent, their barbecue is fab, & their mac 'n' cheese is the best I've ever tasted.

Thank Judy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Judy19, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our BBQ. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Please don't eat at Sonny's BBQ I worked there if you seen the food they way they prepared it it will make you sick to your stomach. I have seen the workers drop food in the kitchen and picked it backed up and used it. that is uncalled for. The kitchen is so nasty its FILTHY. And i called the Health Department and they told me there was nothing they could do about it. Nothing they could do about it that's wrong. And the BBQ it self is not even good. And when i quit because the management is so DISRESPECTFUL to the employee's they told me i will not receive my paycheck and that there was nothing i could do about it. And they are right they don't have to pay you if you quit or get fired. So i have never receive my paycheck and never will. I don't know who they payoff to get away with it but they can do whatever they want to do. So i need to let everyone know please don't work there cause they will screw you on your pay and don't eat there cause they drop food on the floor and use it. That is nasty. So if you eat there and you get sick remember i have WARN you. So eat and work there at your own risk.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Jim W, thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We do not agree with the behaviors you have mentioned and agree that it is not ok. Please email us ASAP with this information, including the location, so that we can bring it to the attention of our corporate staff. We would appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I love Sonny's BBQ and expected the usual great food that I have had at other locations. This was awful. I was in a hurry to get back on the road, otherwise I would have sent this meal back. My pulled pork sandwich was a (literal) scoop of mush meat, like frozen grocery store BBQ, that nowhere covered the bun. The cinnamon butter for my baked sweet potato had been merely waved over the cinnamon bottle and the potato was tiny. I had to request my drink to go, which is not a big thing, but in every other Sonny's I have been to the waitress practically insists that I take a drink to go. Otherwise the service was okay. I am sorry to give any restaurant a bad review but avoid this one. It just doesn't live up to the Sonny's reputation.

Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Anne J, thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent experience with us. Please send us an email at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with further details about your visit, including the location, so that we can address the issues you had encountered. We would greatly appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing