We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet and Smokey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #131 of 796 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Sweet and Smokey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I had the sweet and Smokey pork ribs, slaw and bar-b-q beans. The food was fresh and arrived just a few short minutes after I placed my order. The ribs and beans were served hot and slaw was very cool. Each tasted great. I drank diet-coke which was served in a very large cup. The soda mix was very good and the server kept the cup full.
Service was excellent. Upon entering the restaurant I was warmly greeted and taken to a comfortable booth. My server was very attentive but not smarmy. My only gripe is that the stereo system was too loud and sounded like an old fashion phonograph - just noise really. I suggest a upgrade of the system and maybe turn the volume down a bit.
Sonny's is a Southeastern chain, I've never have a bad dining experience at any of their locations. I can say that the food has varied from location to location but that variance was serving size and food temperature when brought to the table. Quality has always been very good.
I'll eat here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TroyGuy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    63
    27
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a party of 30 descend on them with very little notice. They sat us in a reasonable amount of time and took care of our group wonderfully. Our beverages were kept full, the food came out hot and the bills were correct in the end. Great experience!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tamarick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
582 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Tasty meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stopped in for lunch and had a very good meal. We had a combination plate to sample different things and they were all good. We tried all the sauces and really liked them. I think this is a good place to go for BBQ and the price won't kill you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Chicken”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Sonnys on Timberlane is the Worst ! Their chicken was at least a day old, dry, threw it away! Either they need the money so bad that they serve bad food or they don't care!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent brisket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We ordered their 4 meat combo + 2 sides for only $13.49, an excellent value! The brisket is among the best we ever have. The pull pork was very good too but the rib was not quite falls off the bone as advertised although it still tasted good. The chicken seemed a bit dry on the surface, but after the (dry) skin was picked out, the meat underneath was juicy, tender and tasty. Their BBQ beans side is also very good. The interior of this restaurant is no frill but spacious with amply of parking at the front. It offers a fulfilling meal with good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MojaveMaxNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
MojaveMaxNewYork, thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed our BBQ! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing