We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun hotel, watch out for road noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Atlanta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“fun hotel, watch out for road noise”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed at the Aloft for two days. I've been driving through Tallahassee for years, and decided to stay a couple days after a beach trip. The hotel was clean and has a unique look to it which I liked. Everything was as advertised on their site, so I have no complaints with the hotel or staff. The only problem I encountered was the road noise. Aloft has a great location which makes it easy to walk anywhere in downtown Tallahassee. Unfortunately, this great location on the main drag through town gets rather noisy on a Saturday night. When the bars let out at 2:00 am, people start cruising with their horns and subwoofers, which makes it hard to get back to sleep. I think there was some road construction going on nearby as well, which may have been the beeping noises I heard. Again, not the hotel's fault, but be sure to request a room that does not face Monroe St.

Everything else was great. The hotel is very dog friendly. They even have a dedicated dog walking area out back with a baggie dispenser. The hotel has also has a nice pool with Bali beds. The desk has really nice box with a lot of connectors on it where you can presumably hook your laptop up to view on the television.

In summation, I was pleased with the hotel, and it provided a great base to walk around downtown and take a trip to Wakulla Springs. Aloft is especially handy as a touring base since you can leave your dog in the room.

Room Tip: get a room facing away from Monroe Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swegert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at Aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Swegert,

ARF ARF, dog friendly yes! We do love your pets. Please come back soon and we will keep you on the noise freindly side.

At your service,

Patsy M. Pagán
General Manager
Aloft Hotel Downtown Tallahassee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    214
    86
    45
    22
See reviews for
185
107
34
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Used aloft for wedding block for our wedding and they were awful. The customer service was terrible. We couldn't get a call back, and when we did they were rude. The hotel was nice enough but not as great as some of the other aloft properties. We won't be back to this one.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jacketup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at Aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Jacketup,

I am very sorry about your experience with us. When was your wedding block? We did not have one during this time period. I hope to reach you to understand what happen. Please feel free to reach me at any time.

Our apologizes,

Patsy Pagan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Aloft on our trip to FSU. It is located downtown and right next to the campus for easy access. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Tallahassee.
The hotel theme is modern, colorful and ergonomic. The rooms are large and clean.

Some things we enjoyed:
The dog water and treat bowls at the main entry.
The pool table in the lobby.
The LED lights in the elevators.
The wash bowl sinks in the rooms.
The huge wall mount flat screen HDTV.
The complimentary water bottles in the room.
The open nightclub atmosphere of the main floor and lobby.

Some things we didn't enjoy:
The $5 parking fee.
The breakfast was not complimentary. (coffee/tea is free)
The road construction noise throughout the night.
There is no quiet place just to sit and relax.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here because it was refreshingly different than any place we have ever stayed. Exploring the hotel was fun to find new and interesting ideas at work.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at Aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for the GREAT comments about your stay with us! We look forward to your return to our lovely city of Tallahassee.

At your service,


Patsy Pagan
General Manager
Aloft Hotel Tallahassee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We were stopping for the night on our way to south Florida, and we made reservations by phone while we were a couple of hours away (through one of the travel websites). I had see the outside of an aloft Hotel that had recently been built in my hometown, and it looked like a fun place to try. No problem when we got there late in the evening. The place was fun, and the lobby and bar on the ground floor looked to be a popular place on a Friday evening. Liked the concrete reception desk. The room was spacious and modern.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We come to Tallahasse 4 times a year and we try to pick a different hotel each time. After 20 or so hotels, we stayed at ALoft. In Tallahasse, if you stay out of football season, the legislative session and student related activities, you can find rooms to be a bargain. We stayed at ALoft for $87 a night. For what we got, it was a bargain. Our room was spotless, the bed was excellent and the bathroom was ultra modern. The staff was very helpful although it is a limited service staff.

On the downside, they charge ala carte prices on their continental breakfast. Fortunately, there are a dozen restaurants within a five minute drive of the hotel. We would definitely stay at this hotel again, just not when they get top dollar for their rooms.

Room Tip: No ice machine, but you get ice at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blastedminute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This is probably more of a business hotel than for tourists and consequently over the weekend when we stayed they were very short staffed and the room was not made up. We did request that it was done as we wanted to return in the afternoon for a rest but the cleaner explained that her shift was over. Similarly the front desk was being run by students, one of whom showed no interest in helping guests and just wanted to get on with her essay!
Although supposedly a boutique hotel the building is unattractive and fairly utilitarian.
However, the room was good,high spec and all the necessary equipment, fridge, hairdryer, lovely shower, fluffy towels. Also pool was a good size .Hotel well situated for the city but on a Sunday night we could not find an open restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExeterHilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftTallyStar, General Manager at Aloft Tallahassee Downtown, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about they trendy style of the hotel. We do apologize for the issue you experienced with us and hope you give us another try. If you would like to reach me, please feel free to send me an email, patsy.pagan@alofthotels.com, I would be happy to speak with you further.

At your service,

Patsy Pagan
General Manager
Aloft Hotel Downtown Tally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at the aloft in June and in May while visiting FAMU. We chose the hotel because we could use Starwoods Points to pay for our stay. The hotel is pretty new, it's clean, and it's centrally located. aloft's are not what I would call luxurious, but the hotel serves the purpose and will be our first choice when we come to Tallahassee.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
0.1 mi away
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
0.2 mi away
Governors Inn
Governors Inn
#29 of 58 in Tallahassee
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Tallahassee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tallahassee Downtown

Property: Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Address: 200 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32301-7636
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tallahassee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Tallahassee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown Hotel Tallahassee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing