We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Wait to Return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, FL
1 review
“Can't Wait to Return”
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Great Room! Convienent to FSU. Never slept better!. The lights were an issue as far as knowing which one turned on the bathroom light or "enlighten" everyone sleeping. All in all we still talk about how we will be back again! A double birthday weekend and a "first" visit to our first year FSU son! Can't wait to revisit Aloft! But, can someone be our driver from Naples!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babs1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    212
    85
    44
    21
See reviews for
183
101
34
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We were very excited about being able to book a room at one of Tallahassee's newest, trendiest properties. We were impressed that Aloft was one of the W hotel brands, a name, we thought, was synonymous with quality and excellence. We were wrong.

First, the positives:

~The hotel is conveniently located right in the heart of Tallahassee
~Parking was a breeze
~The lobby is gorgeous
~The staff were friendly and professional
~Check-in was quick and easy

Now the negatives:

~Our room was not imacculately clean...fingerprints could be seen on the desk top and the door handles. There was thick dust layering the top of the black coffee pot and black light switches by the bed. The glass shower doors were not crystal clear, as there was streaking as well as hard water deposits
~The king bed had just two pillows (and on one, the pillow case was put on INSIDE OUT, leaving a scratchy seam exposed)
~The matress was incredibly hard
~Our room faced a beautiful church and Monroe street. By the time the blaring horns, traffic, sirens, and delivery truck noise died down (around 4 am...it was Saturday in a college town and we undersand that), we had a few hours of peace before the bells from the beautiful church directly across the street began to chime

Design flaws:

~The commode and shower are enclosed by a sliding door that does not lock. To get dressed after showering, one must stay in that space and the only place to hang your clothes is on a hook directly next to the commode
~One must reach way into the shower to turn it on, getting a blast of cold water prior to showering
~There is no dresser and the "closet" is not long enough to accomodate slacks

I think we were just really disappointed because our expectations were so high, but this is just an average hotel playing dress up.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Babs0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Being my first stay in an Aloft, I really like the concept, and had a great stay here in Tallahassee. My rate was pretty decent, the service was great, room was clean, and the gym at this location was excellent. The little touches such as the huge plasma screen in the room, technology in the room, and technology in the gym were cool. I wish that parking was free, instead of $5, and that there were more options for breakfast in the downstairs cafeteria style area, but all in all, I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We came for Parent's Weekend with our college age and kindergarten kids. The hotel is decorated in a contemporary flair. The shower was amazing as was the shower containers. The only problem I had was that there was no door into the vanity area nor was there a lock on the bathroom door. I have two boys so I felt like it was a little hard to have privacy. Not only that but it was very hard to figure out the lights. One morning I woke everyone up by turning on the wrong switch into the bedroom. Finally, very few channels to choose from on the TV. Oh and one more thing, they have this really cool box where you can hook up an play movies from your laptops etc., but they provided no cords. I found that odd.

Also, please know that you will be charged $5.00 to park your car per day and there is not a complimentary breakfast.

Other than that, we had a nice stay.

Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We traveled with a group of friends to an FSU game. This was the perfect hotel. We absolutely LOVED all the fun things to do in the lobby - we actually spent more time hanging out in the lobby than in our room. The lobby served as the perfect meeting place several times a day.
The staff was great, and the rooms were very nice and modern.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank misshyde30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2009

My girlfriend and I went up to Tallahassee for an FSU game and stayed at Aloft. When you walk in, you'll immediately see that it is not your typical hotel. The lobby was very modern and trendy. It had a nice bar area and a lot of neat little things to do like chess, cards etc. The room was very nice and cozy. It did not feel like a hotel room at all. We weren't at the hotel too much because it was a quick trip but the service seemed good. We went to the lobby bar for a bit and the manager saw we were waiting for a drink and he came right over and personally assisted us. Overall it was a really nice stay and I'd definitely stay there everytime we go up. One more thing, the location is great and the price is a bargain.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bdiddy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel about 2 weeks after it opened...we were a little worried that there would be some kinks. We had a great stay and superb service. Rooms were beautiful and clean. Great lobby with a hip lobby bar with great atmosphere!! We will never stay anywhere else in Tallahassee only Aloft!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericaumpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
0.1 mi away
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Tallahassee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tallahassee Downtown

Property: Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Address: 200 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32301-7636
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tallahassee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aloft Tallahassee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown Hotel Tallahassee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing