We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a high quality museum”

Museum of Florida History
Ranked #9 of 84 things to do in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn of Florida's rich history here.
Pine Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“a high quality museum”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

good, not exceptional, overview of Florida history -- well worth a stop when in the Capitol area -- good bookshop for Floridiana, and a convenient cafe with a too-early closing time (don't plan the coffee-break for the last minute of your visit)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerDR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    67
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Road to Florida 32nd Annual Quilt Show”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I traveled to Tallahassee this past week to tour the museum and the quilts. Covered parking is free with a token you ask for at the gift shop inside. Entrance is free as well. The display is on one level. The quilt show had several rooms of various sizes of handmade quilts. There are some very beautiful intricate quits, along with some simple and some that just make you smile. If you enjoy quilting or even just love fabric, it's worth a trip. Afterwards we walked through the rest of the museum. There is a great World War II display, transportation display, gold and silver salvaged from shipwrecks around Florida, Civil War memorbilia, history of the citrus industry, pioneer logging and shipping. You could see everything in this museum easily in two hours. One thing that surprised me was there wasn't anything from Florida's space program on display. Check your time when you go because they closed at 4:30 pm when we went.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hobiebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“for free - you got to go”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

They do a great job on telling the story of Florida from the beginning to the present. They also have a gallery that always has a new exhibit every couple of months. They have a nice gift shop and a great little café.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globeseeker007
Level 6 Contributor
1,096 reviews
633 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,143 helpful votes
“Fabulous museum in downtown Tallahassee”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This museum is located in an imposing building in the downtown area and there is no admission charge. One can spend several hours in this museum as there is so much to see. It starts off with the history of Florida in the period when mastodons roamed the earth. In fact, there's a skeleton of one of the huge creatures. Then it takes you through the period of Spanish exploration and on up through the Civil War and WWII to the present. There are several old cars and bicycles in the museum including a Model T Ford. If you like weapons, there are muskets, rifles, handguns, cannon, and a mortar. The place has antique furniture and appliances from the early 19 century. There are uniforms from both the Civil War and WWII as well as other artifacts from those conflicts. Florida's maritime history is covered along with the citrus industry. This fabulous museum has what I have mentioned and much more. It has something for everyone. There is even a cafe next to the museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were looking for something to do for a few hours and decided to go here. We were greeted by a volunteer who not only told us about the museum but also some of the other local attractions. The museum is well laid out in a time line from pre-historic times through WW II. The displays were very nice and there were some interactive exhibits. I think this museum would be enjoyable for children and it is small enough so that you don't get fatigued by hours and hours on your feet. This museum is paid for by the state and you can even get a token to pay for parking by asking at the gift ship so it is free! There is also a small café. We were glad that we went.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KurtSrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Florida History also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Museum of Florida History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing