We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camping at it's best”

Apalachicola National Forest
Ranked #16 of 83 things to do in Tallahassee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gorgeous forest full of trails.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Camping at it's best”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I tent camped at the Camel Lake Campground. There are only ten sites on this beautiful Florida lake. Showers and flush toilets are a nice ammenity. The sites are widely separated to offer privacy. There is no camp store so one needs to be self contained. There is an easy one mile nature trail around the lake, but also one may go exploring on nearby "two-tracks". Without question I will be going back for another experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beer Bottles & Trash Everywhere”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We are usually not that picky and will pick up some trash if we find it to make it doable but this was disgusting. We visited the National Forest looking for a good place to camp in the woods for a while. We had great success with Ocala NF near Orlando. We arrived in the afternoon with plenty of time to find a spot and searched for over four hours looking for a spot that did not have trash and did not find anywhere. We tried every single turn off that would allow our van off the road and every single one of them had tons of alcohol and trash leftovers. At night there was a caravan of 50 trucks with loud exhaust and radios that came through and we got creeped out and left. We were in the North East area of the national forest. We stopped at the Leon Sinks Geological Area to find some nice hosts. But unfortunately they only warned us of the "rainbow people" and that we should probably not camp in the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Taylor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent "secret" vistas. Invest in good maps”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We love the Apalachicola National Forest. the woods are well maintained through prescribed burns. USFS could do a better job providing visitor, historic & environmental information, either online or on site. The massive acreage results in many new places to discover. Invest in a good map. Gazateer or topos are a must

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank reviews-r-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Wild Flowers on State Highway 65”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Driving through the ANF between Hosford, Fl. and Eastpoint, Fl. in the spring provides excellent opportunities for viewing many wild flowers...some of which can only be found in the ANF. Also, good chance for seeing wild life such as deer, squirrel foxes, and bear.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimbo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice walks, interesting geology in the Leon Sinks Geological Area”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Big and small sinkholes, some colorful and filled with water, disappearing springs, and other geological features are highlighted here. They are well explained with NFS placards. We had a pleasant time exploring some of the five miles of trails in this limestone area. Plants in evidence here included palmetto palms, long leaf pine, tupelo gums in a swamp, highbush blueberries, and several wildflower species. Nonvascular plants (orange slime mold, and attractive shelf fungi) were also present. We also saw a fence lizard and the colorful male hooded warbler quite close to the ground. To reach this part of the national forest from Tallahassee take US 319 south about 7 miles and turn right at the sign for the Leon Sinks Geological Area. (Birdsong Nature Center is another great outdoor spot, four miles over the GA border and south of Thomasville, about a 30-40 min. drive north of Tallahassee on N. Meridian Rd./Rte. 155.)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank oldbrdrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apalachicola National Forest also viewed

 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Apalachicola National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing