We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good to go” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empire Chinese Restaurant

Empire Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #503 of 796 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Price range: US$7 - US$11
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Tallahassee, Fl
Level Contributor
181 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good to go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Two and a half stars would be best... I can't imagine anyone actually eating in this storefront restaurant as the bare tables and open kitchen are as uninviting as possible. But for take-out, the selection is large, the staff barely speaks English, leading you to believe the food may be authentic, and the service is fast and pleasant. I ordered an egg roll and moo goo gai pan, a safe bet most anywhere. I have to say I refrigerated the food and microwaved it a couple of hours later, not exactly ideal. The egg roll was okay but lacked crunch - no bean sprouts or water chestnuts that I could taste. The white rice was very sticky, no matter how much I tried to fluff it up. The veggies and chicken were good, the sauce was very unaggressive - needed lots of soy sauce and even salt - but the crunch was sorely missing. I like the water chestnuts and bamboo shoots you generally get, and they were missing. Carrots, celery and large zucchini chunks were the veggies. In a pinch, I would go there again, but it isn't on my go-to list.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodieintally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

If you have never had good Chinese food, then you may like this place. Otherwise keep looking. Everything was below average.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Valley, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Five stars???!? You must be joking...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

...or a relative. If there were no other Chinese restaurants in Tallahassee, I would return the next time I had a craving for Chinese, But of course there are many options in Tallahassee for Chinese and Asian, and I will try most or all of them before I return to Empire Chinese. The FOOD is AT BEST AVERAGE, maybe a notch below. The AMBIENCE (If one dares use that term for what is basically a storefront take out Chinese resto) is AT BEST two star, but TA doesn't allow for half-star ratings. Value for money?: I would give it one or 1 1/2 stars, given the value available at Tallahassee's many Asian buffet restos. My friend and I had to ask for napkins and for extra soy sauce. The chef kept talking at super loud volume to friends on his cell phone during our visit. Neither cups nor ice available for the sodas. My only explanation for how this place can remain in business, given many superior places within a mile or two, is its location and convenience for the takeout market.

Helpful?
Thank RogerDR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cheap and easy...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

...a little greasy. Family operated and right next to Publix Market, this basic Chinese style restaurant offers take out or dine in.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TimeTraveler041847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Good chinese restaurant here folks. I googled a good chinese place to go to in TLH and this place came up with its awesome ratings. I had the Genera's Tso's Chicken like i get at every chinese place i eat at, chicken lo mein, 2 egg rools and 2 spring rolls. Everything was delicious. Also, alot of the time when i eat chinese food i end up feeling disgusting, full, and heavy. I didnt get that feeling last night after finishing my meal so that is definitely another plus. It's not a restaurant. Empire is like a take out type chinese restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rosbergs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Empire Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Empire Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing