We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky Old-fashioned French”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A La Provence

A La Provence
Reserve with OpenTable
A La Provence is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 800 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: A La Provence offers Classic French Cuisine in an elegant, refined style. We specialize in Fresh Seafood and Hand-Cut all Natural Beef. Our service is precise, professional and attentive.
South Kent, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Quirky Old-fashioned French”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Interesting and sometimes quirky twists on French cuisine await here. The surroundings are kind of fuddy-duddy, but pleasant enough. But the food is really unusual for its kind. For example, how often do you find a duo of lamb chops and quail, or lamb and pork pate with pickled okra? It's well worth the trip to this strip mall for some adventuresome dining.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank oxide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    36
    7
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Look hard to find this excellent restaruant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I was recently in Tallahassee for business and wanted to try something different from the other restaurants in town. This was my first visit to A la Provence but I will return when in town again. The only problem I had was locating it in the first place. My GPS took me to the general area but I had to call the restaurant to get its actual location. It is located beside/behind a liquor store and in a strip mall type area and cannot be seen from the roadway. Go into the parking lot and get out to look around if you must. The location was not what I expected. I did however go into the restaurant and was glad that I did so. Service was top notch and I enjoyed the artistry and taste of everything I ate. I did regret ordering the rib eye rather than the filet due to the fat content but it was delicious. I ordered a la carte but would suggest consideration of the prix fixe menu to save a few dollars.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 55135Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, for a price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Good food, nice ambience, if a little pricey. We went out with a group of 17. Average check was about $150 per couple with wine. No happy hour.

We liked the old Ambassador Meal deal for $59 you got a bottle of decent wine, 2 entrees, split an appetizer and dessert. That's gone, so it's a la carte.

Salmon is $25, steak is $30, chicken $18-20.

We liked it fine, just thought it was a little pricey.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodeatsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always the BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I am just delighted to give my opinion on this, my favorite in Tallahassee. Always greeted beautifully, service is excellent and all the food is outstanding. Either Luncheon of dinner, or just a drink and salad in the bar, it's above and beyond.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annie189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We chose this restaurant, as we usually do when visiting an unfamiliar city, based on the tripadvisor reviews. The numerous excellent ratings for A la Provence were spot on!

My husband and I split a warm spinach salad with pancetta and chèvre, which was more like a lightly sautéed appetizer in that the spinach was more than just wilted. We also found a excessive amount of dressing for our taste. My main course was "lasagne al a minute" which turned out to be a deconstructed lasagne with an excellent bolognese sauce, two types of broad noodles,and goat cheese. It was accompanied by a salad that the waiter described as small (which was why we ordered the spinach salad to start) but which was as large as a typical starter salad. The dressing on that salad was light both in flavor and amount. My husband had a very large filet mignon which was perfectly grilled medium rare as he requested, dauphin potatoes, and well-prepared asparagus. Our wine was a very tasty Malbec recommended by our waiter.

One word of caution -- the address for the restaurant is given as Timberlane Road. Even with an up to date gps, we drove around for five minutes until we found it hiding in a rather mundane shopping center. It is not well marked at all which is a shame because it is worth finding.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carebearPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A La Provence also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to A La Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing