We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was dangerously look-warm to cool”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of China Super Buffet

China Super Buffet
Ranked #462 of 799 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: does not have own website....many reviews available online already tho
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
232 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Food was dangerously look-warm to cool”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The biggest risk one takes eating at any buffet is not the quality of the food as much as the temperature. Any hot food held below 140 degrees F is at risk of a high bacteria count, likely to give a diner food poisoning or at least terrible indigestion. All but one or two items were well below the 140F minimum. I will not visit this chain again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fastman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    21
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food and variety!!”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The food was great. It was a great variety on their bars. This bar had different items than we have at home. We both enjoyed the food. Waitress was good but hovered over her tables.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluboogiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponchatoula
Level Contributor
166 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“lots of choices”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

food was ok and there was plenty of it. Great value for the money and we certainly got full. Would like to have had a little better quality.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Used to dine here 2 - 3 times per week.......USED TO”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Been dining here more than regularly for over ten years. I figure they get between $1,500 - $1,800 of my income each year. In the earlier days you had to wait for a table and could end up in one of the back or side rooms, then as service declined and things worsened it's gotten so bad we can get our favorite table every visit and it's a prime spot relative to the buffet. I loved the hibachi so we kept going.

One night we stopped in for dinner, my oldest son had already eaten so he sat it out in conversation. However, later I told him the Won Ton soup was good that night because we never know, sometimes it tastes like the pan it is sitting in. He asked to taste it, slid my bowl over and got a few sips and slid it back. I knew then I'd need to pay for a soup and that was fine with me.

However, when it came time to leave and pay, and mind you these people see us a couple of more times per week, they wanted to charge for a full buffet for my sons sips of my soup. When I protested and tried to explain I ended up with three women barking at me though I don't think one of them was over 16 years of age. It was blowing my mind how big a deal they were going to make to rip me off for a few sips of soup.

After the young one told em I wasn't the boss or manager there and couldn't tell them what I would pay for, I demanded the manager or owner. There i a language barrier, but he came up and got the gist of it and decided I should pay for a full buffet, so it got uglier. All the while customers have to come in and pass us to get inside and they are all seeing this episode.

He then decided I could pay half price buffet, which I declined to agree to. I then said to the man, "You do realize we've been coming in here to eat a couple times each week for over ten years, and"........he cuts me off with a curt "I don't care about that!!!". I said, "Oh then you value ripping me off more than keeping and earning my continued loyal business". I dropped pay for two buffets and a soup plus tax on their counter and left. Have not been back, will not go back, and every week the parking is less and less crowded. It's not the food that is the problem.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank debdefender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
203 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good choice to eat”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

great choice of items. They even have sushi. The restaurant looked clean and also clean restroom facilities. Good choice for family diner

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Super Buffet also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to China Super Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing