We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avenue Eat and Drink Restaurant

Avenue Eat and Drink Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 796 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Avenue Eat & Drink features a Southern Fusion menu with influences from FL, SC, LA and GA. Our Goal is to source 70% of our product locally and achieve a product that is 50% organic and green. We have a wide variety of appetizers, salads and entrees, an extensive wine and specialty martini list. We are open Monday-Sunday for lunch and dinner. Open Saturday and Sunday for brunch.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love this Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here every time we come to Tallahassee. The decor is modern and chic yet comfortable. The staff is always friendly and helpful I you need suggestions.
Brunch is great with a large selection of Bloody Mary's and champagne cocktails.
We have also been in just to have. Cocktail and order an appetizer. They have a very extensive bar selection. Another go to place in Tallahassee. Highly recommend it

Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    83
    39
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere - just short of expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

As committed foodies, we have been carefully selecting restaurants, using TA, during our 3 week trip around the south and in fact chose our Tallahassee hotel because it was close to the Avenue. Overall we had an OK visit - it was a lovely place and the service was excellent, but the food just didn't hit the heights.

My daughters duck was pretty good - b=cooked to perfection, my seafood broth was OK, but it did taste a bit like tinned tomatoes and my wife's prawns with grits was frankly really bland - it could have done with some acidity or spice...nothing unpleasant but not special either and our most expensive meal so far on the trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian_HirstUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
222 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“More atmosphere than food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The food at Avenue Eat and Drink is above average but just shy of fours stars (very good). For my money, the atmosphere of this venue is it's strongest point.

The bar is warm and inviting and the drinks made with complete attention.The venue is spirited and the service excellent.

We started off with the Vidalia Onion Soup. I was good but nothing special. For the main, I ordered the roasted chicken, It was two, plain pieces of chicken (a small breast and a leg quarter) for $21. It rested on a bed of grits, which were a bit over salted.My wife ordered the Diver Scallops. Again, good but just shy of being very good.

If it were not for the wonderful atmosphere and service at Avenue Eat and Drink, the overall rating would be average.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fine food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

For a special date or just great food this is the place to go. Many lovely items to choose from. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
“Not what I had hoped!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The service was sad. My waiter not only brought cold food but the wrong food. I ordered for brunch and not only was my order wrong so was my daughters. I also had to wait a very long time for my food drinks and check. It was a big disappointment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rosettastone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avenue Eat and Drink Restaurant also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Avenue Eat and Drink Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing