We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee - University
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Tallahassee
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were in Tallahassee for 4 days of training. State legislature is in session so its crowded and we needed an inexpensive place to stay. I had ask for and received, refrigerator and coffee pot. So got an upgrade for just a couple bucks. The room was well laid out & had flat screen. nice desk and work area. The simulated wood floor was nice. The bath was SMALL with what must have been 25w bulb that made it seem dingy. I had trouble with the door lock-the dead bolt locked in the open position-made me very nervous. The desk was busy so I finally got myself and stayed in for the evening. I think someone replaced batteries in the card reader and it worked. The vending machines did not work, not a big deal unless your riding with others (I was) then your stuck. The back blding while nice and quiet, had some sketchy looking folks 'jus hanging' and driving through the lot?
all in all it was ok-the staff was friendly and answered questions about the area.

Room Tip: I would NOT STAY ON THE BACKSIDE OD HOTEL AGAIN. Ask doe 2nd floor if you don't like the patter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

He always remembers your name and is always friendly. The rooms are Ok but clerince makes it work he's the man! I sometimes don't have a ash tray in my room but clerince will hook you up with one. The rooms are sometimes a little dirty but for the price you just can't beat great place with good people.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank opeyp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I stayed one night at the Red Roof Inn in Tallahassee in April, 2014. I chose the hotel because of the overall good reviews on Trip Advisor and the very low price.

I assume Red Roof competes in the lower tier of motel chains. There's nothing wrong with that, though. This motel has a small office that was staffed by one person. The rooms are small and unsophisticated. No breakfast is offered. But for about $50, you're not paying for elegance.

I was surprised to see a laminate floor in our room -- no carpet. It's a fresh look and I can see how it could keep odor problems from spills and general use down. A bare floor can be a problem too, as it's easy to feel dirt on such a floor, but ours was very clean, as was the entire room and bath. Our room featured a king-size bed, a stuffed chair, a dresser and cabinet with a microwave, and a desk and office chair. The bathroom (tub and toilet) is small. A decent-sized composite vanity is outside the bathroom. The blue and red color scheme is not my favorite, but it all matched. We did not use the in-room coffee machine, dryer or iron. The TV is a large flat-screen with a good picture, although not in high-def.

We had two problems: a flickering fluorescent vanity light and wi-fi access. I was told at the desk no password was required for the wi-fi, but when I attempted to sign on I was met with a user ID and password screen. I had no urgent need for the wi-fi, and the vanity light was not terrible, so I didn't report either.

Overall, this is a very good value. If you're looking for a cheap place to sleep and don't need to be pampered, this is probably the best value in Tallahassee right now, which I can say with a fair amount of authority as I stay in Tallahassee several times a year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saxonole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel has been recently remodeled and is very nice. They now have flat screen TVs in each room as well. The staff is always very friendly and helpful and the price is affordable. Clarence is a great employee, who is always happy to assist. I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms on the end seem to be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

In the last 12 months we have stayed in a Red Roof inn at least 8 times. We stay at Red Roof because if our daughter comes, she can bring her dog. Even though all the Red Roof's we have stayed in are not 4 Star hotels, they at least have hair dryers and ironing boards. The one in Tallahassee only had a few that you could "borrow" from the front desk and of course they were out. The lighting in the room was horrific but nothing compared to the lighting outside. We were on the back side of the hotel with little to no lighting. The neighbors were outside their room smoking and the ice machine did not work! We love the Gainesville Red Roof but will never stay at the Tallahassee one again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The hotel was VERY outdated and unclean. Non Smoking room had a cigarette butt on the headrest. Smells very old and not much lighting in the room. If the value of the hotel was $10 or $15/night the price would be appropriate. Driving up in itself gives a depressing feeling. The front desk person had a super nasty attitude. For $5 more we got a hotel down the street that was 100% nicer.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBWILLANTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here to visit our Son at FSU, and the rooms are super clean, and the beds are comfortable. It's in a great location up on a hill, and there is a Cracker Barrel restaurant right behind the hotel! The staff are super friendly, and helpful. The only downside is there is no pool, and no free breakfast, and only certain rooms have coffee makers in them. Also, there was no free wi-fi when we arrived, yet it was advertised on their website. The manager said they were renovating, and that wi-fi would be available soon, so call first to see if the wi-fi is available yet if you want to have it in your room.
Overall, a good place to stay, and the rooms are alot cleaner than most hotels we have been in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tallahassee
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#29 of 55 in Tallahassee
71 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#31 of 55 in Tallahassee
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Tallahassee - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Tallahassee - University

Address: 2930 Hospitality St, Tallahassee, FL 32303-4041
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tallahassee
#17 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range: £37 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Tallahassee - University 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Roof Inn Tallahassee - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee Hotel Tallahassee
Tallahassee Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing