We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History Buffs Approve”

Florida Historic Capitol Museum
Ranked #8 of 83 things to do in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Florida Historic Capitol Museum serves to illuminate the past, present, and future connection between the people of Florida and their political institutions through programs of civic education, historic interpretation, and preservation.
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“History Buffs Approve”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I'm from Georgia, and I've been to a lot of state capitols, this one is very interesting. I was a little disappointed that the Citrus Industry wasn't shown to be as important as it was to the history and future of Florida. I know this is a more political aspect of Florida's history and there was very little mention of the Indian culture either. It also would be a good idea to have other area museums mentioned. We were very disappointed that we missed out on the natural history museum. The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful and the old state furniture was beautiful. Would love to come back when ya'll are finished working on the different floors.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    79
    17
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“History It Should Be”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Those of us who love history and seek it out are sometimes more enthusiastic about it than those curating or who's care it's in. We are sometimes disappointed by that. That is not the case at the Old Capitol. You can see it in every detail, and in every face there. Great architecture, great history. It's alive.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
760 reviews
400 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

interesting place to dive in. if you have 30 min to spare, check it out. wont disappoint. also go up to the observation deck in the new capitol building

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curtez151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My son and I toured the capitol and really enjoyed it, but since we arrived late, we had a very limited amount of time to completely see everything. I always love learning about the past and would love to return when I have more time to take in everything they have to offer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth a second visit”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very interesting and well set out. Disappointed not to be able to see the Chambers on the second floor because of renovations which spoiled the visit somewhat. The small guide is good and helpful for getting around.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank phantomabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Florida Historic Capitol Museum also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Florida Historic Capitol Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing