We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Look twice to find it"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
Ranked #34 of 796 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
189 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“"Look twice to find it"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This Cracker Barrel is off the main road, on a good sized hill, surrounded by trees, with the sign fairly well hidden. When you do find it, however, you will be treated to the same good food you expect at a Cracker Barrel. I like the chicken and dumplings!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    77
    48
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
1 review
“Gross and rude, how the good has fallen....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We typically enjoy Cracker Barrel restaurants as a family. We will continue to go to them (at other locations), but this was by far the worst Cracker Barrel experience we've ever had. Immediately when we were seated a kitchen staffee stormed out of the kitchen and literally screamed for the whole restaraunt to hear, "I CAN NEVER FIND A MANAGER IN THIS GOD FORSAKEN PLACE!!!" Great tone setter. Here are just a few vignettes that transpired shortly thereafter:

1. We have two young children. We asked three times for napkins and never got them.

2. The small biscuit plates were brought to us soaken wet. 2 out of the 4 had wet food on them.

3. No one in our party was offered a refill once during the meal.

4. The food came out cold. Also, the portion I was given for the breakfast plate was half what I've gotten at other Cracker Barrel locations. Because it tasteless and cold I couldn't even finish THAT small amount of food even though I was hungry.

5. I used the bathroom and dry heaved at what I saw there. No further elaboration needed.

6. We talked to the manager afterwards and he swears they clean the bathroom every 30 mins, they appreciate the feedback, they'll do better, etc. He also was demeaning saying, "Well, you did eat the food, right? Couldn't be that bad...." The kitchen employee was right, there is a managerial problem. You will not see our family return to this Cracker Barrel location until there is an overhaul in leadership. In years past this was a good Cracker Barrel, it's a shame it's come to this....

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gotta Eat Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

They were all so nice and accommodating. We were greeted when we came in, not by one, but 3 employees before we were sat. One, I believe was Nasyah was so sweet and helpful. She made us feel like we were home with her warm friendly personality.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tpcchefnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food and location ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We are in the. 5th day of a six day trip driving from Sacramento to SW Florida. This is the third Cracker Barrel we stopped at in 3 different stated. We have done breakfast , lunch & dinner and ALL have been excellent. We especially love their wholesome fixins menu. Everything had been delicious. This location is on top of a hill in a small woods. Tonight was chilly and they had their fireplace burning real wood. It made for an enjoyable meal by the fire. Staff at all locations was fabulous too.

Helpful?
Thank kaalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
354 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“It's Cracker Barrel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

If you liked a Cracker Barrel anywhere in the country. This one won't disappoint. It is no better or worse than any of the others. Personally, I like it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nole38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing