We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love, love, love fresh and local! Not the same old fast food chain...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kool Beanz Cafe

Kool Beanz Cafe
Ranked #1 of 799 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love, love, love fresh and local! Not the same old fast food chain...”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

On adult vacation, had a awesome Sunday brunch of Lobster Mac and Cheese, Fried Green Tomato BLT and a Mimosa. The decor was from local artist. The wait staff was courteous and quick to serve. The menu was limited in choice, but the food was fresh, local and they did it right! For us, we would rather eat in a local eatery any day of the week or weekend. A must eat when in Tallahassee. Too bad We don't live closer!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    218
    65
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flavorful dishes”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I came in with my son while in town. Decided to have lunch, based solely on the great reviews. We both had fish-tuna and corvina, We were both very impressed. Great combinations, great flavors, nicely executed with a nice southern flare. Two thumbs up!!

Helpful?
Thank SarasotaEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pricey for the experience”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Seating is tough on busy nights; may be relegated to the outside covered area with tables that is rather noisy and subject to the vagarities of the weather. Food is eclectic and fusion-oriented which can be good for the adventuresome, but it isn't always for the faint of heart. The portions are large and can be expensive, which is to be expected with quality food, but at our last visit a couple of weeks ago, the vinagrette on my wife's salad was much too strong and basically inedible. The cornmeal-breaded fried shrimp I had were good, but probably slightly overcooked, as they were a little rubbery. My wedge salad with bacon and bleu cheese was excellent. Must be prepared for a long wait, particularly on weekends.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CheckMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Date with a handsome man”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

As usual, dining alone and enjoying each bite. Dirty rice and red beans served as the bed for this fish dinner. Amberjack with a scotch bonnet bearnaise sauce. The fried baby okra was a nice touch. My delightful server, Frankie, took good care.

Helpful?
Thank TimeTraveler041847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's gone downhill”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I am writing this review sitting and waiting for the dessert to arrive at our table...we ordered it 15 minutes ago. After 6 years of being dedicated patrons, often coming once a week, this will be our last time here. Service was never great to begin with but the food made up for it. Now? The food is mediocre and the service is dismal. I am not sure if it's new chefs but the flank steak, which my husband orders every time we are here, has been either overcooked or extremely tough. The dessert we ordered...still hasn't arrived. The sad thing is the attitude of the staff is that they don't care. Kool Beanz- you used to be #1 in Tallahassee but now we will give our patronage to Sage or Cypress. ...in case you were wondering, dessert still hasn't arrived.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank candestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kool Beanz Cafe also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Kool Beanz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing