We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Little English Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 4 Tallahassee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Travelling to and from the states from London is a regular part of my business life and can often be a somewhat lonely experience as many of you may know. My last trip involved quite a lengthy road trip in Florida with a short stay in Tallahassee. Whilst talking to my family back in the U.K, and feeling quite home sick, my partner found The Little English Guesthouse on here and booked me in for a two nights stay before my return home from Tallahassee Airport. Simply amazing is my only response to this little ray of sunshine in the sunshine state. Hosted by a true English rose, this home away from home was a delightful stay. I stayed in the London room for two nights and left the U.S feeling for the first time refreshed and revitalised. Breakfasts were ample enough for few hours until lunch time were I found myself able to sample real American food. (Sonny's BBQ is a must by the way!!) I will most certainly revisit The Little English Guesthouse and look forward to my forthcoming visits. I'm planning a Disney holiday with the family next year and may even fly to Tallahassee stay here and drive to Orlando just so I can show it off!! God Bless you Tracy and Thom and Thank you for a truly wonderfully relaxing visit.

Room Tip: The London room is the biggest, but choosing between the three different would be like choosing whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
53
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

What an amazing place to stay for peace and quite with beautiful gardens. A great healthy, casual approach to breakfast, just help yourself in the "breakfast room" plenty of choice for tea and coffee, even soft drinks too, all for free, which is unusual. A nice healthy range to choose from for breakfast, from fresh fruits, croissants, healthy muffins, granola, cereals, yoghurt and even  hard boiled eggs.
The owner, Tracey was very helpful and attentive, she was always on hand.
My wife and I particularly enjoyed having a cup of tea with Tracey out in the "English gardens" a very well presented and beautiful, tranquil place to sit and talk.
The decor of our bedroom, "the London" room, was simply perfect. Lots of little personal touches made this room very welcoming. We both had a fantastic nights sleep.

The little English Guesthouse truly is a wonderful representation of being back home in the countryside in England, from the gardens, to the interior decor, even the tea pot, teacup and saucer. :-)

Thank you very much Tracey for making our short stay a wonderful and personal experience. I travel a lot, in Europe and The US, and this place by far exceeds any motel or inn I've ever stayed in. I'm glad I had my wife with me on this trip, as she too got to enjoy it. We shall return on a way through again next year.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jsr-essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleEnglishGuestho, Owner at The Little English Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed breakfast, our guests do seem to prefer to sleep in a bit and not have an "appointment" with the breakfast room/ coffeepot! Remember to "like" us on Facebook, we look forward to seeing you (and your wife) again next time you're on this side of the pond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed one night at this B&B. Based on previous experiences with other B&Bs both in the US and abroad, I expected a restful night's sleep (I got that here) and a full, hot breakfast. Unfortunately, the owner did not/does not provide a fresh breakfast for her guests, citing a "local ordinance". On my stay, breakfast was prepared the night before and consisted of sliced strawberries and cantaloupe, dry tasteless muffins (no butter) and croissants left out overnight. The coffee was self-serve. No tea. I asked about a protein: cottage cheese (ick). There was nothing "British" about this meal. Disappointing. For the price, I would opt to stay elsewhere next time I'm in town. I discussed the other issues I had directly with the owner, who was kind enough to respond to my comments. I still feel strongly that if you're running a Bed and Breakfast, that it needs to include a meal better than you can get at 7-11.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleEnglishGuestho, Owner at The Little English Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We're pleased you got a a good night's rest and do feel that we offer good value for money and great customer service, as evidenced by all our great reviews. We responded to your emailed comments after you left but do wish you would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns while you were here as our goal is that every guest will have an exceptional experience with us and leave with the intention of returning to us. We're sorry that we didn't seem to reach that goal this time!. Our breakfast is fresh, attractively presented, and varied. Hot tea is offered to every guest, and we do keep the coffee pot full so that our guests can help themselves, even though the innkeeper is usually in the breakfast room. We're sorry that we missed the opportunity to serve you, as that is what we (try to) do best! Our intention is to exceed our guest expectations (and we do, most of the time!), so it makes us sad that we failed you this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawfordville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We needed a quiet place to stay for our anniversary and The Little English Guest House was simply perfect. The room was beautifully done and the service provided by Tracy was wonderful. Location is perfect, and the personal touches made us feel so welcome. Would most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Easy to locate, comfortable, immaculate, quiet, ample parking—all the things I look for in a place to stay. I was so glad to find this b&b in Tallahassee. Breakfast was delicious, and fun because we were able to talk with other guests. Plenty of towels, fast wifi, delicious scones & muffins, soft bathrobes—we definitely felt well looked after. Tracey is a warm & welcoming host, very accommodating even when weather caused us to arrive a bit later than we thought. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rav1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleEnglishGuestho, Owner at The Little English Guesthouse, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your detailed review! We try hard to please every guest and are happy you were pleased with breakfast, parking and that we exceeded your expectations in all the things that make a stay great! After 11 years serving the traveling public we still focus on individual guests, you're not just "a number" to us! Hope to see you again on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalimar, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We're always looking for alternatives to chain hotels and The Little English Guesthouse fits that bill perfectly.
It's set in a nice part of Tallahassee, close enough to the center but equally very quiet. Plenty of restaurants within close distance.
The B&B is run by a charming English Lady, Tracey. As you'd expect the place is full of almost cliché English 'bits & bobs' from bowler hats to Royal Family calendars - but it's none the worse for that.
The rooms are very comfortable, and the place is really quiet. Tracey is attentive but not overly so, so the stay is relaxing and luxurious.
It's certainly a place I would return to when a night in the State Capital is called for.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martino52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleEnglishGuestho, Owner at The Little English Guesthouse, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We can see that you are a discerning traveler, so appreciate your high regard! Location is everything, and we are in a great spot in Tallahassee, that's for certain. Tell your family and friends to make the Little English Guesthouse their FIRST choice for lodging, so they too can enjoy a place that is "relaxing and luxurious". We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalimar, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a great little place to stay! We were only in Tallahassee one night and decided to try The Little English Guesthouse. It's a lovely change from a hotel chain. It's in a very central and pretty part of Tallahassee with several top restaurants just a short drive away. Tracey is a wonderful hostess and ready to help with any area information that you may need. We stayed in the London Room which was so comfortable and quiet. This will now be our go to place to stay whenever we find ourselves in that area again.

Room Tip: The London room has a king bed and it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bethany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleEnglishGuestho, Owner at The Little English Guesthouse, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely words! Those who don't want to be treated like just a number LOVE staying at the Little English Guesthouse - and we're pleased to add you to our family of guests who agree! If you FB, make sure and join us on Facebook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
6.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tallahassee I-10 East
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Tallahassee
Homewood Suites Tallahassee
#3 of 58 in Tallahassee
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee
Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee
#10 of 58 in Tallahassee
557 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tallahassee I-10 - Thomasville Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little English Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little English Guesthouse

Property: The Little English Guesthouse
Address: 737 Timberlane Rd, Tallahassee, FL 32312-1624
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Little English Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Tallahasse's only English Bed & Breakfast for a whole new lodging experience. Charming rooms, each with en-suite private bathrooms, cable television, free breakfast, free parking, free WIFI internet, free snacks and beverages - and the best location for downtown Tallahassee as well as Interstate 10. Do yourself a favor, stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Little English Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing