We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #467 of 808 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Bamboo House is my favorite Chinese buffet restaurant in town. I learned to eat Chinese food there way back in the early 90s! I grew up in a town with NO Chinese restauratns, so it was great to be able to pick and choose from the buffet until I figured out what I like and don't like! I go there for lunch and dinner, usually a couple of times a month, and have several friends who do the same. Great food, good prices, nice staff! And it cracks me up that Kenny G is usually playing on the Musak!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DBdolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You love it or you hate it.”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I love it, and I think most people do. The dining room is old and hasn't been updated in a long while, but it is clean and the food is good (I suspect people saying it was "disgusting," "dirty," etc were not expecting a small local place when they thought "Chinese food buffet"). There are 12 or so main course options on the buffet, and there are always good vegetarian options as well as meat dishes. The dining room is always full of locals and they seem to do a lot of take-out business as well. I've honestly never ordered from the menu so can't say what that's like. I've taken a lot of friends here, and a couple of them just despise this place, but most go back regularly after I introduce them to it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TallyhoACA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great authentic local buffet”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Same woman has been running the show there for years. Friendly staff. Goof variety. Many vegetarian options. Very tasty. I eat there once a month. Used to eat there weekly, but I always stuff myself silly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ekohler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“bad food”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The food was disgusting, DO NOT EAT HERE unless you like eating dogs!!!! it smelt horrible my friend tried it and spat it out straight away, i was not happy spending so much money on food that was not cooked properly!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TruthBeTold876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This place is awful. Do not ever eat at this "restaurant" if you want good food.”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The bamboo house is dirty, bathrooms are way beyond unsanitary, and the silverware was wrapped in a napkin having lipstick smears.

The food is miserable. It tastes like it was cooked two weeks ago and reheated every day.

I do not know how it got some positive reviews but, I can assure you I would not go to the bamboo house if they were paying me to eat the awful excuse for food that they serve.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 673Grizzlybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing