We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable”
Review of Sage

Sage
Reserve with OpenTable
Sage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 801 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Arrived for Sunday brunch as restaurant opened at 11am. Long line of people waiting but were seated quickly, we chose an outdoor table as it was a warm day. Service was good despite the restaurant being busy. Food was excellent, fresh, hot and really tasty. We indulged in desserts and they were superb. I can really recommend the flourless chocolate cake, it was light and fluffy like a mousse. All in all a very enjoyable meal .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aaasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    58
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Yet another great meal in Tallahassee”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Luckily I had made reservations as several people were turned away when we were there. I can see why. Our meal was excellent and the wine list very good. I also liked the atmosphere. The only problem we encountered was slow (but pleasant) service as the time between when our salads arrived and the entree was uncomfortably long. Our server, Porsche, was very accommodating and offered us a glass of wine for our trouble.
The crispy Brussels sprout salad was a treat as was the beet salad. I had a snapper with black bean cakes and my husband had pork tenderloin marinated in tea. Both we're excellent.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kkovach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Yummy and inviting”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Found Sage on TripAdvisor -- thank you for the tip. The restaurant happened to be very close to the nice B&B we found and so was very handy. We are both fussy about our food and thought that Sage did a very nice job with both quality and creativity. We both had excellent salads (I had a beet and goat cheese and my husband a fried green tomato). We shared 3 appetizers for our main course as we both like varied flavors. All 3 were very good starting with a crab filled crab cake, yummy duck confit crepe and lightly fried oysters. Atmosphere was bright and cheery and the overall noise and vibe just right.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
235 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Still our favorite upscale bistro”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I have been dining here several times a month for a long time and it is our favorite for upscale dining in Tallahassee. It is a small bistro that is very comfy with excellent food and service. There is ample parking and a lovely patio for dining outside in good weather. The dinner menu changes almost every week and always check out the specials which can be fantastic. It is usually crowded so reservations are recommended and can be made by phone or Internet

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Fl.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“... I love love this combonation!...”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

... Back to Sage, in Tallahassee, Fl., where we love to eat lunch! It is always good all the time. I seem to order the same combo every time... because I love it so much! The Onion soup is just the right consistency and not too salty! The Spring salad has either red or yellow beets in it and the touch of cheese makes it divine. My husband always orders their quiche ( and he is a real man!) as they make it with Brie! and crimini mshrooms.... totally yummy. Their house white is served icy cold and is quite good. I highly recommend dining on the patio now that our heat has abated. Local art work is always displayed and enjoyable to view. J. Dunn

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judidunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sage also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Sage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing