We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent cuisine, just not received in a very friendly way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sage

Sage
Reserve with OpenTable
Sage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 796 Restaurants in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
gulfcoast florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine, just not received in a very friendly way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Visiting my brother, we decided to have a very early dinner out. We actually arrived 10 minutes before they opened (were not admitted, had to drive around because the evening was so hot.). We did not have a reservation and didn't think we'd need one (in fact their website said make a reservation or just stop by). They directed us to a table right in front of the door and we asked if we could have one of the empty tables a little farther from the hot air that came in when the door was opened. They said no, that was the only table for walk ins. We ate hurriedly, and when we left, most tables were still empty. I felt like we weren't received in a very friendly manner and it was a chill that hung over our not moderately priced dinner.
That being said, our food was delightful. Just wish we had been more on the same page about our feelings concerning the treatment of diners.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stjoesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    57
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee fl
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a small tucked-away bistro here in Tallahassee that doesn't appear to advertise much but I believe the word of mouth is their best asset here among the local folks.

The menu isn't lengthy but excellent. I had the brined pork chop with anson grits and broccolini…very good and my husband raved about his black grouper….cooked to perfection.
Desserts were excellent; guava cheesecake with a spectacular passion fruit sauce and flour less chocolate cake…wonderful. There is also a great wine list from which to choose.
Our server was efficient, warm and very knowledgeable and suggested a great wine that paired perfectly with both entrees
We look forward to our next visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maryfran4588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch/service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stopped by for the first time in early May for a late lunch. Wanted to try something new. Enjoyed it all!! Great service from our waiter. Appetizer, salad, main course, beers, and dessert were all delicious!! FREST fried oysters, wonderful salad, almond crusted trout and shrimp and grits and a fabulous dessert!! Not an inexpensive meal, but worth the price :) Will go back in cooler weather and enjoy outside dinning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EHanson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great seafood and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Dined here for business dinner with 3 colleagues. Excellent seafood selections and presentation. Very attentive service and overall classy restaurant. Would definitely return next visit......

Tried the linguine with shrimp and scallops. Colleagues enjoyed the salmon. Everything was exceptional.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NYDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Kent, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Just Short of Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Sage has a slick, modern atmosphere and wonderful service. The food is very good but short of great. For example, fantastic tasting Gulf shrimp and scallops served over linguine were weighed down by a heavy creamy mushroom sauce. Ask a lot of questions and choose carefully and your dinner could be great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oxide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sage also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Sage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing