We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Tallahassee Capital
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have stayed at a lot of Marriott hotels due to the fact that my father is an employee. I was very disappointment that no one mentioned that the hotel was under renovation when I spoke to an employee prior to booking and at check in. Nor did they mention that the spa was not working or will be removed but yet still is mentioned on the website. The check in process was very fast,the lobby was very nice. We were told to pull around to the 3rd entrance to get to our room. When we walked thru that door the smell was awful and the area was very dirty and a large nasty falling down plastic curtain hung in the hallway. We had to take the elevator up to our room and the smell was even worse due to fresh paint, or newly laid carpet on our floor. The good thing is that we were there visiting family so we did not spend that much time at the hotel. If you are planning a vacation in the next 3 months you may want to find a different hotel for your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith H, General Manager at Courtyard Tallahassee Capital, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Our team was very disappointed to hear of the inconvenience you suffered due to our renovation. Please contact my office directly at 850/329-4041 directly so that I may further assist you. We hope you have the opportunity to return to our hotel so you may see the completion of the all our wonderful upgrades we have made to our rooms!

Warm Regards,

Keith Hoogerheyde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here during a recent business trip as the hotel was well located for our needs. When I first arrived I was told that my reservation was cancelled (which I did not do nor did anybody at my company). Strike one. Then I had requested pillows without feathers. It took more than three requests and I personally had to walk to the lobby to get this resolved when we returned from dinner. Strike two. Finally , the place is still under renovation and there were strong odors from paint and other things all around. Strike three.

Likely going to try something else if I have to return in the future.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith H, General Manager at Courtyard Tallahassee Capital, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Please accept our team’s apology for the awful inconvenience you encounter during your recent stay at our hotel.

We appreciate your understanding and patience with the multiple touch points noted in your comments. We deeply regret this experience reflecting on our brand’s reputation of excellence! Please contact my office directly at 850/329-9041 at your convenience so I may gain a few additional details regarding your situaiton.

Warm Regards,

Keith Hoogerheyde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Located about a mile east of the Capital on Apalachee Parkway, this Courtyard is very convenient to most Tallahassee locations. The staff is always friendly and well-informed. The rooms are clean and updated. Breakfast is surprisingly good although there is a Waffle House close by. There are several restaurants, both national chains and local, along both sides of Apalachee Parkway from the hotel to Capital Circle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Marriott Drive. Several buses park along there with their engines idling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith H, General Manager at Courtyard Tallahassee Capital, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Our team was glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. Our location is most convenient and central to many activities in the Tallahassee area. The Governor's Square Mall is only a few blocks to our east. In addition the State of Florida Capitol Complex is only 1/2 mile to our west. Florida State University campus is only 1.5 miles away. Plus, too many dinning option to mention within walking distance! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Tallahassee area.

Best Regards,

Keith Hoogerheyde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We won this hotel through priceline for a visit to FSU and had an absolutely wonderful experience. Check-in took a bit long, as the reception area was very busy, but to compensate for the long wait, we were given free breakfast every morning of our stay. I thought this was excellent customer service. The room was very clean, spacious, and had a 42" flat screen TV.

The location is excellent; just minutes away from FSU and also very close to the Governor's Mall. Free parking and free wifi make this hotel a great value! We will definitely return here!

Room Tip: A room near the back staircase will make getting to the lobby for breakfast very easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith H, General Manager at Courtyard Tallahassee Capital, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

We hope you enjoyed your breakfast in our Bistro every morning! he fresh brewed Starbuck's made just the way you like is always a wonderful treat to start your day. On your next visit stop by in the evening time for a cocktail or a bit to eat from our full dinner menu. You will be pleasantly surprised with the great quality of our Bistro evening menu! Please let us know how we may further assist you.

See you soon!

Keith Hoogerheyde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

While visiting in the Tallahassee area, I stayed at the Courtyard Capital on Apalachee. The room was quiet and the bed comfortable. Got the best 3 nights sleep I have had in ages. Of course, being a Marriott property, it was clean, well maintained and exactly what you would expect. I heartily recommend this hotel and the next time I am in Tallahassee, I will be staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith H, General Manager at Courtyard Tallahassee Capital, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Greetings Edward,

We were happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our hotel! Our suburban style location is extremely quiet, removed from the road front and nestled into a secluded neighborhood! You would never know you were in a central location with over 15 restaurants within walking distance and a major regional shopping mall .5 miles. Please let us know how we may further assist you.

Warm Regards,

Keith Hoogerheyde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This hotel offered some excellent rates for a nice, clean room in a quiet location near the capital building. Breakfast cost a little extra but well worth it. Friendly staff and helpful to us in finding our way around the hotel and town. Will likely stay here again next time we're in Tallahassee.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith H, General Manager at Courtyard Tallahassee Capital, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Our team was delighted to hear you had a quiet, restufull stay at our hotel! They are currently working on upgrading our room decore so we will have beautiful new rooms to match our contemporary lobby. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Please let us know how we may assist you in the future.

Best Regards,

Keith Hoogerheyde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My stay was short & sweet.... Had a pleasant stay and will go back again. The room was very clean but could do with some new light bulbs in the room. Lots of light by day. Very convenient location for everyone...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith H, General Manager at Courtyard Tallahassee Capital, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your stay at our hotel! Our central location is extremely convenient for everyone. Minutes away from downtown, FSU, Tallahassee Memorial Hospital, and The Koger Center business park. We hope you were able to enjoy some of the many nearby restaurants during your brief stay with us. We are looking forward to our rooms' renovation, it will bring a fresh new light to our entire hotel. See you soon!

Kind Regards,

Keith Hoogerheyde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
0.9 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#13 of 55 in Tallahassee
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Tallahassee Downtown
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tallahassee Capital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tallahassee Capital

Address: 1018 Apalachee Pkwy, Tallahassee, FL 32301-4540
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range: £87 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tallahassee Capital 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Tallahassee Capital reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Tallahassee Capital Hotel Tallahassee
Tallahassee Courtyard
Tallahassee Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing