We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run don't walk from this Hotel”
Review of Governors Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Governors Inn
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Run don't walk from this Hotel”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We just returned from 3 night stay at the Governors Inn in Tallahassee. We booked the Governor's Suite and the room next to it. The Governor suite was more like the stable suite in a 1800 Barn, the hotel need a lot of upgrades and just plain maintenance, the paint in the walls and doors are peeling, the plumbing in the bathroom did not work properly, dust was about 1 inch thick on the furniture, the carpeting had seen better days and I don't think it had been vaccumed in weeks, the refrigerator in the room barely cooled 2 bottles off water, the coffee maker sat on a tray with coffee that was very, very old, we opened a package to discover that it was wet at one time and place back in the tray. There were no outlet by the coffee maker and the wood cabinets were is desperate need of repair. We requested the rooms to be made up after the 1st day and that towels and linen be changed, we also reported the problems with the plumbing. We left the hotel, but I had to return to the room unexpected and the room service was there changing the towels, and picking up garbage, the beds were made but linen was not change as requested, the room service personnel left and never returned to finish the cleaning. They had no vaccum cleaner or intentions to clean. Another observation, the hotel is right across from a night club that host various sororities and the noise and parties go well into 2 AM, so unless you are planning to joint the noisy drunks across the street, don't expect to get any rest. The only positive note of the entire stay was the Front Desk and Vale staff, very very courteous and willing to go out of their way to try and help. Other than that it is not worth the almost $250 + + + per night. Go to the find yourself a better hotel.

Room Tip: Find some other accomodations
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    38
    24
    17
    10
See reviews for
40
40
10
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed here almost 10 years ago & back then it was pretty nice, even got a free bottle of champagne because it was Valentine's. We came back this year for Valentine's, no champagne & the place hadn't changed a bit! For the price, it was sooo not worth it. It was just an old hotel, walls need paint. Either they should remodel or go down on the price!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielleBrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vogelenzang, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Looks like a nice small hotel. Hotel website made this hotel seem that this was a great hotel. Horrible to none existent wifi, all kinds of excuses from personnel, equipment couldn't handle the internet for the 5 rooms that were booked... Needed to print flight tickets, had to use hotel assistants computer. When traveling wifi is needed. Black mold in the shower/bath area, brick wall view out of window... Loud air conditioner, Personnel nice, room looked clean, bed comfortable. breakfast okay. No shuttle to airport!! Taxi's service disgusting. Expected better quality for the price of the room. Way to expensive for what you get. I should have taken note to the couple that was leaving as I was checking in, they went to another hotel because they didn't like the room for the price... Won't go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Belle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Let me say that the valet staff and the front desk staff were super nice and try very hard to make it a good experience. However, the manager doesn't care and the room cleanliness level is terrible. We checked in and first found that the bedspread was dirty - like someone had stepped on it and possibly even bled on it. The front desk staff came and replaced it when we mentioned it, but wouldn't you think that it would have been all set up on arrival?

The room and hotel is old, but has so much potential if there were more care taken of it. Lighting is poor, carpet is old, furniture is antiquish but doesn't fit the room well.

My wife tried to make the best of it and decided to take a shower. The tub was in desperate need of a serious scrubbing. As soon as she started the water, the tub started filling up. The drain was so clogged it was as if the drain was closed. I unscrewed the drain cap and it was all plugged with hair and soap residue. I called the front desk and the front desk attendant herself came with a bottle of bathroom cleaner spray and CLR. She used the CLR to unplug the drain (weird choice). And whatever she did to clean the tub didn't make a dent.

The televisions are laughable. giant armoires with tvs that maybe have 19" screens at best.

Oh, and Wi-fi is so buggy that it's easier to just log on to the free wifi from the Jasmine Cafe next door.

So we chose to leave about an hour after checking in. When we reached the front desk, the manager was there and she didn't even say one word to us to either try to get us to stay or apologize for our dissatisfaction.

Again I must say that the hotel has so much potential. Someone could invest some money and energy and really make it an outstanding property. For now, I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cboivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I secured a reservation and received confirmation in November 2012 for Parent's Weekend in Tallahasse in October 2013. I booked through the hotel website and received confirmation via email. Ms Kelsey Montes - Director of Hotel Operations - just contacted me and said they would not honor the rate of $139 that is on my confirmation. The new rate would be $389!!!!. She said she has no idea how I made the reservation and that they are not final when you receive confirmation via email!! What kind of establishment is this????? The Florida Attorney General's Office is being contacted as well as the Better Business Bureau and Dept of Consumer Affairs. If the hotel's website allowed me to confirm a rate, you should be honoring it!!!!! I'll make sure to spread the word of your business practices.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
12 Thank jameson1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I was testifying in Tallahassee in front of State Senate Committees, and needed a hotel. I was booked at the Governor's Inn by my organization. I don't agree with the reviewers who make the place sound like a horid hovel on the bad side of town. (Aren't state government towns all bad anyway?) The room was small and clearly adapted as a boutique hotel from an existing building. It was clean, but not new, and was overpriced. (I paid $200/night). If it is your only option, do be afraid- go for it. If you have other options, explore them. Upside is that it is close to other hotels, FSU (If you're into that kind of thing- GO CANES!!!!) and the FL state capital.

Room Tip: As far away from the front as possible, high up, but there is no elevator, so bring a small bag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

old musty inn!Frankly shocked at the quality of the place.We chose a loft studio .IT was disgusting ,blinds in room was broken .the sink in the bathroom was draining at a snails pace.We requested extra pillow ,which looked like old blood stain.We were sooo disappointed .infact we shortened our stay by 2 days as we could not thinking of stay another night.I would never recommend this inn to anybody!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bharati e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#13 of 58 in Tallahassee
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn

Property: Governors Inn
Address: 209 S Adams St, Tallahassee, FL 32301-1720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Governors Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governors Inn is a 41 room private condominium property. Room availability varies by owner. Please phone for information on our Inventory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Governors Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Hotel Tallahassee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing