We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value priced, great staff, room condition poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Tallahassee
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The staff was friendly. The price was good for the age of the hotel. The room was not clean! Had I not been exhausted from driving I would have left as soon as I looked at the room. I checked the bed for things that shouldnt be there. There was an opened safety pin stuck in the mattress, black stains on one of the sheets. Pillows had sweat and what looked like hair dye stains on them. None of the bedding had protective covering on it. The tub was clean but the shower curtain had mold stains. The outside of the toilet was filthy. Coffee pot loaded with water stains.The baseboards were dirty. This is the first time I have been so disgusted with a room that I took pictures to sent to a corporate office...trust me you dont want to see them. Possibly this is one of the rooms that had not been renovated yet. Oh I did sleep on top of the covers with my own blanket and pillow I keep for traveling and no I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room if the hotel is listed as newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elzbth_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We decided to stop here for the night on our way home. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was very clean. The only complaint that we had was that the toilet was right next to the wall. Other than that everything was good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Tonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Zachary J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank jerryjbamat
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank TeeJay271
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We booked a one-night stay here for Christmas Eve while visiting family. The hotel has some age on it, but I couldn't find anything wrong with the cleanliness or staff. Kind of like when you visit your elderly aunt's home, and things are worn and a little outdated but very clean. :-) Each room had a nice fridge and microwave. We had booked on a discount site for about $50 a room and I felt it was a fair price. Note that the free breakfast is rather limited: waffles, cereal, pastry.

Room Tip: All rooms are outside entry, but that didn't pose a problem (even though I'm used to interio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee - University
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#31 of 54 in Tallahassee
57 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Tallahassee North/I-10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tallahassee
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee

Address: 2726 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32303-4030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range: £46 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee Hotel Tallahassee
Howard Johnson Tallahassee
Tallahassee Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing