We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a night or two but don't expect too much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ok for a night or two but don't expect too much”
Reviewed 13 August 2010

I booked this hotel based on the good reviews it received on the internet and have to say my expectations were not met. The hotel is okay but not better than other chain motels (e.g. Motel 6, Super 8, etc.). My room was not as clean as I like them to be and the breakfast was not even average.

I only stayed there for a night on my way from Mobile, AL to St. Petersburg, FL and would recommend it to others for this purpose. If you want a nice hotel/motel to spend several days at, it shouldn't be difficult to find a better one.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    138
    130
    59
    48
See reviews for
168
111
53
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Nice clean rooms. A little rough on the outside, the buildings need a paint job. Friendly staff. Small pool. Cont. Breakfast sucked. Would stay again, but will plan to do breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jteer38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This hotel is very reasonably priced and conveniently located near the highway, restaurants, and stores. It is an aging hotel, however the wonderful staff prides themselves on cleanliness and keeping the rooms up to date. If you have a large group of contractors, surveys, etc.. this is the hotel for you. Staff is so accommodating and sweet and will help in any way possible. If you are planning a long term stay in Tallahassee I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merche008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

I was returning from a road trip for work and I was looking for a place to stay for the night in Tallahassee. Based on the other Tripadisor recommendations, I chose to stay at the Howard Johnson Express Inn. I have never been impressed with Howard Johnson properties but I thought I'd give this one a try. I wish I'd gone with my instincts and gone somewhere else.

The hotel is located close to the interstate and several places to eat. I arrived a bit later, and parking is non-existent. The hotel clerk instructed me to park in the handicapped spaces at the front of the hotel since every single other space was gone. The lobby was very small and it also included the breakfast area.

I wouldn't classify this place as a hotel. It was more of a motel. The two buildings faced the parking lot, which was apparently the only place for people to congregate. There were several patrons sitting out in front of their rooms drinking beer and talking until the wee hours of the night. There was a pool area, although I did not venture over to use it.

I have no idea where they got the pictures of the rooms for the web site, but they didn't look like mine. The room was musty and dirty. When I turned off the A/C for a moment, the room started to smell moldy. I turned it back on and left it on for the remainder of the trip. The bathroom fixture were dirty to the point of having gunk crusted over them. The general lack of attention to cleaning details was obvious. The wireless internet connection was extremely slow.

If I ever go back to Tallahassee, I will not stay at this place again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weary_traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hojoTLH, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
Dear weary_traveller25,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I cannot apologize enough for the discomfort you experienced during your stay. I wish I would have known of your issues during your stay so I could have had the opportunity to fix all your concerns. Our staff members pride themselves in trying to make sure the stay of all our guests is comfortable and that our guest's leave happy. If you change your mind and decide to give us another try, please contact me directly. My staff and I would truly appreciate the opportunity, and we promise to try our hardest to make sure you leave happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

I was rather leery of staying in a HOJO, but after reading the reviews we decided to save some money as part of a nearly 3 week trip from WI to Hilton Head to Destin FL. We decided to stay in a few cheaper, well reviewed hotels along the way. The previous manager who had posted here is gone (his responses were one of the reasons I felt comfortable trusting it, but the new manager was very helpful. Everything you read is correct. It's clean, well-maintained and pleasant. Yes, parking was a little difficult, but we got there at 10:00 at night. Which comes to our problem.

We had a guaranteed reservation for a certain kind of room--made several months in advance. When we got there, it wasn't the right kind of room, none were available. We weren't too happy, the desk clerk said the manager the next day would have to deal with any adjustments. The room itself was fine and we were very pleased to see a freezer section in the larger micro/fridge. The hotel was full, we were concerned about noise, when we saw a number of people milling around that late, but it was not a problem at all. People were courteous.

When we checked out the next day, the manager very promptly made an adjustment to the bill. My husband thought it should have been greater. I disagreed. I was very satisfied with the room and we got a terrific price, even before the discount. As long as you know it's not a 4 star hotel, I think you'll be very happy.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frozen_Tundra_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hojoTLH, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
Dear Frozen_Tundra_Gal,
Thank you for your review. Our staff appreciates your kind words. We are extremely pleased you found the room you stayed in was clean and comfortable and that the microwave/refrigerator came in handy. We look forward in welcoming you on your next trip down away from the frozen tundra to sunny Florida, but this time we will guarantee that your room type is exactly what you need! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2010

This is the top of any 2 star list. The staff could not have been friendlier and were very accommodating to the needs of people staying for long periods of time.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimijimi1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker, Minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Hotel is 2 story "strip mall" style that I would bet was built in the 70's. Management has worked at keeping this older hotel clean and have tried to update the furnishings for the most part. Our room had newer refridgerator, microwave, flat screen tv, dresser and sink counter.

Negatives include a bathroom that requires some ballet moves when entering and exiting. There's virtually no extra room besides the toilet, shower/tub and space for the door to open.

Monroe Street is one of the main roads leading to the capitol buildings in Tallahassee - read "BUSY". If you are arriving on I-10 it's easy to find the hotel. Leaving is another thing. You can't make a left hand turn when leaving the hotel property to go back to I-10 because of the median on Monroe. You wouldn't be able to anyway because of the traffic levels most of the time. You have to go right, away from I-10 and then make a u-turn after waiting for a break in the traffic.

Remember though, the price is right and the staff really does appear to work hard at keeping the place as clean as possible. I noticed other reviews complaining of smoke smells. I didn't experience that problem at all.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#37 of 58 in Tallahassee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
#20 of 58 in Tallahassee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#30 of 58 in Tallahassee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tallahassee
Candlewood Suites Tallahassee
#15 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee
Address: 2726 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32303-4030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Tallahassee Hotel Tallahassee
Howard Johnson Tallahassee
Tallahassee Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing