We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a night in the city” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
St. George Island, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok for a night in the city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

My husband and I spent one night at Hotel Duval. Overall, a pleasant experience. Outstanding staff...competent, knowledgeable, and helpful. Very comfortable beds and attractive updated decor. Air conditioner control pad didn't work so we had to unplug it to turn it down. Bathroom had no fan, but really cool sliding glass doors! Strange furniture...a 2row wine rack in your hotel room?
All very dark with shoulder level window. Fun rooftop bar!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceciliaharris_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    146
    84
    44
    31
See reviews for
136
136
36
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
artbcpa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

My son and I came to Tallahassee for a weekend baseball series between The Univerisity of Miami and Florida State University. Although our team was soundly defeated by the hometown Seminoles, our experience at the Hotel Duval made for a wonderful weekend. Primarily staffed by studens looking to supplement their income, we were pleasantly delighted by how helpful the staff were, even to fans of their rival school. From the hotel shuttle driver to the front desk, everyone we met was ready and willing to offer recommendations of things to do, places to eat and they always were smiling. The rooms were super comfortable and the hotel house an excellent restaurant - Shula's 347. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artbcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TALLAHASSEE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Duval and I was treated like royalty. I was there for a weekend outing and it was great. The staff was first class, the room was to my surprise different than any room that I have ventured in the past. The room if I had to sum it up in one word was exciting. Level 8 was great and dinner at Shulas was even better. The staff there is very well trained in customer service and it reflects in every department. Steve Adams is not only a credit to this establishment but he is what I term the "Glue" he helps to keep it together. He treats people with the greatest respect that anyone could ask for or deserve. The staff makes you feel as if you are at home. I will return at the first opportunity. Great Job from top to bottom.

Room Tip: I stayed on the fourth floor noise free and wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEON J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Duval is a renovated older hotel that has been redone as a Schrager type "style" hotel. It's very modern and the decor reflects that. The lobby and public spaces are beautiful and have lovely artwork. The hotel staff are not very friendly- the young woman who checked me in seemed more interested in how she looked in her little black dress than my needs as a customer. She laughed at me when I dropped something rather than help me- I'm disabled. I wasn't happy about that. The uniform for the hotel staff is short tight black dresses for the women and they seem to hire people who are more concerned with their own appearance than with service. I was not impressed with this at all. At least the valets who took my car were nice. I schlepped my luggage up to my room (I was not asked if I needed help) and the room was tiny. I should have known that for a special price of $119.00 I wasn't going to get much but I was pretty surprised when I went into the handicapped accessible room and the bathroom was literally in the bedroom, a couple of steps away from the bed. You can see from the pictures. The modern style was rather cute but the furniture was getting worn and the window was tiny. The room was rather bare and depressing, frankly. So I went downstairs to dinner, which was much better.

There were sliding glass doors that shut the bathroom from the rest of the room and it looked better after I closed the doors. And it all looked better after a couple of mojitos at the bar, too.

The room was quiet, bed comfortable and I did like the touchscreen system they have in the rooms for ordering room service, wakeup calls, etc. That was nice. I would stay here again but only on a weekend or when there was another cheap deal on a room. Not worth a lot of money in my opinion. Also the breakfast service in the cafe downstairs also was pretty lousy. No waitresses to be seen anywhere. I had to ask how to get food at the coffee bar.

Room Tip: I had a high room, which is recommended. 7th floor is best. You are farthest away from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMavenFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPRoberts, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear TravelMavenFlorida,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a thorough review of your stay. I would like to thank you for noticing and appreciating the décor in the hotel.

The Autograph Collection is a bit edgy and more progressive than the traditional Marriott hotels you may be accustomed to, and one will notice that our uniforms, artwork and decor are consistent with that. However, the service that you encountered is not consistent with the service culture that we have instilled at Hotel Duval, and I will be sure to follow up on that with the proper personnel.

Again, my apologies that the service levels you experience did not exceed your expectations, or ours for that matter. I invite you to contact me directly at 850.224.6131 or jroberts@hotelduval.com if you would like to discuss your stay further, or feel free to contact me so I may personally facilitate your next stay at Hotel Duval.

Regards,

James P. Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I traveled with my partner, we had meetings at the State Capitol. We like the convenient location and romantic environment. My BF travels a lot for business, we definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLgirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I had a wonderful stay. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The restaurant had delicious, juicy steaks. The rooftop bar was fabulous. It's a great place to unwind at the end of a long day. The staff were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawkinsphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel is very sharp, upscale and trendy. The first floor restaurant and the bar on the top floor are excellent. There is even a nice morning bistro. The valets are good and service was good. However, the rooms were going for a look and not functionality. Who designs a bathroom with two sliding glass walls. There is no privacy at all. Also, the shower has large river rock for its floor. It was cool to look at but not fun to stand on. Lastly, the bed is full size (not queen or king) so it was tight for us. It appears that they remodeled this hotel to provide nice pictures for the website but the room is not comfortable. Go for the restaurant and rooftop bar afterwards.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wifeandthreekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#14 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tallahassee North Hotel
0.4 mi away
Governors Inn
Governors Inn
#28 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Address: 415 North Monroe Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301-1257
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Duval, Tallahassee's first boutique hotel experience, is a diamond tucked into the charming heart of North Florida. We offer everything you need for a perfect stay: sensational accommodations, exquisite food and drinks, thrilling entertainment and gorgeous event spaces. Hotel Duval is a contemporary reminder of Tallahassee's rich history. Once the prominent place to meet and shape Florida's future, this renovated boutique hotel boasts upscale accommodations, a rooftop bar, and a Shula's 347 Grill. Hotel Duval is proud to be a member of the Marriott Autograph Collection, an exclusive portfolio of innovative and stylish boutique hotels. Marriott Rewards members can earn and redeem benefits at Hotel Duval. Come to the Hotel Duval for business or pleasure. Dine here. Drink here. Host a wedding or meeting. It's the hotel for all seasons, all guests, and all moods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallahassee Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing