We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too "Urban", Not Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Check in and overall service, to include the valets, was very good. The lobby and breakfast area were bright, the décor a bit funky. The low chairs were not comfortable. We understood this was a "trendy" place when we made reservations, and we have stayed in some cool places. But our room was not comfortable. The two elevators were quite slow, and since we were only on the 2nd floor we asked where the stairs were. The front desk said they only use the stairs in "emergencies". We waited for the slow elevator. The first time we left our room, we found and used the stairs and they were pretty trashy. Our room felt like it was a basement room--the old high windows, the inadequate lighting, and the dark décor (blacks, grays, and metal) were too "urban" for us. The furniture/decor was uncomfortable and cheap--the desk drawers rolled out on their own, the dark finish showed plenty of "battle scars". Did not like the bathroom and the frosted doors did not shut all the way. The only mirror was in the bathroom, which made it take longer for both of us to get ready at the same time--especially if someone had to use the blow dryer. The pillows all seemed the same, no selection. The room did have robes, a coffee maker, and a small refrig--all which we used. During the day, we used the Level 8 area to read because our room was too dark. This is the smoking area for the hotel, so you can smell smoke on the sofas. Happy Hour was a good deal and so was the view.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

I would like to make travelers aware of a very upsetting situation we had this weekend with the Hotel Duval. My friends and I (4 families in total) had booked this hotel since February ( some of us in April), for the much anticipated FSU vs Miami game. This past Tuesday, 3 days before, one of the families received a call from the manager James informing her that her room had plumbing issues and she was being relocated down the street to a Wyndham down the street ( which actually ended up being a Wingate and it was 5 miles away) she then tells him that she is traveling with some other families and was sharing a car with another family, he asks her for the names of the other families, which she gives him.. Without speaking to any of us or informing us, our reservations we're cancelled ( we had all booked so early that we had very good rates of $289), to say the least this was extremely upsetting ! We spent 2 days calling and complaining to corporate but to no avail. We are all Marriott rewards members and are still perplexed as to how our rooms which were probably some of their first bookings were the ones to be relocated, I believe it was probably much easier to walk the ones who had good rates instead of the ones who were paying higher rates, either way Marriott should reevaluate how this process is handled. I cannot imagine that a reservation which was made 10 months ago can be cancelled without even informing those involved. We will never book with Marriott again !

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank YvetteG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPRoberts, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear YvetteG4,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I know this particular situation was not the most enjoyable or fortunate, but I can assure you that we did everything we possibly could to accommodate everyone in the best possible manner. We did have some unfortunate issues occur at the most unfortunate of times. I thought the best course of action was to notify guests ahead of time instead of surprising them with that news upon their arrival. Relocating guests is never a position a hotel wants to find themselves in, but it does happen from time to time.

The reason that additional phone calls were not made after speaking with the guest that was organizing the group was because they told me specifically that they would call the other families and let them know what was going on. I asked her if she was sure and she told me that she was more than happy to take care of that. My apologies for any confusion or inconvenience this may have caused.

I know for certain that you already have all of my contact information, and I encourage you to contact me directly should your travels bring you back to Tallahassee.

Regards,

James P. Roberts
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Having stayed at many hotels in Tallahassee, Hotel Duval is a favorite. Being a football weekend, the hotel was very busy however the staff is very accommodating and friendly. I was pleasantly surprised to get an early check-in on Friday. The Valet Guys are great. We never waited very long for our car considering how busy it was over the weekend. James deserves special mention, great asset to the hotel!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just stayed here the night after an FSU home football game as we celebrated our 24th wedding anniversary. I'll start by saying the staff is very friendly and very attentive and the place was spotless. That was somewhat unexpected given they had just had an incredibly busy weekend.

But....different floors have different "scent themes". They don't mention this on the web site, so if you don't care for artificial citrus or vanilla aromas wafting through the corridors, this place isn't for you. Fortunately, the smell didn't permeate the rooms.

The decor is very modern and hip. There are no walls to the bathroom, just sliding frosted glass doors. And for a hotel of this caliber, I couldn't believe how incredibly cheap the toilet paper was. This coupled with sheets that were too small and kept coming off the mattress throughout the night nearly made me nearly give this place an average rating.

But the spectacular views, happy hour prices and excellent service at Level 8 Lounge make this a fun place to stay for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Be sure to call the hotel and arrange to get a room in a corridor where you can handle the "sce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was a nice change of pace from my usual courtyard by marriott. The room was very nice. The walls were somewhat thin. The fee breakfast was really nice, thou service was a little slow. Others in my group who had been there before thought the holt had gone down in quality a little, but I was happy.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Hotel service was great and rooms were designed well. They are a bit on the modern/trendy side and not huge by any means but they do a great job with the space. Bar on the roof top attracts a huge crowd on Little Black Dress night and definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Came in and booked a suite for a wedding. Dull to not enough lighting in rooms bashed in and untainted walls, holes in walls under sink, bar area dirty in counters stones in showers missing, dull and old furniture lobby bathroom had cobwebs in stalls. Glad it sold. Hope new owners do a total renovation.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#13 of 55 in Tallahassee
636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
0.4 mi away
Governors Inn
Governors Inn
#29 of 55 in Tallahassee
181 reviews
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection

Address: 415 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32301-1257
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range: £98 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Duval, Tallahassee's first boutique hotel experience, is a diamond tucked into the charming heart of North Florida. We offer everything you need for a perfect stay: sensational accommodations, exquisite food and drinks, thrilling entertainment and gorgeous event spaces. Hotel Duval is a contemporary reminder of Tallahassee's rich history. Once the prominent place to meet and shape Florida's future, this renovated boutique hotel boasts upscale accommodations, a rooftop bar, and a Shula's 347 Grill. Hotel Duval is proud to be a member of the Marriott Autograph Collection, an exclusive portfolio of innovative and stylish boutique hotels. Marriott Rewards members can earn and redeem benefits at Hotel Duval. Come to the Hotel Duval for business or pleasure. Dine here. Drink here. Host a wedding or meeting. It's the hotel for all seasons, all guests, and all moods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallahassee Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing