We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Big Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
“One Big Disappointment”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After reading about this hotel, we could not wait for our vacation to come! However, after driving seven hours, we walked into one BIG disappointment. To begin - we tried calling during our commute to let the staff know we would be a late arrival; it literally took 30 minutes before someone finally answered my phone call and put me at ease. We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by a valet who assured us a bellman would meet us in the lobby to take our luggage up... we learned that there was no bellman on duty as the front desk agent (from Miami, whose name I regretfully cannot recall although I think it may have been Samantha) rudely told us to push the cart up to the room ourselves and then leave it outside the door. How is it possible that staff cannot communicate well enough to know who is currently on-site and who isn't? My friend and I also requested a high floor and were put on level 2... when we asked if there was a higher floor, the wonderfully hostile front desk agent informed us that they have a room available on 4 but they "don't consider that a high floor"... TWO is higher than FOUR. Aside from that, we never received the dental kit we requested twice or the robe (mind you, those were three SEPARATE occasions). The only helpful staff members were the valet Chris who informed us about local pools & radio stations we could listen to, and the bellman from Miami who was also a gem and assisted us with our room move (the fragrances are so strong on every floor we had trouble breathing with certain scents). For being a Marriott property and the only "upscale" boutique hotel in Tallahassee, it was a complete JOKE as far as service was concerned. The property itself is beautiful and in a GREAT central location, but that staff is their downfall. Knock them out one by one - they are your weakest link!

Room Tip: Request a HIGH FLOOR and remind them that level 4 is still higher than level 2! Also - be careful of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Victoria –

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback and take these concerns into consideration while making improvements to Hotel Duval.

I am so sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay.
We strive to provide friendly and attentive service in hopes that every person who enters our hotel will have wonderful guest experience. The service issues you mentioned will be addressed. In regards to the phone issue, please know that we are in the process of implementing a new phone system, which will allow us to provide the best phone customer service possible.

We are so sorry to hear that you felt the fragrances on the floors were too strong. We have dialed back the fragrance levels to the lightest setting possible.

I am happy to hear that you were pleased with Chris from valet and will forward on your compliments to him.

If your travels bring you back to this area in the future, I hope you will give us another try. We appreciate your business and will do anything we can to regain your trust. Please contact me directly if I may ever assist you with anything.

Thank you,
Sarah Kilgore
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    149
    86
    45
    31
See reviews for
139
140
37
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel was very nicely done, modern fixtures, but we felt it was trying to hard to be cool with the bathroom sliding doors; hard to have privacy in the bath area. Liked the rain shower, though, and common areas were pretty throughout the hotel. Tiny workout room and no pool just to inform people who may want this; nice Level 8 lounge with good view of area.
Biggest downside was the lighting - all interior rooms were extremely dark; hard to get ready in the morning with such dim light.
Biggest upside was Shulas' - we had best filet mignon ever. We do not usually eat at chain places like that for fancy meals, but the steak was worth mentioning.
Just an fyi...Tallahassee is a really depressed area, not much else but the college.

Room Tip: Just very dark inside the room. Not much you can do about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear NinaTee -

We appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We are glad to hear that you liked our current décor and enjoyed our rain shower. We are currently working on updating the equipment in the fitness center as well as improving the lighting in the rooms so you have something to look forward to on your next trip.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed dining at Shula’s and the view at Level 8.

If you find yourself heading back to Tallahassee in the future and are in need of assistance, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Sarah Kilgore
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Checking into the hotel, was immediately hit with a damp moldy smell in the room (it's why they put fragrant scents in the hallway to try to cover up). The rooms are small and awkward, and the room does not live up to an AUTOGRAPH Hotel. The finishes were cheaply done and the rooms were covered in scrapes, dings dents that you just expect to see in a Premium room.

It is sad when a Gold Member would rather stay at a Courtyard than an Autograph Hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Kyle B –

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback and take these concerns into consideration while making improvements to Hotel Duval.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in our rooms. We are currently working on updating and improving the functionality of our rooms.

Again, I apologize that you were not happy with your stay. Please give us another try in the future; I think you will enjoy the improvements that should be complete by this fall.

Sincerely,

Sarah Kilgore
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Hotel Duval has become our only choice for hotel accommodations while we are in Tallahassee. The staff is consistently friendly and helpful. I must give some special credit to the Valet Staff. They are always our first impression and we are always impressed. The Front Desk Staff, notably David White and fellow staff member Matthew, have gone above and beyond with making our family familiar with Tallahassee. Without being asked, They provided us with maps to to FSU sites and dorms, as well as maps tom recommended dining spots. Best of all it was hand delivered to our room, with a handwritten note and a complimentary drink ticket for Level 8.
While at Level 8, Jessica offered phenomenally friendly service, even during a torrential Tally afternoon shower on the roof deck! The Hotel Duval will remain our family's Go To Hotel for our family's visits to Tallahassee!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Elizabeth B -

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are so happy you make Hotel Duval your hotel of choice when visiting Tallahassee and hope you will continue to do so.

It delights us to hear from our guests how much they enjoy our staff. We really pride ourselves on providing friendly and attentive service to all of our guests.

Our valet team does a great job greeting and welcoming our guests. I will pass along your kind words to them and also share with the other phenomenal staff members you mentioned by name.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of our Hotel.

Please reach out to me directly next time you are in town if I may assist in anyway.

Thank you,
John McCarroll
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

held a class reunion here in June. Great hotel, suburb staff, well done event. Also was a wedding going on at the same time. Just a few notes: valet parking is all they have on site another $12 a night, but they're fast. Staff is awesome, zero complaints. Rooms are nice, obviously and older property but recently and very well upgraded. Part of Marriott - get your points! Nothing is immediately nearby, which may sound weird since it's downtown, but Tallahassee isn't much of a walking town. You can get to the fun Park & Adams street area by walking- just not sure I would.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noleintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Noleintx -

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hotel Duval. We are so glad you enjoyed your class reunion at the Hotel and found the staff to be "superb!" It brings us so much joy to hear that our guests enjoy the friendly and attentive service of our team, as we consistently strive to provide a wonderful guest experience.

If I can be of assistance in any way next time you are in town, please contact me directly.

Again, thanks for choosing Hotel Duval!

Thank you,
John McCarroll
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The front desk staff was extremely nice. Arrived late and they assisted with getting a reservation for dinner. The rooms are large and well appointed with very nice décor. The bar on the roof attracts a young crowd but there was no issue with noise so not a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear James M -

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our front desk staff. They strive to always provide friendly and attentive service.

It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed the size and decor of our guest rooms.

We hope that you will choose Hotel Duval next time you are in the Tallahassee area.

If I can be of any assistance next time you are in town, please feel free to contact me directly.

Thank you,
John McCarroll
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tallahassee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

You are way better off staying at the Double Tree. It takes forever to get the old elevators to your floor so we actually took the stairs quite a bit.

I guess for a REALLY old building they didn't do to bad. Our room had stains all over the carpet. The toilet is right against the shower wall so if you are abig person.....good luck. The staff is all friendly which is a plus. However you pay WAY more than this hotel is worth.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationManReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear msporter10 -

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I apologize that the Hotel did not meet your expectations. All feedback is important to us and we will use it to improve the Hotel for your future stay.

We are glad to hear that you found our staff to be friendly as we continually strive to offer the best service possible.

If you find yourself heading back to Tallahassee in the future and are in need of assistance, please contact me directly.


Thank you,
John McCarroll
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#14 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
0.4 mi away
Governors Inn
Governors Inn
#29 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Address: 415 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32301-1257
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Duval, Tallahassee's first boutique hotel experience, is a diamond tucked into the charming heart of North Florida. We offer everything you need for a perfect stay: sensational accommodations, exquisite food and drinks, thrilling entertainment and gorgeous event spaces. Hotel Duval is a contemporary reminder of Tallahassee's rich history. Once the prominent place to meet and shape Florida's future, this renovated boutique hotel boasts upscale accommodations, a rooftop bar, and a Shula's 347 Grill. Hotel Duval is proud to be a member of the Marriott Autograph Collection, an exclusive portfolio of innovative and stylish boutique hotels. Marriott Rewards members can earn and redeem benefits at Hotel Duval. Come to the Hotel Duval for business or pleasure. Dine here. Drink here. Host a wedding or meeting. It's the hotel for all seasons, all guests, and all moods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallahassee Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing