We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
University Inn & Suites Tallahassee
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Governors Inn(Tallahassee)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
6
16
12
16
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
16
12
16
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusy roadfsu campusunitconferencedust
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2011

This is a very cheap motel which is very well located for FSU. It is not clean, not comfortable, noisy, and a bit scary overall. The website is much nicer than the real thing. The bed is hard as a rock, the pillows were terrible . . . well you get the idea. If you're looking for a very cheap stay near FSU, no matter what else, you can survive this place. Otherwise there's better values elswhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rolydamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniInnService, Guest Relations Manager at University Inn & Suites Tallahassee, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

We are sorry for your stay with us. Next time if such a problem arises with the room feel free to ask for a room change from our manager. Our guests can request a room that is located in the back and is overall quieter. Our property is very safe as it is frequently patrolled by the Florida State University Police Department. We hope that you give us another chance so we can show you what our hotel truly has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

This place is nothing less than disgusting. I am currently here, awake at 5:30 AM because I am too afraid to get under the filthy comforter on the bed. The price of the room ($45) appealed to my 30 year old boyfriend who feels the need to come back to his alma mater and drink at the bars across the street from this hotel. (And on a side note, those bars are absolute hole in the wall establishments.) The noise level is just ridiculous. Especially for a Wednesday night. You can hear music from the bars across the street until 2 AM. I could hear the neighbors on either side of us till 3 AM. You can hear drunk people screaming out on the sidewalk. It sounds like nascar on the major street in front of the hotel. I swear the walls here are made of paper. There is no way you can get any sleep here. The inside of the room is horrific. The carpet is all torn, it's dusty, and the bathroom is so gross. There is mildew all over the shower curtain and the bottom of the tub is dirty. There were footprints on the bathroom floor tile when we arrived. Speaking of mildew, the room smells so strongly of mildew that I had a headache after about 2 hours of being in here. When the air comes on, it blows a huge, cold, mildew smelling cloud. The smell is just choking. I wanted to leave immediately when we got in the room, but it was already 9:30 at night and my boyfriend was tired. We were supposed to stay here two nights, but as soon as my boyfriend wakes up (which is hopefully within the next hour or two) we are checking out and NEVER returning. I know the price and location of this place relative to campus are appealing, but DON'T DO IT. It wil be the worst night of sleep you have ever had.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mandyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniInnService, Director of Sales at University Inn & Suites Tallahassee, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2011

On the behalf of the University Inn and Suites we would like to apologize for your experiences at our establishment. We were horrified to hear about the dirtiness of the room and have alerted our housekeeping staff to fix this immediately. Our front office staff would have accommodated a room change to a quieter and cleaner room. Once again we are sorry about your experiences with our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

If you're going to stay at the University Inn and Suites it's not going to be for the room amenities or the great sleep quality you'll receive. The only reason you're going to stay here is because it's hard as heck to find a parking spot anywhere on or as close to FSU as this hotel and the great rate for the location. Be aware that you may need to be quite inebriated or just a heavy sleeper (like myself) to put up with the parties that rage on weekends on the strip outside the hotel. It was perfect for me, but you may need to be aware.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank migvazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniInnService, Director of Sales at University Inn & Suites Tallahassee, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2011

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our close proximity to Florida State University as we are located directly across from the Ogelsby Union. As far as the noise from the bars across the street, unfortunately, in order for us to provide our convenience with Florida State University's campus, we are located in a busy, downtown area but our staff is willing to accommodate room changes to a quieter section of our property. Our management in the recent years have completed renovations and working on upgrading amenities for our guests in the upcoming months. We hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

The air conditioner did not work, the carpet had iron burns and not so clean. They patched holes in the doors and walls sloppy and some were just left as holes. You would want to wear shower shoes in the tub it looks like it was well worn. They never finished the grout in the bathroom. Far from newly renovated and the web site makes it look nice it was a big disappointment. The only thing good was the location being close to the university. They did move our room the following day but it was not much better they all smell musty. We had the loud noise from the night life and it really is not worth the low rate for the location.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniInnService, Director of Sales at University Inn & Suites Tallahassee, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2011

On the behalf of the University Inn and Suites management and staff we apologize for your experience with our establishment. We also apologize for the delay in our response. We have upgraded and renovated our rooms in the recent years. We took note of your complaints and fixed the issues with the patched holes, cleanliness of the bathroom, and completed the grout in the bathroom. In addition our staff is willing to handle any complaints of noise and attempt to move you to a quieter room, if available. We hope that you are willing to give us another try to see the improvements we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Just returned from parents weekend. We could walk to our daughter's dorm and didn't have to worry about parking on campus. As crappy as the hotel is we said we would stay again because of the location. Actually if they would gut and re-do the bathrooms the place wouldn't be that bad. Yes there is a lot of street noise, so if you are a light sleeper beware. We stayed in a corner room last time, much quieter. Evening front desk help was great!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJW25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniInnService, Director of Sales at University Inn & Suites Tallahassee, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2011

We are glad to hear that our location was a great fit for your family and you were able to enjoy Parents weekend due to our close proximity to Florida State University. Since your stay in October of 2009, we have upgraded and renovated our rooms including the bathrooms. In addition, FSU has added a Papa Johns and Chili’s on Campus which are in walking distance of our property. Our staff is always willing to accommodate a guest's needs and appreciate hearing positive feedback on their service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews