We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“guys weekends only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University Inn & Suites Tallahassee
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Tallahassee
Reviewed 29 October 2011

this place is only appropriate for a guys weekend in Tally for a football game. The rooms are dirty, the linens are worn out, the bathroom in gross. Families in town to visit kids at school stay away, just stay out by i-10, much nicer, newer hotels out there. Only a night of binge drinking will allow you to sleep in this hole. Also, bring your own blankets and pillows, or be prepared to lay your head on god knows what. It's also loud at night because your right on Tennessee st. across from all the bar action. My wife wouldn't stay in this place if it was free.

Room Tip: rooms in another hotel are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soflajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

I booked this hotel 3 months in advance for my graduation weekend because it looked to be convenient to the FSU campus. When we arrived, they gave us a smoking room (it smelled disgusting) and then wouldn't refund our money, even though I had the paperwork showing that I had booked a non-smoking room. The place was a pit - dirty, dark, gross bathroom.... it's probably fortunate we didn't stay there anyway. However, I can't believe they wouldn't issue a refund, stating that we cancelled too late. What a rip-off. Don't even consider this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickledokra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniInnService, Director of Sales at University Inn & Suites Tallahassee, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

We have changed up our policies to allow improvements in our customer service. We have a detailed reservation policy and often entails our employees following protocols. We apologize for the inconveniences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

It is move out weekend in tallahassee. I write this from the hotel room. My family paid $111 to stay in this dump. The air is not working and we are miserable. We called the desk and a man came and said the air was adequate (its lightly blowing luke warm air when its on high cold). He barely spoke english and was rude when we asked for our a different room or a refund. Its 2am and we have been trying to find another hotel but everywhere is sold out He changed the air filter and left. Its no better. We gave it 4 hours to cool off. Its so hot and humid. He tried to tell us it was hot in here because the sun shines on this room. Its 2am and the sun is not out. God i just want to be comfortable so i can go to sleep

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShanV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniInnService, Guest Relations Manager at University Inn & Suites Tallahassee, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

We apologize for the inconvenience. You should have informed the manager in the morning for the problems you had in your room. Our air conditioners have been inspected to ensure they blow cold air. Once again we apologize for any inconveniences we may have caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

This is a very cheap motel which is very well located for FSU. It is not clean, not comfortable, noisy, and a bit scary overall. The website is much nicer than the real thing. The bed is hard as a rock, the pillows were terrible . . . well you get the idea. If you're looking for a very cheap stay near FSU, no matter what else, you can survive this place. Otherwise there's better values elswhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rolydamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniInnService, Guest Relations Manager at University Inn & Suites Tallahassee, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

We are sorry for your stay with us. Next time if such a problem arises with the room feel free to ask for a room change from our manager. Our guests can request a room that is located in the back and is overall quieter. Our property is very safe as it is frequently patrolled by the Florida State University Police Department. We hope that you give us another chance so we can show you what our hotel truly has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

This place is nothing less than disgusting. I am currently here, awake at 5:30 AM because I am too afraid to get under the filthy comforter on the bed. The price of the room ($45) appealed to my 30 year old boyfriend who feels the need to come back to his alma mater and drink at the bars across the street from this hotel. (And on a side note, those bars are absolute hole in the wall establishments.) The noise level is just ridiculous. Especially for a Wednesday night. You can hear music from the bars across the street until 2 AM. I could hear the neighbors on either side of us till 3 AM. You can hear drunk people screaming out on the sidewalk. It sounds like nascar on the major street in front of the hotel. I swear the walls here are made of paper. There is no way you can get any sleep here. The inside of the room is horrific. The carpet is all torn, it's dusty, and the bathroom is so gross. There is mildew all over the shower curtain and the bottom of the tub is dirty. There were footprints on the bathroom floor tile when we arrived. Speaking of mildew, the room smells so strongly of mildew that I had a headache after about 2 hours of being in here. When the air comes on, it blows a huge, cold, mildew smelling cloud. The smell is just choking. I wanted to leave immediately when we got in the room, but it was already 9:30 at night and my boyfriend was tired. We were supposed to stay here two nights, but as soon as my boyfriend wakes up (which is hopefully within the next hour or two) we are checking out and NEVER returning. I know the price and location of this place relative to campus are appealing, but DON'T DO IT. It wil be the worst night of sleep you have ever had.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mandyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniInnService, Director of Sales at University Inn & Suites Tallahassee, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2011

On the behalf of the University Inn and Suites we would like to apologize for your experiences at our establishment. We were horrified to hear about the dirtiness of the room and have alerted our housekeeping staff to fix this immediately. Our front office staff would have accommodated a room change to a quieter and cleaner room. Once again we are sorry about your experiences with our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

If you're going to stay at the University Inn and Suites it's not going to be for the room amenities or the great sleep quality you'll receive. The only reason you're going to stay here is because it's hard as heck to find a parking spot anywhere on or as close to FSU as this hotel and the great rate for the location. Be aware that you may need to be quite inebriated or just a heavy sleeper (like myself) to put up with the parties that rage on weekends on the strip outside the hotel. It was perfect for me, but you may need to be aware.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank migvazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniInnService, Director of Sales at University Inn & Suites Tallahassee, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2011

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our close proximity to Florida State University as we are located directly across from the Ogelsby Union. As far as the noise from the bars across the street, unfortunately, in order for us to provide our convenience with Florida State University's campus, we are located in a busy, downtown area but our staff is willing to accommodate room changes to a quieter section of our property. Our management in the recent years have completed renovations and working on upgrading amenities for our guests in the upcoming months. We hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

The air conditioner did not work, the carpet had iron burns and not so clean. They patched holes in the doors and walls sloppy and some were just left as holes. You would want to wear shower shoes in the tub it looks like it was well worn. They never finished the grout in the bathroom. Far from newly renovated and the web site makes it look nice it was a big disappointment. The only thing good was the location being close to the university. They did move our room the following day but it was not much better they all smell musty. We had the loud noise from the night life and it really is not worth the low rate for the location.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniInnService, Director of Sales at University Inn & Suites Tallahassee, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2011

On the behalf of the University Inn and Suites management and staff we apologize for your experience with our establishment. We also apologize for the delay in our response. We have upgraded and renovated our rooms in the recent years. We took note of your complaints and fixed the issues with the patched holes, cleanliness of the bathroom, and completed the grout in the bathroom. In addition our staff is willing to handle any complaints of noise and attempt to move you to a quieter room, if available. We hope that you are willing to give us another try to see the improvements we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
4.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#31 of 55 in Tallahassee
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#29 of 55 in Tallahassee
71 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn & Suites Tallahassee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn & Suites Tallahassee

Address: 691 W Tennessee St, Tallahassee, FL 32304-7908
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range: £45 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn & Suites Tallahassee 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
University Inn & Suites is a limited service hotel located adjacent to Florida State University. We have all the amenities you would expect from a more expensive hotel for a reasonable rate. All rooms include complimentary bottled water and fresh fruit at check in, microwave/refrigerator, hairdryer, coffee maker, 25" television with premium channels, telephone, free wifi, free parking, clock radio, and fantastic customer service. We have recently refreshed our guest bathrooms with new granite vanities and refinished tubs and showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your University Inn & Suites Tallahassee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Inn And Suites Tallahassee
University Inn & Suites Tallahassee Hotel Tallahassee
University Hotel Tallahassee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing